Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

BEC Question

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2010, 11:56 AM
rascal329

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default BEC Question

I am new to electric and have built my first electric plane. I am using a 5S battery and have read in a few places that it is not good to use the built in BEC when using more than 3S batteries. Can someone explain the reasoning behind this, is it a valid concern, and what is the risk (i.e. what happens if you do use the BEC with more than 3S)?

I have been researching this and can't seem to find a definitive answer. Being a noob I would like to understand this better.

Thanks for any info or guidance someone could provide.

KB
Old 05-26-2010, 04:45 PM
patnchris

Default RE: BEC Question

The built in voltge regulator in most ESC's is designed to provide the proper voltage to the reciever to power it and the servo's. The internal circuitry is designed to function at a maximum of 14 volts input. Voltage over that can, in most cases burn out the circuits. There are some ESC's that have higher rated voltage reg's, but I haven't seen any that will function over 6S. I have substituted voltage reg. for BEC (battery eliminator circuit) for clarity. The BEC is so one can eliminate the need for a separate RX pack. Unless you purchase a special ESC that is designed for high voltage input, and has a built in switch mode BEC you will need to run a separate reciever battery or purchase a voltage regulator that can be wired to the battery output and regulate the voltage to 6.0 volts or less. External BEC's (voltage regulators) come in two varieties. The linear ones are usually good for 4-6S input. The switch mode versions can normally be used for higher input voltages.