Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

What bat. and speed controler for twin 300's?

Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

What bat. and speed controler for twin 300's?

Old 05-04-2003, 02:36 PM
George C

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What bat. and speed controler for twin 300's?

I 've got a swift racer with a pair of Graupner speed 300's installed and I need some advice on what kind of batteries and speed controller I could use with this combo. I've got an 18 amp Kotronik speed controller and a 9.6v battery pack of sanyo nimh AA size at 1850 mAh. I've tried these but the speed controller cuts the power just above half throttle and the batteries get really hot. That happens when the motors are wired in parallel. When the motors are wired in series everything works fine but power seems marginal for the model. I have no idea what is going on. I'm really new to electrics and none of this makes sense to me. Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Thanks

George C
Old 05-05-2003, 04:00 PM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Here are a few basic concepts:

1. In series, current stays the same and voltage adds up.
2. In parallel, voltage stays the same and current adds up.
3. Rechargeable batteries have strict limits on how much current they can produce. If you draw too much, they get very hot and can become damaged.
4. The more current you draw from a battery, the lower its voltage goes.
5. Voltage and current are dependent on each other. Raise the voltage, and current must increase proportionally. Double the voltage, double the current.
6. Power is voltage times current. Double the voltage, and current must also double. This means that by doubling the voltage, you get four times as much power at the propeller.

Okay, here's what happened: