Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

Please help newbie fill in the blanks?

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Please help newbie fill in the blanks?

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2007, 07:05 PM
JT_Redmist

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please help newbie fill in the blanks?

Hello All,
I'm new to RC and have never flown a plane before. Having done some research and talking to some people, I think I have my mind set on the EasyStar as a beginner plane. Knowing that I'll end up with more planes, I've decided not to go the RTF kit and get a better radio instead. I've read some threads, and ppl suggest getting a better radio such as the Futaba 6EXA. What do you think? But here's where the confusion starts. Can someone please help suggest the additional parts I'll need to get this bird in the air? Things like battery, chargers, motor controller, etc. Please let me know what I need to order, so I don't end up with missing parts when UPS shows up Links would be greatly appreciated with your suggestions.

TIA,
JT
Old 01-02-2007, 12:02 AM
Slo-V Flyer

Default RE: Please help newbie fill in the blanks?

The 6EX radio is a very nice deal, I've got it, comes with 3 sub-micro servos that will suffice for the EasyStar and many similar planes, and a 6-ch micro receiver which in my experience is not that good for faster planes or even the EasyStar (I always run outta signal range in 200 feet) Oh, and I definitely suggest you buy a power meter of some sort so you can measure the amp draw (important so you don't over amp and burn out your new esc/motor and li-po batt.) Something like the Astro Watt Meter or E-Flite Power Meter (my personal one). It will also diplay things like battery voltage , power in Watts, and other nifty things. I got mine for $45. Good investment you you don't guess anything.