Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

What does all the jargon mean???? Need help

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

What does all the jargon mean???? Need help

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2005, 09:04 PM
fab4272

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What does all the jargon mean???? Need help

Hi All,

I'm new to electric flight and have been flying an Art-tech Cessna 182 for about 4 months now. I enjoy it immensely but would like to now upgrade the motor and battery.

It currently has a speed 480 direct drive motor (cheap can motor). I have a 3 cell li-po, but how do I work out what sort of brushless to buy? What sort of brushless motor, what does xxxxKv mean and what does it do? Does it have to be geared? If I gear the motor, how do I know what sort of prop to get? What does 7x4 for prop sizes mean?

See, I have a million questions but can't seem to find a website that explains this all in one easy spot. Does anyone know of such a website?

Thanks for your help...

FAb
Old 12-23-2005, 12:17 PM
jdetray

Default RE: What does all the jargon mean???? Need help

FAb-

I'm not familar with that aircraft, so I can't recommend any particular brushless motor for it.

You can get a brushless motor for your plane that will work in direct drive configuration. One of the Axi outrunners would probably work fine, but I don't know exactly which one. You can review the Axi motors [link=http://www.hobby-lobby.com/brushless_axi.htm]here[/link]. Brushless motors can be used in gearboxes as well.

kV is a motor constant corresponding to no-load RPM per volt.

Low kV motors develop more torque and are used for spinning a large prop at relatively low RPM.

High kV motors develop less torque and are used for spinning a small prop at relatively high RPM. High kV motors can also be used in gearboxes, in which they can spin larger props.