Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Motor mount help?

Reply

Old 09-27-2006, 08:46 PM
  #1  
treedog
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
treedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Midway, AR
Posts: 506
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Motor mount help?

Can some one help/explain how to mount this tiny motor to the firewall.
ty Td
There are no mounting holes around the bell shaped part to attach screws to
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca80264.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	32.1 KB
ID:	531506   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cx75658.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	38.9 KB
ID:	531507   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pu52522.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	531508  
treedog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 09:11 PM
  #2  
Slo-V Flyer
Senior Member
 
Slo-V Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 3,344
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Motor mount help?

Actually, that is a common inexpensive motor lots of people have.

Mounting it is not that hard. There is usually a plastic "gearbox" like stick-mount that comes with or is available for those motors, and you mount the base of the motor (the flat round part) to the gearbox using 3 screws (or at least 1). Then you can mount the gearbox onto the stick on the firewall if so equpped.

Failing that, I would suggest you take 3 tiny screws w/ nuts preferrably, and mount the base of the motor (the round flat part begind the shaft) to the firewall using the 3 holes it has. That's the way you can mount it directly to the firewall. ...Unless you didn't see those 3 holes already?

I'm hoping someone else will read your question and further elaborate with pictures or something to clarify.

BTW, what kind of plane/brand/model is this motor going to be used on?

[bEdit:][/b] Notice the tiny dark hex-screw on one side of the base of the motor? That holds the rest of the shaft/motor in place. I would tighten that just ot be sure, before doing anything else. Mine came a little loose in flight but thankfully I discovered that and tightened it in time.
Slo-V Flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 09:23 PM
  #3  
treedog
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
treedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Midway, AR
Posts: 506
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Motor mount help?

Ty slo-v. this is for a mus from e-flite It has a 20 amp motor recommended. The motor came with a stick mount looking thing with holes that don't line up with that flat metal plate on the back with 3 holes in it. Can u recommend a prop setup also. for this do i need a adaptor? That shaft looks awful flimsy, about 2mm wide.
treedog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 06:24 PM
  #4  
Flypaper 2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingston, ON, CANADA
Posts: 4,925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Motor mount help?

Loosen the setscrew and the motor will come off of the backplate. Screw the backplate to the firewall. Slide the motor back into the backplate and tighten the screw. If you want to use the stickmount, put the centre of the motor up against the hole in the stickmount just below the square part. Drill the three holes using the backplate for alignment. Most of those motors 8-4 or 8-6 props.
Flypaper 2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 07:58 PM
  #5  
treedog
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
treedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Midway, AR
Posts: 506
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Motor mount help?

Ty Flypaper, that's got me going now. i just need advice on how too and what kind. I was afraid i would screw some thing up. My first electric install also ty slo v.
Td
treedog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 08:02 PM
  #6  
treedog
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
treedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Midway, AR
Posts: 506
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Motor mount help?

PS. Think maybe i need to buy some spare motor shafts ? These seem awfull skimmpy? I bet 1 would break one the first hard landing at 2mm shaft size.
treedog is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service