Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

E-Starter = A REAL trainer!

Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

E-Starter = A REAL trainer!

Old 10-28-2005, 12:53 PM
chili300
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default E-Starter = A REAL trainer!

My E-starter showed me how to fly yesterday. I was 2 min. into my 10th flight with this plane (30' up) when I saw the battery eject from the plane and fall to the ground. I froze in horror as I realized the plane was now on it's own. I calmed down within moments as watch the ES gently turn into the wind and start to descend on an absolutely perfect glide slope. 50 yds later it performed a perfect landing (far better than any I have done to date).

As a self-taught beginner, this gives me great confidence in this plane. It flew itself better than I can fly it!

When I dissect this incident, I realize how lucky I actually was. The whole thing started when one blade of the prop decided to separate itself from the rest of the plane. The resulting vibration caused the battery hatch to pop open, which allowed the battery to exit the plane in .75 seconds flat! The Deans micro connector did not even attempt to break the fall. The luck comes in as follows: 1. The plane was flying straight and level at the time. 2. It was heading into the wind. 3. It was at the far down-wind end of the field leaving the entire (football) field to land on. If any of these 3 factors were not the same, I think the results would be a multi-piece airplane.