Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

flight idle?

Old 05-07-2010, 01:02 PM
tripower222
My Feedback: (5)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default flight idle?

Im new to electric so this may be a elementry question but. I purchased a Eagle 580 50" EP (Matt Chapman) and it flies great but I dont like its glide ratio when the throttle is chopped it drops like a rock. Is it common to throw a mix in off a switch or dial and have a flight Idle position?
Old 05-07-2010, 07:06 PM
1320Fastback

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: flight idle?

I set the throttle trim on my electrics to keep the propeller moving at low stick, usually to where the ESC just makes the motor work and no higher.
Old 05-07-2010, 11:31 PM
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

I have no idle position on my any of my planes.  Off is off.   If I want some throttle, I just move the stick.  Idle is an IC concept because you can't turn the motor off.  There is no place for it in electrics. 

Actually an "idle" motor, turning slowly actually induces drag which will just make the plane drop faster.

Leave the concept of Idle for your glow planes.
Old 05-08-2010, 03:08 PM
1320Fastback

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Exactly I use it to get some of my faster planes to slow down, if your plane is dropping then you need to add throttle regardless of whether its at a complete stop or windmilling.
Old 05-08-2010, 08:34 PM
Lnewqban

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

ORIGINAL: tripower222

.....it flies great but I dont like its glide ratio when the throttle is chopped it drops like a rock.
This RCU review states it glides well:
http://www.rcuniverse.com/magazine/a...rticle_id=1121

Nose heaviness may be the cause of your situation; how does it fly inverted when the throttle is chopped?
Old 05-09-2010, 07:39 AM