RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Electric Training (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-training-102/)
-   -   Maiden Voyage (total newbie, firebird freedom, 70 foot cotton wood tree) (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/electric-training-102/3885414-maiden-voyage-total-newbie-firebird-freedom-70-foot-cotton-wood-tree.html)

8frames 02-08-2006 02:24 PM

Maiden Voyage (total newbie, firebird freedom, 70 foot cotton wood tree)

A friend of mine and I took an extra long lunch yesterday and headed over to marymoore park near seattle, wa.

I tossed my firebird freedom and she soared every so gingerly in the sun filled sky, I proceeded to gently bank left and then right and she took every turn with stride...

Then something good happened, I fell in love with what I was controlling, a freedom that I never experienced before..for 6 minutes I was twelve again...

Then something bad happened, I was banking near a skirt of tall cotton wood trees and lost total power, which was odd since the battery (venom) was fully charged, unable to bank anymore (ACT was on), I clocked the tallest tree and my plane was suspended, think mosquito on a spider web about 70 feet above the ground...

NOOO, I screamed and ran to the base of the tree, without even thinking I asked my buddy for a boost and started to climb and climb. Not even thinking what I was risking, i climb like a "mo fo"

The highest I could get was 60 feet or so, standing with both feet on a 2 inch wide branch...
I've called the parks department and will met them today to see what my options are, I plan fashioning a David and Goliath device to hoist around the branch where the wing is caught and see if she'll shake loose.

It's not the expense of the plane, it's that it's my first plane and for the love of god, I'm not ready to give it up!