Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Electrics to Glow Conversions
Reload this Page >

Gulliows Cessna 172 Glow conversion question

Community
Search
Notices
Electrics to Glow Conversions Are you converting an electric airplane to glow and need help? Have you already converted an airplane and you want to show it off and give some tips? This is your forum. Enjoy.

Gulliows Cessna 172 Glow conversion question

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2022, 12:11 PM
SOPHIAFLYGIRL

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Gulliows Cessna 172 Glow conversion question

Hello I'm a giant scale Pilot and have absolutely no idea about what tiny glow engine will fit this plane:

I own and fly big airplanes. The smallest one I own is a CMP Pro Cessna 182 with a DLE 20. Since I have no previous experience with 36 inch wingspan planes, thought it would be kinda cool to try something really small and see if how it flies. I don't really want to put an electric motor in this plane but I'm not opposed to it. The box calls for a .049 engine or rubber band power. I'm thinking a .10 to .15 size glow engine would probably be perfect for something this tiny.
Any input I'd appreciate, thanks.

Sophia
Old 10-10-2022, 05:00 AM
rgburrill

Received 76 Likes on 67 Posts

It says right on the box .049
Old 10-10-2022, 05:43 AM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 176 Likes on 151 Posts

IMO an 049 would be marginal. The other issues is noise and the fact that 049 will spit exhaust everywhere. A better option would be a 10 fsr with a muffler to direct the exhaust and a real carburetor.
Old 10-10-2022, 09:17 AM
Outrider6
My Feedback: (2)

Received 33 Likes on 29 Posts

I agree that a .10 would be a much better choice, and that an .049 would probably be marginal.