Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

Slow Stick Questions???

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Slow Stick Questions???

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2006, 12:01 AM
sputnikxxx

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Slow Stick Questions???

I am thinking bout getting a slow stick.... I notice its ARF and not ready to fly.... what other parts will I need to get it in the air?

Ihave a aerobird challanger can I use any of the equipment that came with it?

What is the flying time?

If I can't use any of the equipment that came with my challanger for the slow stick what is the best bang for the buck to get it flying...

I am new to flying electric but my only regret is not getting into it sooner.. I intend to stay in the hobby for a long time and get better electric flyers as my skills get better
so I guess my question is what is a good choice of transmitters.... batteries ... chargers... etc.... that can be used on a multitude of flyers and not just one... that one break my pocket... cause I am working with limited funds....
Old 08-04-2006, 10:40 AM
soarhead-RCU

Default RE: Slow Stick Questions???

spitnik:
This is my take on the basics you need to fly a SS. I have never had your former plane so dont know what is compatable and not.
The SS comes powered by a 400 motor and a 300 motor. I have flown both and really think the 300 series motor is better in my personal opinion. lighter and uses lighter batteries.
You will need a ics-300 speed control or similar (cost around 15-20 bucks)
You will need battery packs (GWS has some 750ma 7cell nimhs, in green shrink wrap that sell for around 15 bucks good for 10-15 min. flight time) If you want to start out with lipos I would use 2 cell of around 2100ma, good for 30 to 40 minutes flight time depending on flying style.