Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 16 of 16

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Sanford, ME
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    should expo be used on 1st time trainer?

    Being new to rc electric I would like to know If I should be worried about expo on my trainer?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    27

    RE: should expo be used on 1st time trainer?

    Hi GoldOlds1, I think that expo is a real good thing to use especially when you are a beginner. It can help smooth out your flight so that if you move the sticks to fast or too much you will only get a down tuned response. I am still only a novice and on some days I have tried flying without expo and the flight is very eratic compared to when the expo is on. I would stick with it until you feel comfortable with the controls and then gradually reduce the amout of expo. BTW I started withabout a 70% expo on rudder and elevator.
    Cheers
    Con

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Chula Vista, CA
    Posts
    335
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: should expo be used on 1st time trainer?

    If you've got a computer radio, then yes, use it

    ~50% is plenty.
    Life is short, fly more!

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Sanford, ME
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: should expo be used on 1st time trainer?

    [sm=thumbs_up.gif] Thank you Con244 for your input will try your advice on my next trip to the field....but not today, winds @ 35 mph...GoldOlds[sm=thumbs_up.gif]

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    449
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: should expo be used on 1st time trainer?

    Just make sure when you set up expo that the throws around center stick movement are LESS with expo turned on and not MORE. Depending on your radio it could either be minus (-) or plus (+) expo.

    To test this, move the stick just a little to one side and turn expo on and off. When you turn expo on the control surface should jump back toward the center position slightly and when you turn expo off the control surface should jump away from the center position slightly.

    Bill

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    fond du lac, WI
    Posts
    796
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: should expo be used on 1st time trainer?

    hi,

    link to a good thread about expo= http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_9081814/tm.htm



    actually if your first learning to fly expo is not the best idea, you should learn to fly the plane and learn what it feels like and how it reacts and not use a crutch right away. or some time down the road you might be flying a plane for someone else and they dont have expo and all of a sudden you have a plane that seem WAY TO TWITCHY and doesnt fly right.

    but in all actuallity it is flying the way it should and you just never learned how to fly on the wing as they say. do yourself a favor and learn to fly the plane and play with the radios feature once youve learned to fly.



    bassman
    some people are like slinkies not worth much........... BUT bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    449
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: should expo be used on 1st time trainer?

    bassmanh, you raise a good point, but I'll have to disagree that a new pilot using expo is a bad thing.

    New pilots tend to over control their planes until they get a feel for flying and using expo tends to soften that over controlling to a certain extent. Personally I do recommend using expo to a new pilot until he gets more experience and can more easily get him/herself out of trouble when using high rates or non-expo.

    YMMV, though.

    Bill

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    fond du lac, WI
    Posts
    796
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: should expo be used on 1st time trainer?

    sir,


    your right if the student wants to take longer to learn to fly as that greatly lengthens the learning curve they learn to fly WITH expo first THEN relearn what they could have learned right from the start flying without expo and on the wing. also if they are overcontrolling the plane you can always use a bit less throw which makes a big difference for them also.


    me i would rather see them learn first and quicker. THEN play with the extras on the radio. just my .02 cents worth.




    bassman
    some people are like slinkies not worth much........... BUT bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Aurora, CO
    Posts
    1,203
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: should expo be used on 1st time trainer?

    Why wouldn't you use expo in a plane that was too sensitive around neutral? I have learned that expo provides the best of both worlds - soft setting around neutral yet retaining extreme throws for aerobatics and slow flight. Why wouldn't I teach this to someone else, or even more, why would I try to convince them that it would help but not to use it until they were more experienced. I dialed in expo on my son's trainer. Who says the manufacture's set up/geomety is the best, and why be mercy to it? I don't need to teach my son how to drive a manual if all of his cars are going to have paddle shifts on the wheel. Same with using a mouse with my computer versus using the control keys. We could go on.

    The phrase "on the wing" is over-used and meaningless.[8D]

    Kurt

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    449
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: should expo be used on 1st time trainer?

    Reducing the throw by moving the control rod to another hole is just as bad as using dual rates, you loose the maximum throw to get yourself out of trouble in an emergency.

    I still suggest using the most throw on control rod setting and expo on the stick.

    Of course, this debate can go on forever with no mutual agreement. That's why there's an off/on switch for expo. Try it and if you don't like it, turn if off.

    Bill

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Aurora, CO
    Posts
    1,203
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: should expo be used on 1st time trainer?


    ORIGINAL: Sir Raleigh

    Of course, this debate can go on forever with no mutual agreement. That's why there's an off/on switch for expo. Try it and if you don't like it, turn if off.

    Bill
    Bill is wise.

    Kurt

  12. #12
    Moderator BarracudaHockey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    19,373
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: should expo be used on 1st time trainer?

    If my car has brakes I'm not going to remove the floor boards so I can stick my feet out to stop just so I can apprecaite brakes later on.

    If your radio has it, no reason not to use it, though 50 percent is a lot, I'd start between 20 and 30, 20 percent or so will actually yield linear control response and help do away with the natural tendency for the controls to be MORE sensitive around center that a stock setup gives.
    Andy - Helicopter Forum Moderator
    AMA 77227 Leader Member- Contest Director
    www.JaxRC.com

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Aurora, CO
    Posts
    1,203
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: should expo be used on 1st time trainer?


    ORIGINAL: BarracudaHockey

    If my car has brakes I'm not going to remove the floor boards so I can stick my feet out to stop just so I can apprecaite brakes later on.

    If your radio has it, no reason not to use it, though 50 percent is a lot, I'd start between 20 and 30, 20 percent or so will actually yield linear control response and help do away with the natural tendency for the controls to be MORE sensitive around center that a stock setup gives.
    BarracudaHockey - I like your brake analogy!

    However, most stock setups ARE linear with no natural tendency for the controls to be more sensitive around center. The sinusoidal movement of the pushrod at the servo produces a linear result at the control surface thanks to the radial movement of the surface around its hinge line. Of course I am assuming the pushrod is set 90 degrees at the servo and at the surface control horn, as most setups try to do. 10% of TX stick movement equals 10% of control surface movement. This is my favorite subject!

    Kurt

  14. #14
    Moderator BarracudaHockey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    19,373
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: should expo be used on 1st time trainer?

    A control surface moves as far as its pushed (or pulled) by the rod.

    A servo output is round, when around center the rod moves more with a given stick/servo movement than when the servo wheel is at the extreme of throw.

    Hence the control surface will move more with a given stick input around center, than at the extremes of throw.
    Andy - Helicopter Forum Moderator
    AMA 77227 Leader Member- Contest Director
    www.JaxRC.com

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Aurora, CO
    Posts
    1,203
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: should expo be used on 1st time trainer?

    Not true. You are not applying trigonometry correct at both ends of the pushrod.

    Kurt

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    camrose alberta, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    514

    RE: should expo be used on 1st time trainer?

    Why not use what your instructor suggests.
    -Snuts-


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:54 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.