Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

which fms simulator model to emulate a 2channel plane?

Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

which fms simulator model to emulate a 2channel plane?

Reply

Old 12-23-2005, 09:08 PM
  #1  
five-string
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
five-string's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Nashville, GA
Posts: 1,925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default which fms simulator model to emulate a 2channel plane?

I am using the free fms to gain a little experience and using a game joystick with throttle control. I was wondering which of the models most closely resembles the Commander 2 (2 channel)I will be flying? I am using the "Pitts" and "SU-26" right now but wonder if there is a download of a model closer to my plane. Thanks.
five-string is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2005, 11:05 PM
  #2  
jdetray
Senior Member
 
jdetray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Napoleon, OH
Posts: 1,617
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: which fms simulator model to emulate a 2channel plane?

While any sim is probably better than no sim, it's hard to imagine two planes that are as different from the Commander 2 as are the Pitts and SU-26. Both of these are high performance aerobatic planes, which the Commander 2 is not.

One of the slow flyers or high wing planes will be closer in performance to your Commander 2. I don't know if anyone has modeled a 2-channel beginner plane for FMS. If you go to the [link=http://n.ethz.ch/student/mmoeller/fms/index_e.html]FMS[/link] Links page, you'll find links to lots of models that you can use with FMS. Maybe you'll find your type of plane among them.

- Jeff
jdetray is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 04:45 PM
  #3  
five-string
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
five-string's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Nashville, GA
Posts: 1,925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: which fms simulator model to emulate a 2channel plane?

I found a link:

[link=http://cgi.ethz.ch/~mmoeller/cgi-bin/ikonboard3/ikonboard.cgi?s=6ca7bdfe6622b007839b36082005f7fa;a ct=ST;f=9;t=207;hl=commander]Toytronics T-Hawk[/link]

that I think is close to my Commander 2. I use a gaming joystick that has a throttle control slide on the side. On the FMS simulator, go to controls/analog/joystick/mapping. I put the rudder on #1 and the throttle on #3 channels. All the rest I turned to zero.

I know it's not a v-tail but it does fly alot like my Commander 2. There is no landing gear so you have to hand launch. It prob responds a little quicker but what a great learning tool.

I just came from my first flight and I was surprised how well I did in real flight. I credit sim time for my sucessful first flights! What a rush!
five-string is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 08:11 PM
  #4  
PigBoat_2
Senior Member
 
PigBoat_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: which fms simulator model to emulate a 2channel plane?

hey five I was wondering if you could give me the real url link to that t-hawk sim. I've been looking for that for weeks now and still can't find it and the link you posted is no good


PB_2
PigBoat_2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 04:42 PM
  #5  
five-string
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
five-string's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Nashville, GA
Posts: 1,925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: which fms simulator model to emulate a 2channel plane?

Pigboat2, if you send your email address I will email you a zip of the par file. I think that should do it, right? I checked that link. Yes,that link is now no longer available. Sorry.
five-string is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 04:22 PM
  #6  
Shortymet55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 1,037
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: which fms simulator model to emulate a 2channel plane?

Theres a T-hawk for FMS. Thats the plane im getting. Can i have the the file too. Now I can have my exact plane and Heli on FMS.
Shortymet55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 04:36 PM
  #7  
Shortymet55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 1,037
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: which fms simulator model to emulate a 2channel plane?

Found the T-Hawk scroll down alittle. There is also other copies of real planes http://gunnerson.homestead.com/files/fms_models.htm
Shortymet55 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service