RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Electric Training (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-training-102/)
-   -   New Parkzone Super Decathalon (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-training-102/3109061-new-parkzone-super-decathalon.html)

MachManStan 06-25-2005 06:36 PM

New Parkzone Super Decathalon

Hi folks,

I am brand new to the hobby and just purchased a Parkzone Super Decathalon. I tried it out today for the first time and as you can imagine, it dodn't go as well as I had hoped. I was able to keep it the air a few times for maybe 15 - 20 seconds, but didn't really have much control. After a while I could'nt hand launch the plane anymore without it moving it to the left and then crashing. Can someone give me some tips on how to correct this problem?

I originally intended to buy the Aerobird Challenger, but the hobby shop guy and my wife convinced me to get the Super Decathalon instead. I am now wondering if I bought the wrong plane to start with. Too late now, so I have to make this one work.

Thanks,
Stan

Matt Kirsch 06-25-2005 09:32 PM

RE: New Parkzone Super Decathalon

Yeah.... I don't know what the hobby shop owner was thinking. The Aerobird, ANY Aerobird, would have been a much better choice as a first plane. You may not want to hear this, but you may never be successful with this plane, especially without getting expert help. Even though this Decathlon is a simplified design that is nothing like it's full-scale counterpart as far as handling and performance, it's still more responsive and less stable than a plane designed for beginners.

The dropping off to the left and crashing is called a "tip stall." It's caused by not enough airspeed combined with an attempt to climb too steeply. The plane will always drop off to the left because the propeller is attempting to twist the plane over to the left. When the wing loses lift, the motor just takes it right over.