Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

buying my first rc plane

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

buying my first rc plane

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2006, 11:13 AM
LordMarduk

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default buying my first rc plane

Hi guys, I'm a complete newbie at RC flying and I'm about to buy my first plane. I was thinking about the T-34 Turbo Mentor, it seems a nice and stable plane just within my budget. Would you advice this one to a newbie, or is it too difficult / expensive as a first one? Another option would be to start with a really cheap and slow plane, if the risk of crashing the first plane is very high. But what I'm looking for is a reliable plane with good control (variable speed, easy to land) with a long RC range. And it would be cool to mount a little digitial camera on it sometime.

By the way, I'm from Europe so unfortunately prices are a lot higher for me than in the states (for example the price of a new T-34 Mentor is equal to over 200 dollars here..) I'd love to order one from the US / Canada, but shipment seems way too expensive (50 dollar or more).

Old 12-17-2006, 02:47 PM
Time Pilot

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: buying my first rc plane

You'll get a lot of opinions about the best plane to fly, but mostly everyone will agree that you should start with some kind of a high wing trainer of some sort unless you've got someone to stand by your side while you learn to fly.

The risk of crashing your first plane is very high.

My learning curve went like this:
1) Used a cheap computer simulator until I could take off and land & fly basic maneuvers easily with wind settings up to 20+ kph. Then moved on to:
2) GWS Slow Stick. Good if you live in a place that gets NO wind at some time of the day. Then: