Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Hobbyzone Super Cub

Reply

Old 12-19-2006, 03:40 PM
  #1  
Drcoyote
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Springfield, WV
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hobbyzone Super Cub

Hello! I am new to r/c flying, so I purchased the super cub rtf from hobbyzone. Can I conduct a "power off" test glide with the super cub by throwing the aircraft into the wind? I would like to do a test glide so I can get a feel for the elevator and rudder. I have been controlling the r/c airplane on blacktop to see how the controls work. It seems when I apply throttle, the plane wants to go towards the left (on the ground). Does this mean the tail wing is bent? Any other suggestions regarding learning to fly are appreciated.
Drcoyote is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 04:32 PM
  #2  
patnchris
Senior Member
 
patnchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 1,516
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hobbyzone Super Cub

Check out [link=http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_4371835/tm.htm]THIS THREAD[/link] in Park and Backyard Fliers.....Everything you ever wanted to know about the Super Cub...Pat
patnchris is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2006, 05:19 PM
  #3  
EC130
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Centerville, OH
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hobbyzone Super Cub

No. That is the torque from the motor making the plane turn. You'll also notice the SC has a tendency to turn left in the air unless you trim it out using your transmitter trim slide. I have a SC and LOVE it! My friend Gordo and I fly combat everyday with them and we own the drop/combat/and night flying modules. After many collisions, crashes, repairs, we finally started to follow all the great advice on the official SC thread here in RCUNIVERSE and it has really added to the longevity of our planes. Especially epoxying in the Battery box and taping the tail. I have since painted mine red, "notched" all my kills, and built floats. They are a blast!
EC130 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 02:07 PM
  #4  
acarter
 
acarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: schuylkill haven, PA
Posts: 927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hobbyzone Super Cub

I know a normal 4 channel plane has ailerons, rudder, elevator, and power, but with the three channel plane what control is missing
acarter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 03:34 PM
  #5  
AJ1202
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 4,354
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hobbyzone Super Cub

acarter on the SC it's the ailerons that are missing, but don't be mislead a 3 channel plane can have ailerons and no rudder or rudder and no ailerons. 4 channel just means (most of the time) it has them all
AJ1202 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 04:03 PM
  #6  
acarter
 
acarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: schuylkill haven, PA
Posts: 927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hobbyzone Super Cub

ok, thanks
acarter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 06:57 PM
  #7  
acarter
 
acarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: schuylkill haven, PA
Posts: 927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hobbyzone Super Cub

hey, does anyone have a vid of the sc in action or where to see one
acarter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 07:04 PM
  #8  
xAaron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Middletown, NY
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hobbyzone Super Cub

You can just go to www.youtube.com and type in hobbyzone super cub.

You can also try this link for some info.
http://www.danmarx.org/blog/?p=78

Also more info here
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=5193883
xAaron is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2007, 09:38 PM
  #9  
Gary Hoorn
Senior Member
 
Gary Hoorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hobbyzone Super Cub

Can I conduct a "power off" test glide with the super cub by throwing the aircraft into the wind?
I would not recommend that! It will not stay in the air long enough to teach you anything and more than likely will crash. Try to find someone who can assist you for the first few flights.
Gary
Gary Hoorn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 10:16 PM
  #10  
m0ng00se
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lewisburg, KY
Posts: 64
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hobbyzone Super Cub

I self taught myself on the Super Cub. Simply find a very large field, and go there on a day with 0-3 mph winds if possible. I simply did my range check, then got my brother to hold the plane in front of me, and i trimmed all the control surfaces until they were even with the rest of the plane.
Then go full throttle and have someone toss it for you. Glide straight forward with very slight up elevator until you have 150+ feet altitude. Now you can throttle down a little if you want and begin turning and such.
I had 11 flights on my SC before i flew it away [] But, i enjoyed it so much for those 11 flights, that i immedietly ordered a new one

Just learn the basics for flying RC and you should be able to do well.
m0ng00se is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 03:35 PM
  #11  
lyndman26
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hobbyzone Super Cub

I got me a super myself. IT'S SO MUCH FUN!!! The field I fly in is kinda small but its pretty sweet. I plan on making a video some time.
lyndman26 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service