Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Prop Nut tightengin and Brushless motor?

Reply

Old 07-23-2006, 06:57 PM
  #1  
cdub50
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 69
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Prop Nut tightengin and Brushless motor?

Help please. I have a 400 speed brushless motor, and I just threw the prop. It is most difficult to get any kind of tightening due to the motor turns when I try to tighten the nut. What do you do to get a tight enough fit, but do not throw the prop? I think it lost it's grip on the motor post.

Thanks,
Chris
cdub50 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2006, 09:23 PM
  #2  
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)
 
Matt Kirsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spencerport, NY
Posts: 7,349
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prop Nut tightengin and Brushless motor?

Do you have a "collet type" prop adapter? It looks like a big dremel collet on the back where it slides over the motor shaft. Those can be tricky to get started sometimes, but once you get them to catch, you can tighten them down by holding on to the propeller for leverage. The trick is to get the nut tight enough at first so the prop won't slip. Once you have it to where you can hold a prop blade and tighten the nut, it's smooth sailing, and you can tighten it down as tight as you want.
Matt Kirsch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 06:39 AM
  #3  
cdub50
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 69
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prop Nut tightengin and Brushless motor?

Is there some other type of connector that is more reliable? I am having some difficulty with this one.....
cdub50 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service