Notices
Engine Conversions Discuss all aspects of engine conversions in this forum

Ignition timing.

Old 05-09-2013, 10:52 AM
av8tor1977
My Feedback: (6)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Ignition timing.

I have a Stihl 62cc engine that I converted. It was a labor intensive conversion, but it turned out very well and runs great. I was perusing the technical data and specifications for the Sthil 62cc, and the timing was listed as "X" millimeters before Top Dead Center. Just for grins, I got my degree wheel and dial indicator out and checked the numbers. Guess how many degrees it turned out to be.

28 degrees, just as Bill and TKG and Ralph have been telling us for years!

Of course it never hurts to experiment. There is an engine I build that uses an Echo 25cc crankshaft in an Echo 23.6cc engine. It very definitely prefers 24 degrees timing, while the stock Echo 23.6cc engine likes the more normal 28 degrees. An engine needing less advance is generally believed to be burning the fuel more efficiently all else being equal, and my Echo stroker engines do run very well. Who knows exactly why they like less timing..... Probably something to do with the increased piston dwell time at TDC with the longer stroke.

AV8TOR
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd93338.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	152.8 KB
ID:	1880578  
Old 05-09-2013, 12:17 PM
pe reivers

Default RE: Ignition timing.

The combustion chamber shape (squish etc.) and EFFECTIVE compression ratio + chamber size + mixture ratio define the combustion speed. The ignition and spark plug have a certain amount of flame introduction delay. These factors define the required ignition timing.
With tuned pipes the timing most of the time is later due to very high effective compression ratios.
At high rpm, with associated high squish turbulence action, ignition should be later as well, sometimes as late as 15°.

Low compression, lousy design engines can get away with timing as early as 35°.