Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

First Radio suggestions

Reply

Old 02-17-2006, 01:41 PM
  #1  
navihawk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 163
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default First Radio suggestions

Im getting a new radio soon. I am thinking of getting either the optic 6 from hitec or the DX6 from spektrum. Ive thought a lot about both of them and I want to get the Optic 6. I like the dx6 and its nice that it brings servos and receiver. But I want to move on to bigger airplanes later on and the range on the dx6 is not so good compared to other regular radios. The optic 6 brings the spectra module which lets you choose the channel you want to fly on. If anyone has any opinions or used any of these 2 and has some info i would really appreciate it.
navihawk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 08:56 PM
  #2  
Bevo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Midvale, UT
Posts: 426
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: First Radio suggestions

Optic 6 is an easy radio to program. Great choice if you would like to fly a glow powered airplane with it in the future. The DX6 is also a nice radio. I tried one out a few weeks ago. It is really nice but can only be used for parkflyers or electric helicopters. I'd buy the Hitec Optic 6 just so your not limited to just electrics only.


Bevo
Bevo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 04:28 PM
  #3  
navihawk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 163
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: First Radio suggestions

Cool thanks for your input Bevo. I have another question. I am getting the optic 6. Hitec Optic 6 6-Channel FM Tx/Spectra/SupremeRx. That combo brings the spectra module which allows me to choose the channel i want to fly on. Now if i buy another flight pack. Instead of just the reciever alone. If get this one the Hitec HFS-04MG Flight Pack. It brings a 4-channel single conversion receiver. Can i still use the spectra module on that receiver, if so like would i have to get extra crystals for like each channel or something? Would I have to buy a dual conversion receiver instead of a single one? I am thinking of getting that one because it brings the 3 servos which is how many the ac I'm getting requires. Its the DMZ Cherokee.
navihawk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 07:17 PM
  #4  
Bevo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Midvale, UT
Posts: 426
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: First Radio suggestions

All of the Hitec rx and other brand rx that are negative shift will work with the spectra module you just have to choice a frequency and tune your module to that channel.


Bevo
Bevo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 09:16 PM
  #5  
navihawk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 163
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: First Radio suggestions

Do you mean pick a frequency like a crystal, like 11,60........so on? Or frequency from the spectra module?
navihawk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 05:44 PM
  #6  
Mountain_Flyer
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hammett, ID
Posts: 89
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: First Radio suggestions

the Optic 6 with the Spectra module supports BOTH positive AND negative shift RX's, hence all hitec and futaba's and all of the JR's and Airtronics that are positive shift. it also supports PCM RX's

you need to set the Spectra module to what ever frequency of crystal your RX has in it (btw it doesn't matter if the RX is single converstion or dual conversion)
there are two small dials on the side of the spectra module you set them to the corresponding channel number hence if you want channel 32 you set the first dial to 3 and the second dial to 2 they are clearly marked as to what dial is the first and what dial is the second digit.

there is a setting in the radio's programming mode that allows you to set the positive or negative shift setting its not on the Spectra module itself.

the manual for the OPtic 6 is quite in-depth and explains pretty much everything that radio can do in detail...
Mountain_Flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2006, 02:41 PM
  #7  
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,567
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: First Radio suggestions


ORIGINAL: Person_X

the Optic 6 with the Spectra module supports BOTH positive AND negative shift RX's, hence all hitec and futaba's and all of the JR's and Airtronics that are positive shift. it also supports PCM RX's

Good post except one point, PCM is not generic. PCM is specific to brand and in some cases it is specifc to models within brands. FM/PPM can mix brands. Generally you can not mix brands of PCM RX/Radios.

PCM and PPM are both using an FM radio band. They code the information differently. When people say FM, they mean FM/PPM. When they say PCM they mean FM/PCM. Hitec has QPCM too which works with the newer Hitec Eclipse7 and Optic 6 radios. It will not work with older Hitec PCM radios such at the Hitec Prism 7X.
aeajr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 05:00 PM
  #8  
kcwannafly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, CA
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: First Radio suggestions


[/quote]

PCM and PPM are both using an FM radio band. They code the information differently. When people say FM, they mean FM/PPM. When they say PCM they mean FM/PCM. Hitec has QPCM too which works with the newer Hitec Eclipse7 and Optic 6 radios. It will not work with older Hitec PCM radios such at the Hitec Prism 7X.

[/quote]

Exactly what is the difference between PPM and PCM?[]
kcwannafly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 11:04 PM
  #9  
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,567
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: First Radio suggestions

The way the signal is coded. That is all I know.
aeajr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 11:20 AM
  #10  
deepankar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: tansen, NEPAL
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: First Radio suggestions

ya guyz what do u think about using a 2-channel car radio 4 making a electric plane........i wanned to make a V-tail...but i dont have idea to make circuit chip that does it all simple and easy.....do u have any idea about it.........
deepankar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 10:17 PM
  #11  
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,567
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: First Radio suggestions

Why bother? You can get an aircraft radio for free!

Tower Hobbies - $59.99
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXLGF4**&P=7

If you bought the servos and receiver separately the sum is more than the
parts:

The package includes 2 HS-55 servos worth $14 each = $28
Micro 05 receiver
.................................................. .................$30
One channel crystal for the receiver ..................................$11
There are other minor things in the package too

So, if you add that up, to buy those parts will cost you $69 - The package,
with the radio, is $60. Not only do you save $8 but you get the radio FREE!
I still recommend a computer radio but this will fly a 2-3 channel electric or
glo plane, a 2-3 channel RES glider, a 2 channel slope glider and it has
mixing for V tail or elevons. Since it uses regular batteries, you don't have
to remember to charge it, just bring an extra set of batteries.
aeajr is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service