Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

first flight with new Commander 2...Yay!

Reply

Old 12-31-2005, 05:09 PM
  #1  
five-string
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
five-string's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Nashville, GA
Posts: 1,925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default first flight with new Commander 2...Yay!

Just came in from the field. First flights with my new Commander 2 were a success! And I didn't break ANYTHING! Woo Hoo!

FMS simulator is a definite plus before hitting the flying field. I used the SU-26 model to learn how to take off from the ground (ROG, or FOG or something like that). I mapped the controls on my gaming joystick so I only had rudder and throttle. It really prepared me for the first take offs. They were smooth. Unfortunately I got so excited about lifting off that I flew straight into a brick building and the plane plummeted about 25 feet to the grass. NO HARM DONE! This little plane is more robust than it appears. Lesson learned, I moved very far away from the buildings and tried again. Up, up and away!

My landings were less than gentle, so after I flipped the plane upside-down three times on landing, I took my wheels off and tried hand launching. Piece-o-cake! I got several nice belly lands after that.

The ACT on these FBC2's works great. After a few minutes of flying I started getting brave and trying some harder turns with more throttle. The ACT takes over at the point where you start to get too steep into a turn and then returns control to you after it levels out.

I found a great FMS model for the two channel planes:

[link=http://cgi.ethz.ch/~mmoeller/cgi-bin/ikonboard3/ikonboard.cgi?s=6ca7bdfe6622b007839b36082005f7fa;a ct=ST;f=9;t=207;hl=commander]Toytronics T-Hawk[/link]

This model got me used to reversing the controls when it is flying toward you. I put the rudder on channel 1 and throttle on channel 3 and the rest to channel zero so you only have rudder and throttle.

I was very impressed with how tough the plane is and it flew great right out of the box. I am hooked!!

Now to get good enough to turn ACT off and start dropping bombs at targets!! Oh, yeah...
five-string is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 02:11 AM
  #2  
jdetray
Senior Member
 
jdetray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Napoleon, OH
Posts: 1,617
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: first flight with new Commander 2...Yay!

Congratulations on your maiden flights! Well done.

Now it's just a matter of plenty of stick time to improve your skills.

- Jeff
jdetray is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 02:23 PM
  #3  
Leo L
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Flushing, NY
Posts: 783
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: first flight with new Commander 2...Yay!

Congratulations and welcome to flying! Remember, the two biggest enemies of flying are wind and obstacles on the ground (trees, buildings, fences, etc.). Make sure that there is little or no wind and fly at least twice the height of any nearby obstacles. Most newbies are afraid of flying high - they think that the plane will get away from them. When you get the plane that you are comfortable at, you probably need to go at least 50% higher.

Have fun and keep us informed of your progress.
Leo L is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 11:16 PM
  #4  
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,567
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: first flight with new Commander 2...Yay!

A critical piece of advice to you and to all two channel pilots. Respect the
wind! REALLY RESPECT THE WIND!!!!!

These planes either have throttle and rudder or throttle and differential
thrust, which does about the same thing.

If you fly on a windy day you have a very high probability of losing the
plane. Why, because you have no way to fight the wind. If the plane gets
down wind from you, and it will, here is what happens. You hit the power to
fight the wind, but these planes climb when you hit the power, so instead of
coming back to you, they climb and as they climb, the wind pushes the plane
further away.

A very very experience two channel pilot can work around this through a series
of maneuvers called the death spiral. However, this is a difficult thing to
control for a new pilot. There is a fellow in our club who has lost two
Firebird Commanders to the wind. We finally convinced him to get an Aerobird.

A three channel plane with elevator control can push the nose down and dive
into the wind to come back. This is how gliders can fly against the wind
without motors.

So, don't fly your rudder/throttle or diff thrust plane in wind over 5 MPH
until you are very good with the plane. Don't get over 7 MPH until you can
easily fight your way back from a down wind position.
TIP

I don't know if this works for that Outlaw or the Scout, but for the Firebird,
II, sT, XL,
Fighterbird and Commander, if you put a popsicle stick under the back of the
wing, it lowers the angle of attack of the wing and the plane will not climb
as much on power application. If you learn to manage the plane well, this can
give you better penetration into the wind, but it still will not let you put
the nose down into the wind.

Enjoy these planes but remember, they are best flown in little to no wind.
aeajr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 07:11 PM
  #5  
dribbe
Senior Member
 
dribbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 838
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: first flight with new Commander 2...Yay!

Congratulation! Hope you have a lot of fun with the Commander 2!

David
dribbe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 09:45 PM
  #6  
five-string
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
five-string's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Nashville, GA
Posts: 1,925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: first flight with new Commander 2...Yay!

dribbe! I have a question for you. I am having one small issue with my FBC2. I understand you are with Hobbyzone, right? If not, I apologize and disregard....

The air drop module is not working properly. The tiny electromagnet holds just fine as long as I am pressing the plug into the x-port connection on the side of the fuse. But as soon as I let go of it, the connector looses connection enough that the magnet releases. It's simply a bad connection between the plug from the ADM and the pins in the fuse. Please tell me there's a fix without shipping an entire plane back to the HobbyZone guys.

The magnet releases when it's supposed to by pulling down on the left stick, but, like I said, only as long as I am pressing in on the little white plug.

I purchased the plane, extra wing, batt, chargers, adm and tail online as there are very few LHS in my area. I am somewhat handy with small tools and soldering irons. I'm hoping I can tighten up this connector myself somehow but have not attempted any repairs yet.

I tried two emails to HobbyZone with no response and a phone call that didn't get answered on Jan 2.

Please help.
five-string is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 10:51 PM
  #7  
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,567
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: first flight with new Commander 2...Yay!

If you are having problems with the plane, support is provided thorugh Horizon Hobby, the US distributor. I believe this is mentinoed in your manual. You can also find info here:

http://www.hobbyzonesports.com/Support/Default.aspx

Sounds like the plug on the plane or hte plug on the drop module is bad. I have Xport on my Aerobird Challenger. It should not work as you describe. The magnet should hold till you release it from the radio.

aeajr is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service