Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Is there a simple way?

Old 02-13-2007, 09:48 PM
propnut30

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Is there a simple way?

I'm new to electrics and I have bought a speed control and motor, but I have had little sucess. I dont blame the equipment, rather my judgment. It cost me a motor. Is there a simple way to decide what motor, speed control and battery combo I need? I can't quite grasp hot to make a selection. Here is what I have now. I have an ElectriFly SS-45, 45 AMP Brushless control, Good for 500 watts, an E-Flite Six series 2000kv motor (good for up to 26 amps and 300 watts), and a 9.6v battery (good for a paper weight). The battery will be replaced with a 3 cell LIPO. I got a hirger amp controller because I figured it would offer some protection from burining it out. Problem is now the motor is worth more than the contorl. I can solve this with a fuse though.

How do I decide if I need a gear box, or direct drive?

How do I decide on the prope size?

With all of the above installed the plane weighs about 24 oz. Has a wing area of 560 SQ inches. 51" wing span. It is a box wing like a stratos. See the thread (Please Help) in the Foamies forum. I'm getting frustrated with electrics and am seriously thinking about going back to glow. But because of noise restrictions I would have to go across town to fly.

Are there some guidelines that are set out in simple terms?

Brian
Old 02-14-2007, 03:53 PM
Fliprob17

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is there a simple way?