RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Electric Training (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-training-102/)
-   -   motor nmaking screeching sound at full throttle (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-training-102/10082461-motor-nmaking-screeching-sound-full-throttle.html)

garylkendall 10-20-2010 08:39 PM

motor nmaking screeching sound at full throttle

i am new to electric flying. i have a question. i have gerneral hobbies yak 54, 46" wingspan, about 2 lbs i think. i have a turnigy 35-42 1250kv motor, a turnigy plush 80 amp esc (a little over kill), and am using 11.1v 2200mah batteries from hobby king, swinging a 11x8.5 prop. i programed the esc with a turnigy card mostly default settings. the problem i am having is that i went to fly it today and when i give it full throttle it gives a load screeching sound, when i back off the throttle some the sound goes away. i tried reducing the end point travel on the futaba radio i am using. this is all brand new equipment. the motor got very hot to the touch. i didn't fly it just ran it up several times trying to solve the problem. i had a problem with my other motor when i installed it. the motor had a short in it and burned up along with my plush 60 amp esc. didnt get to fly that one either, were brand new as well. any suggestions. why is the motor get so hot and making the screeching sound at full throttle? dont want to burn this up too. seen nothing but good revievs for turnigy as well. any help will be greatly appreciated.

BarracudaHockey 10-21-2010 09:29 AM

RE: motor nmaking screeching sound at full throttle

If you advance the throttle slowly will it still screetch at WOT?

Jetdesign 10-21-2010 09:47 AM

Sounds like a timing issue between your ESC and motor.

ESC sends only full-current pulses to the motor to control speed (on and off); faster pulsing results in higher prop rpm.