Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

How should I prepare my Commander 2 before first flight?

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

How should I prepare my Commander 2 before first flight?

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2005, 09:31 PM
five-string

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How should I prepare my Commander 2 before first flight?

I am getting a Firebird Commander 2 for Christmas. I am completely new to the hobby, have NEVER flown anything.

I have been reading all over these boards, trying to prepare for my first flights. A couple questions, please:

1. Is there any kind of break-in procedure I should do for the motor or batteries? I have seen a little about a water break-in procedure(?) and something about running a battery or two through the motor before flying to lengthen the life or performance of the components.

2. What should I do to beef up this plane, i.e. some have suggested taping the trailing edge (TE) of the wing to protect from the prop in hard crashes. Some threads suggest more tape on various weak spots.

3. If I should do any taping, should it be the clear packing tape or the kind reinforced with nylon threads?

4. Any other info that would help me have a more successful (joyous) first flight experience.

I thank you in advance for any help you can offer. Happy flying.
Old 12-20-2005, 10:19 PM
AJ1202

Default RE: How should I prepare my Commander 2 before first flight?

Five String, first off you should love this little plane, it is a great first plane. I had the original FBC and a freind of mine just bought the FBC2 and I flew it the other day and it fly's great