RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Electric Training (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-training-102/)
-   -   GWS E-Starter... motor/esc/rcvr Questions (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-training-102/3615777-gws-e-starter-motor-esc-rcvr-questions.html)

Barwelle 12-04-2005 12:52 AM

GWS E-Starter... motor/esc/rcvr Questions

Hello

I'm new to electric flying and I just bought a GWS E-Starter and I have a few questions. I bought the GWS Dream Starter II Radio package along with it, and I am not sure everything matches up between the radio system and the plane.

I have:

GWS R6NII receiver (6ch naro type)
GWS ICS-300 ESC
9.6V 750 mAh Ni-mh battery
and the motor: the sticker on the motor says GWS EM400, but if you include the gear system on it, it is called EPS-400C (my calculations are that it is geared 3:1, and they gave me a EP-1060 prop, which is 10x6 i'm pretty sure)

My problem:

I am not sure the motor matches up with the ESC. should the speed 400 motor be matched with an ICS-400 ESC? I hadn't thought of that, but then I came up to an obstacle: the connections between the 400 motor and the 300 ESC do not match up (and yes, I did follow the instructions) The motor has the two wires(black & red) totally seperate, as in, the wires end at a piece of metal, while the ESC's end at a little black 'box', if you know what I mean. the motor does not have any 'box', it is just two seperate pieces of metal. Also, the wires for the ESC are smaller in diameter than the motor's are.

Is it just that I have to buy a GWS ICS-400 ESC? Is that how it works, that the numbers on the motor should match the numbers on the ESC? Like I said, I am new to electrics so I am still learning this stuff.

Thankyou everyone for your help.

Mark

Time Pilot 12-04-2005 02:23 AM

RE: GWS E-Starter... motor/esc/rcvr Questions

ORIGINAL: Barwelle

I have:

GWS R6NII receiver (6ch naro type)
GWS ICS-300 ESC
9.6V 750 mAh Ni-mh battery