Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

soldering

Reply

Old 06-01-2007, 07:11 PM
  #1  
acarter
Thread Starter
 
acarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: schuylkill haven, PA
Posts: 927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default soldering

well i just got my esc/rx and it want's me to solder on capacitators, it says that they cut down possible interferance, well i have a soldering gun but my soder is junk so it just isn't working out, i got the esc wires on and they are solid but the capacitators are causing trouble, I'm just wondering if they are really nessecary

Thanks,
Austin
acarter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 05:23 AM
  #2  
mrasmm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sometown, Northern Utah
Posts: 4,432
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: soldering

yeah, you should realyl get them on there. They do make a big difference. Also on most brushed motors (ok all that I have seen) make sure to solder the negative lead off of the cap to the side of the motor, or solder 3 104 caps, one between the case and the positive pole, then one between the case and the negative pole, and then one between the 2 poles.
mrasmm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 03:29 PM
  #3  
Sir Raleigh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 449
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: soldering

Hi acarter,

You would probably do better with a soldering iron than a soldering gun.

Something like this from Radio Shack will do nicely.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search

Also, pick up some new solder while you're at it.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search

Sir Raleigh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 05:56 PM
  #4  
acarter
Thread Starter
 
acarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: schuylkill haven, PA
Posts: 927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: soldering

thanks guys, i think i'll go to radio shack tomarrow and maybe get a flight in
acarter is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service