Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

What to get to go with Tiger Moth?

Old 07-19-2003, 01:28 AM
Airborne 2007

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default What to get to go with Tiger Moth?

Hi I am a pretty much a newbie looking for a nice slow/park flyer.
I have been looking at the tiger moth and was wondering if it would fit my list:
1. take some winds-maybe up to 10mph
2. capable of simple aerobatics loops, tailslides, etc.
3. Possibly able to take off from ground
4. easy to control
5. FORGIVING-somewhat slow but enough power for when you make mistakes

I was also looking at a 3 ch. radio since i dont think I will be moving up to ailerons etc. from this. I live pretty much over 4-5 miles from any one I know that has any RC vehicles. I would be flying pretty much in the winter in our fields since i live on a farm. So i was wondering if i should just get the AM radio or go for the better FM.
Also is this a kit that you have to cover, or is it pre-covered. and what other materials do you need to finish/fly it that aren't in the "kit."

Any response would be great thanks a lot!
Old 07-19-2003, 11:21 AM
goofup

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

A Tiger Moth fits all the above requirements- except for the wind. It only flies 5-7 mph so forget 10 mph winds. The calmer the better(!), like morning or evening. After you've learned how to fly, then get you a faster plane that can handle the wind. (And don't think you can take the shortcut. Fast + more power + wind + trying to how to fly = diaster + a much longer learning curve.)

Get the better FM radio.

You don't have to cover it. It's already painted, not covered.

Glue (foam safe!!), hobby knife, small screwdrivers, etc. Nothing special. Get what you need as you need it. Use the search function here to learn about lots of tips.
Old 07-21-2003, 11:53 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models