Engine Conversions Discuss all aspects of engine conversions in this forum

CDI gr8flyer55

Reply
Old 10-07-2012, 01:07 PM
  #476
COM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ga, GA
Posts: 396
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

OK I have it sorted. I have to pull GPIO.4 up to enable run mode.
COM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:11 PM
  #477
gr8flyer55
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hamburg, PA
Posts: 806
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

So you are working with an edited source code eh? Shame on you Charlie!
My offer still stands for emailing you my Excel sheet and hex file if you want to try what worked in the video..

John
gr8flyer55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:19 PM
  #478
gr8flyer55
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hamburg, PA
Posts: 806
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

sent it anyway Charlie.. Check your hotmail !!
gr8flyer55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:25 PM
  #479
gr8flyer55
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hamburg, PA
Posts: 806
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

Rob,
What sparkplug size does your Aprilia use? 5/8 hex or 3/4 hex? I'm building another ignition for you to try..finished the whole ignition for your homelite engine complete with plug wire and a case..just like I sell. If you'd rather I left the sparkplug cap and boot off, I can do that also, but tell me the wire length you'll need..

John

gr8flyer55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 02:22 PM
  #480
COM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ga, GA
Posts: 396
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

Thanks John. Can you ask Jake if he wold make that curve the "default curve"?

COM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 02:58 PM
  #481
jakestew
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

Done. I should probably be incrementing the version, but I think only people from this thread are using it at the moment, so everyone should be on the same page.


-Jake
jakestew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 05:13 PM
  #482
gr8flyer55
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hamburg, PA
Posts: 806
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

Thanks Jake for adding my curves to the program. I've been running that engine all afternoon and found no problems with the curves or tracking. Charlie seems to have problems with running it in his engine sim. I'm wondering what would cause that. Runs fine, video was proof of that.

John
gr8flyer55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 07:45 PM
  #483
jakestew
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

No problem. I'd like to have as many curves as possible to make it easier on people. They can try them two at a time until they find the best one, then tune from there.
If we need more save slots it should be no problem to add more.

The data is also in an easy format to exchange. You just copy the yellow cells from the saved curve page and they can be posted here. Anyone can then just copy and paste them back into a save slot and load them up.

The data for your curve looks like this...
0,500,1000,1400,2000,2500,3000,3500,4000,4500,5000 ,5500,6000,6500,7000,7500,8000,8500,9000,9500,1000 0,10500,11000,12000,13000,14000,15000,16000
4,4,4,5,7.5,9.5,12,14,16,18,20,22,28,28,28,28,28,2 7,26,26,26,25,25,24,24,24,24,24

Pretty simple to share the data this way. It's just a list of the RPM points and a list of the advance settings separated by commas.


-Jake
jakestew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:08 AM
  #484
nyemi
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: szarvas, HUNGARY
Posts: 133
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

Hi, everyone
Sorry, but work does not leave me time.
Specifically I'm sorry you: Gompy
Printer circuit board is still experimental:docs.google.com/file/d/0BxQHqG9HPIj3bV9HZnRWbXdHUDQ/edit

I use Sprint Layout 5.0

I see Jake's success.
Congratulate him.
Great work.
If you have a little time, and then look through C code.
Now a lot of work, busy.
It is difficult for them to life.

I welcome all ignition constructor.
Large sparks. Easy-starting engines.
Good luck.

nyemi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:30 AM
  #485
Gompy
 
Gompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Alkmaar, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 404
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

Quote:
ORIGINAL: gr8flyer55

Rob,
What sparkplug size does your Aprilia use? 5/8 hex or 3/4 hex? I'm building another ignition for you to try..finished the whole ignition for your homelite engine complete with plug wire and a case..just like I sell. If you'd rather I left the sparkplug cap and boot off, I can do that also, but tell me the wire length you'll need..
Hi John,

For the Aprilia I need a hour to see how long the lead must be.
The ignition and candle are behinde the airfilter and other bodywork.
It's a crime to replace the candle, you can't doit if you are on the runway.
I think / hope 10 or 15" will be enough, otherwise I replace the ignition.

For the Homy I think I have enough of normal lenght.

The flashlight.
The flashlight wil be triggert at the same time the SCR is triggert.
But why want you change it, the LED do the job very well (I think ?)
If you want a "tool" for it, put a LED into a (alu) tube, and you have a real strobe.
........or have you make a board change on the pin output of the flashlight ?


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd92113.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	8.9 KB
ID:	1809300  
Gompy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:43 AM
  #486
Gompy
 
Gompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Alkmaar, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 404
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

Quote:
ORIGINAL: gr8flyer55

Rob, I too have experimented with different ways to connect it for a good strong positive signal. This is what I am trying to figure out. We need an interface connection to directly plug in for the signal, full strength to make it bright and reliable. A cheap led flashlight is a good light source which I have tried and it works perfectly.
I have many ways to do what need but involve complicated hookups. We just need a simple, easy to use, foolproof, system that anyone can have success with. A users tool, not an experimenters nightmare.
We could make it an accessory item. That is the add-on approach which will work.
One more item we need is the direct rpm readout to accurately check rpm with respect to timing. I have my own way of doing this with an optical tach pointed at the prop. Also had worked by pointing it at the timer's led and reading it, multiplying the reading by 2 (my tach is set for a 2 blade prop- 2 interuptions per revolution). This would be fine except now with the led on the board being so dim, doesn't work at all. Maybe using the RCExl inline tach is the solution there too. Just a thought.
If you use my standalone strobelight you can simple modify it with some resistors and a capacitor to isolate the HV of the spark.
Put a simple spring between the candle and sparkcap, and isolate the !!!!! metal from crocodilclip !!!!! you can pickup the spark for 100%
Some old strobelights use this kind of pickup the spark.

http://www.electronics.gompy.net/strobelight/index.htm
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv63784.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	97.0 KB
ID:	1809307   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zu66404.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	74.9 KB
ID:	1809308   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ej13871.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	84.1 KB
ID:	1809309   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ke90883.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	84.8 KB
ID:	1809310   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yb58346.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	96.6 KB
ID:	1809311   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rq56165.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	91.7 KB
ID:	1809312   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu30813.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	88.4 KB
ID:	1809313   Click image for larger version

Name:	Nz19930.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	70.7 KB
ID:	1809314  

Gompy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:52 AM
  #487
Gompy
 
Gompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Alkmaar, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 404
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55


Quote:
ORIGINAL: nyemi

Hi, everyone
Sorry, but work does not leave me time.
Specifically I'm sorry you: Gompy
Printer circuit board is still experimental:http://docs.google.com/file/d/0BxQHq...RWbXdHUDQ/edit

I use Sprint Layout 5.0
Hi Nyemi,

I got allready the layout, but I'm missing the componentnames / types on the layout.
There are also more components on the layout the schematic will show.
The schematic is not complete or on the PCB there are to much components.
I hope you have some time to complete the schematic or PCB for me.
Gompy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 07:28 AM
  #488
Gompy
 
Gompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Alkmaar, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 404
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZeTnrpk25X4[/youtube]

Engine makes 4514 rpm with a 20x8 prop, I don't have (can get) a 16x8 prop at the moment.
I can't start the engine by hand, I need a startrope.

BTW, the tool on the picture is a TDC-tool and also a compression checker.
If you turn the prop / shaft, the pin wil be in and out if the comprssion is OK.
If you turn the prop / shaft you can also see and mark with the ring the TDC.
If the pistion goes up and down, you can read the distance and calculated back to degrees.
Nice to use if you don't want or can't use a degree disk.

The distance between TDC and UDC of my Homy is 28.41 mm
1 degree will be 28.41 / 360 = 0.07892 mm
If the ignition must be 30 degrees BTDC, the calculation wil be 0.07892 x 30 = 2.36 mm BTDC
With a caliper it's easy to do.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj21717.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	74.9 KB
ID:	1809387  
Gompy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 11:07 AM
  #489
jakestew
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

I just uploaded v0.99b7 to the website.

There are no code changes, but I hid some sheets and locked some cells. Also tweaked the views a bit.

Only cells that should be edited are available to change now. I hid the 3 sheets that don't need to be messed with. Added some code to minimize the ribbon, hide the formula bar and headings.

There is no password on the file. All you have to do is go to...
- "Home -> Format -> UnProtect Sheet" to unprotect the sheet. You have to do this to each sheet you want to change.
- "Home -> Format -> Hide & Unhide -> Unhide Sheet" will let you unhide the hidden sheets.
- Ctrl-F1 will switch the ribbon between normal and auto-hide modes.
- Click "View -> Headings/Formula bar" to make headings and formula bar show back up.

AFAIK these changes will only apply to this spreadsheet and not mess with your default Excel settings. Hopefully these changes make it a little easier and less stressful to edit the settings and curves. The view changes should make it easier to see everything without extra foolery cluttering the screen. If there are any problems let me know.

You can now quickly get to all the settings by hitting the Tab key, which will take you right to each unlocked cell. I also changed the colors a little. The informational settings that are just for checking things are in a olive drab green and the actual settings that affect things are in a slightly different green color.


-Jake
jakestew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 01:37 PM
  #490
COM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ga, GA
Posts: 396
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

Hi Jake,

Well I adjusted my hall on my engine sim and now everything looks good. I am going to test it on my engine in a day or so. I bet everything is going to work great. Thanks and Great Job.
COM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 02:15 PM
  #491
COM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ga, GA
Posts: 396
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

OK I played with making a few different curves and tested everything on my engine sim. everything works spot on. Now I am ready to test the software on a engine.

Jake you really did a great job. Thank you for all the hard work .
COM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:02 PM
  #492
Gompy
 
Gompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Alkmaar, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 404
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

He John, I hope the US-post-office will be fast [>:]
I think I'm the last one who can test the CDI this time.

Tomorrow I can buy some secondhand smaller props, maybe the engine wil run faster with it.
To day also the propholder was turn of the engine, my hart was stopped !
Inside there is also a cracklock, a small bold, they forgot to screw it tide.
I was lucky I hear something when I spin the engine by hand otherwise the engine was damaged.
Gompy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 05:32 PM
  #493
jakestew
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

I updated the spreadsheet to fix the toggle problem with the ribbon. Before it was just toggling the ribbon minimize feature. Now it checks and only minimizes the ribbon if it is actually displayed.

Also made save and load update the preview curve chart. Code is the same, so no version increment.

I'll be busy until Wed, but post if there are any problems.


-Jake
jakestew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 04:58 AM
  #494
Gompy
 
Gompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Alkmaar, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 404
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

Nothing todo , waiting for US-post
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr49147.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	87.2 KB
ID:	1809636   Click image for larger version

Name:	Io28931.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	92.6 KB
ID:	1809637   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca80521.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	100.5 KB
ID:	1809638  
Gompy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:02 PM
  #495
Gompy
 
Gompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Alkmaar, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 404
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

John, can you test the changes I have make ?

The PIC is now protected agains flashback spikes from the HV coil / parts.
The PIC is now operated on 5 Volt.
The capacitor for the sparkcoil will be loaded faster with the extra diode, otherwise it has to load true the resistant of th sparkcoil.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn37786.gif
Views:	80
Size:	8.4 KB
ID:	1809804  
Gompy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:12 PM
  #496
iura
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: tbilisigeorgia, GEORGIA
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

5v maybe not so good for HV converter(current too much). I think better 8.2v (2 LiPo) and use 5v LM for PIC. And from my experience flyback converter better scheme for charging HV capacitor instead of self oscillator one.
BR Iura
iura is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:59 PM
  #497
Gompy
 
Gompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Alkmaar, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 404
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

Thats the first thing I want to know, how much current consum the CDI.
For my bike it isn't a problem, the generator will load the batteries.
Batteries into a plane don't have a generator for backup, empty is empty.
If the tank is full but the batteries are empty, we missing some point.

But befor I'll rebuild something else I want to know the specs from the board John haven make.
I think to build for test the schematic below, all factories are usuing this kind of schematics.

For John, is this the flashlight / strobe you are loooking for ?
BTW, If you want to use it, Jake have to change the program to get a extra LED-input to send a puls to the LED output.
Changing the C into this schematic will also change the lenght of the puls.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn35944.gif
Views:	369
Size:	25.2 KB
ID:	1809865   Click image for larger version

Name:	Np20148.gif
Views:	84
Size:	4.2 KB
ID:	1809866   Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh16308.gif
Views:	234
Size:	6.2 KB
ID:	1809867  
Gompy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 07:47 AM
  #498
COM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ga, GA
Posts: 396
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

Jake is there any way to change the input from falling edge to rising edge?
COM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 10:31 AM
  #499
gr8flyer55
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hamburg, PA
Posts: 806
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

Charlie, check your email. I sent you the lines to edit to make the change.

John
gr8flyer55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 10:45 AM
  #500
Gompy
 
Gompy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Alkmaar, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 404
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: CDI gr8flyer55

Charlie, put the engine in reverse
Gompy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:52 PM.