Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

New to R/C Flying - Looking for first plane

Old 09-27-2006, 07:07 PM
FlyinLo

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default New to R/C Flying - Looking for first plane

Hello all,

I've been doing a lot of reading here and I just thought I would introduce myself.
My name is Derrick, I live in New Hampshire, I've got my Commercial Multi-instrument certificate and about 350 hours.
I have a couple of Aero Aces but other than that I've never flown any R/C planes.

I've got my eye on the Hobby Zone Super Cub but being a pilot I really don't like the idea of flying with just rudder and elevator control.
I'm considering going with more expensive components from the start but no particular radio equipment really stands out.
I may just pick up a SC for now until a second generation 2.4GHz system becomes available.

My LHS recommended a slowstick. I think they look ridiculous but the slow speed would probably be helpful. Again though, not loving the rudder/elevator control.

The other plane I'm eyeing is the GWS E-Starter with a rudder/elevator/aileron setup. I know this will be a bit faster than the cub or slowstick, but with all the sim time I've racked up I think I might be able to handle it. Plus I would love to get some floats and fly off the lake.

If anyone has suggestions I would love to hear them!

Thanks,
Derrick
Old 09-27-2006, 11:51 PM
Time Pilot

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to R/C Flying - Looking for first plane

Two good planes, in my opinion. I wouldn't get too attached to your first couple of planes, though. You'll know why after a bit of learning.

Your sim time is probably more helpful than your cockpit time. From what I've read, cockpit time invites arrogance and crashes.