RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Electric Training (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-training-102/)
-   -   I am new? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-training-102/1465403-i-am-new.html)

PLANE JIM 01-25-2004 02:29 PM

I am new?

I am new to electric-I am accomplished with gas and glow and also building-not bragging but trying to let you know my background-I have been given a cermark playboy ARC electric-I need help in choosing what motor,gearbox,batteries,speed controller,-you know the million questions that I have-the instruction paper is not very detailed-it just states CEM-05 motor and a 7 cell battery (800 or 1000 mah). To tell you what I do not know-I did not realize that electrics use speed controllers-I am pretty green at this-never owned anything electric-also someone told me that when your motor dies because of no current you have no flight control. Please help me and tell me what you would use and what servos (2) you would use and what electric set-up works the best-here are the dimensions of the airplane=wingspan is 6 feet and the chord is tapered with a undercamber wing-fuse length is 3 feet and 3 inches at widest point-three channel no ailerons lots of dihederal. the frame work appears extremely light. If you know some suggestions share them with me please. It also states it needs a 2.5-1 gear with 11-7 prop

shams42 01-25-2004 05:33 PM

RE: I am new?

If you can get an accurate weight for the airframe as well, a measure of the wing area, and your performance expectations for the plane, we can be a lot more helpful in steering you toward some appropriate power systems. (IE, if you want glow-like performance, you're probably going to have to go brushless...)

Having said that, your speed controller will kill power to the motor when the battery gets low, but you still have power to the servos and can make a dead stick landing.

Matt

Dr Kiwi 01-25-2004 11:15 PM