Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

Plane zooms up after maneuver

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Plane zooms up after maneuver

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2006, 03:25 PM
polaris330

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Plane zooms up after maneuver

I am new to electric and trying to tune or trim my plane. The symptom I have is that after eassh maneuver the plan tends to zoom up and I need to give down elivatoer to prevent a stall. This seems to happen at most any throttle level. Can you suggest a solution?
Old 10-03-2006, 06:26 PM
cyclops2

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Plane zooms up after maneuver

What is the manufacturers name of the plane?

3 common causes of any plane zooming up with flying speeds are.

1 The wing is angled up too much.

2 The rear elevator surfaces are angled down too much. Could be either the part that does not move or the movable surface.

1 and 2 are correct if you can toss the plane and it does a fast, steady, gradual glide to the ground at least 30' away.

When you get a good glide, then any UP or DOWN zooms are being caused by the motor being angled up or down incorrectly.

Plane climbs with lots of power, angle the motor down.

Remember, ALL planes have a unexpected loss of power some day.

The plane MUST glide beautifully or it crashes.

Old 10-03-2006, 07:06 PM
polaris330

The plane is a Super Impress II . The plane glides well and climbs without power stalling with neutral control. What seems to happen is that at the end of a turn or a loop the plane ends with a climb and near stall, needing some down elevator. Power off glide is nice. I suspect CG is off or incidence but not sure which and in which direction.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Doug
Old 10-03-2006, 07:59 PM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Doug,