Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

I keep crashing! Need advice.

Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

I keep crashing! Need advice.

Old 04-07-2003, 07:50 PM
hyperknight

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I keep crashing! Need advice.

I am totally new to this... but love it.

Admittedly, I'm getting frustrated though. I have so far bought, built, and crashed a FSK BF109 and a FSK Rare Bear. I don't get it. Both flew great until I tried to turn.

I've been told as a beginner, I should NOT be flying planes with ailerons but instead be going with elevator/rudder combination. Does a rudder over ailerons make that much of a difference in flying, i.e. easier???

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

tia

hk
Old 04-07-2003, 08:09 PM
latch66

The first thing you need to get is a "trainer". Flying RC is tougher than it looks. Both of the planes you are trying to fly are beyond a beginners airplane.

There are several trainer suggestions on this thread. Check them out an pick one of them to learn on.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/showthread...56&forumid=239

This thread is the very first one in the Electric Beginners Forum.

My personal suggestions would be either of these:

1. Slow Stick
2. Wingo
3. Tiger Moth

Also, a flight sim will go far in helping you learn to fly. But that by no means you can skip the trainer step. Use of a flight sim will just shorten the amount of time in the trainer step.

Then come back to the BF109 or the Rare Bear.

You'll have a lot more fun then..
Old 04-08-2003, 02:10 AM
hyperknight

Latch66,

Thanks for the advice. I think I will purchase either a slow/pico stick or the Tiger moth as my next plane and practice ALOT more with one of those kits.

hk
Old 04-08-2003, 02:20 AM
xv-townboy
My Feedback: (5)