Engine Conversions Discuss all aspects of engine conversions in this forum

What do you have your conversion in???

Reply
Old 10-22-2003, 08:10 PM
  #1
rcglert
Thread Starter
 
rcglert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mesquite, TX
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default What do you have your conversion in???

Hello all,

Just wanted to see what all of you are doing with your converted engines. Speak up and give everyone some input on what you fly with what conversion and how it performs.

I will start....I am flying a GP Big Stik .60 with a 25cc Homelite conversion using the hop ups that are described on the RS Engines website. Vertical is unlimited spinning a 16 x 10 prop. A 16 X 8 works well too. I get 7500 RPM with an 18 X 6. The plan is very slow, but will hover all day. It is just too neat!

This conversion stuff is addicting! Does anyone else find themselves looking down alleys for abandoned weed whackers come trash day? I admit it, I am always looking for weedies that others have given up on!

Hope to hear from many of you soon!

Tom
rcglert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 09:52 PM
  #2
bn120
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gaston, OR,
Posts: 715
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

Hi my name is Darin and I am a conversion addict. I do have alot of weedies but my problem has gotten worse,I thought that by moving onto something else I would be ok, but now I have alot of chainsaws.

currently in use I have 3 stihl 017 on glow (heck the thing only weighs 29 oz. bare)
one going in a balsa nova 1.20 to replace a us 35cc gas
one in a gsp katana 1.40
one in a h9 cap 1.20 that replaced the poulan 46cc gas

and the big stihl 066 91cc @ 64 oz. bare for the 1/3 staudacher

I also have a stihl fs91 30cc,029 56cc,039 64cc,echo 23cc,husky 65cc,shindiawa 20cc a few homies a few ryobis and macs.

Darin converted addict
bn120 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 05:39 AM
  #3
fokker38cc
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Argentina south, Chubut
Posts: 159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

Hi Tomenglert
Do you know
www.rcfaq.com
it's a great site to read to convert engines.
This help me .
Good luck
Jose
fokker38cc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 07:12 AM
  #4
AutoMike
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seymour, IN,
Posts: 831
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

LOL. yep , we need something like AA for us. Well, I'm Mike and Im just a plain cheap a@@! Cant spend much anymore since the wife found about a dozen receipts and nearly went postal on me (sigh). So I no longer mess with my helis, cars(gas and electric), boats(same),all my glow airplane stuff and this R/C paperboy thing I was trying to perfect but nevermind that. So in trying to figure just how I could still get my fix and spend peanuts(no really, peanuts) I got into this conversion thing. BTW tom, I found my first ryobi in a dark alley, Im not proud of it but thats what happend. Ok, got a freebie ryobi, called in some favors, had it ready to fly a plane for $25 total. Now I needed a plane....Just how cheap can you build and finish and plane for a 31cc motor? $25! Yep, thats it. I call it my Pipe Dream. Go to Home Depot and buy the following:
PVC downspout 10' length makes two fuse's= $5.98
2" pink foam board 4x8 sheet=$14 but had a bad corner so I got it 1/2 off=$7..WOO HOO
3/8x1/2 hardwood spars=$3
and the rest of the cash went to nuts, bolts and rigging.
Sucker flys great! been flying all summer on it, even tought a few newbies how to fly with it. It has a 80" wing, 1200 sq in area and weighs in at a beefy 15lbs4oz but that ryobi hauls it straight up for a good ways. Piper
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vs55561.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	69441   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lg17015.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	32.7 KB
ID:	69442   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wb75478.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	29.5 KB
ID:	69443   Click image for larger version

Name:	Jd87439.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	43.0 KB
ID:	69444  
AutoMike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 09:22 AM
  #5
rcglert
Thread Starter
 
rcglert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mesquite, TX
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

Thanks for your early replies!!!!!!!

KEEP EM COMING!!!!


Tom

PS - Mr. Piper.......what a cheap/cool idea for an airplane. It is kind of a SPAD without the signboard. I love it! It is so ugly, it's pretty! LOL
It looks like the ultimate conversion test bed as well. You could come up with all sorts of comparisons between your Pipe Dream / Conversion combo and get a good idea just what airplane the engine is capable of flying. TOO COOL.
rcglert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 09:48 AM
  #6
av8tor1977
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,043
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

HI,

I had a Kioritz 16cc on a Great Planes Big Stick that I had converted to a Low Stick. Flew well at sea level, but when I moved to a higher elevation, (4500'), it was underpowered. So I converted the 16cc to a 21cc, and once again it flew great.

However, soon thereafter I got hit with a massive radio glitch and destroyed the airplane. I'm now building a similar replacement, but with the fuselage designed for a gasser from the start, and I'll put my Homey 25cc on it. I've since found out that you can't fly the old AM radios here due to interference, so I'll need to buy a better radio.

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 11:08 AM
  #7
kiv
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Eyota, MN
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

Quote:
....I am flying a GP Big Stik .60 with a 25cc Homelite
Wow! Did you have a problem getting the cg to balance with that much weight in the front? I'll bet you do have unlimited vertical with that combo!!

Kiv
kiv is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 02:04 PM
  #8
rcglert
Thread Starter
 
rcglert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mesquite, TX
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

You have to cut off the front of the airframe to the former that is about 3-4 inches behind the firewall. You then put the firewall against that former and reinforce.

The servos for rudder and elevator as well as a 5 cell battery pack go in the rear of the fuse.

Believe it or not, I can still come in for a nice, slow, nose high landing even with the added weight of the Homey.

It is just too awesome!

I just noticed..............I am now a JUNIOR MEMBER.......YIPEEE!!!!!!!

Tom
rcglert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 09:21 PM
  #9
Rambo-RCU
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Flatwoods, KY
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

My Ryobi conversions can be seen at http://www.jagengines.com just go to testimonials and then to Jim Adkins 4 Star.
Rambo-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 01:30 AM
  #10
Volfy
 
Volfy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

Jim,

Very nice looking 4*120s. How did you do the two-piece wing?
Volfy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 11:13 AM
  #11
Flypaper 2
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingston, ON, CANADA
Posts: 4,925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

60cc Homelite in a Byron Christen Eagle
Flypaper 2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 02:19 PM
  #12
jstanton
 
jstanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Millington, TN
Posts: 3,091
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

I hav'nt gotten it yet, but I plan on building a Balsa USA stingray 120 and install an old ryobi 28cc engine I have. The Balsa USA Stingray comes in at just under 9 lbs total with a wing area of 1276 sq in. My 28cc ryobi turns a 16x8 Master airscrew prop at 7500 rpm. That should be a good combination.

Thanks
jstanton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 05:12 PM
  #13
flipflop
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Naples, TX
Posts: 424
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

Well, so far, I've had a 22.5cc Ryobi, 28cc Stihl, 31cc Ryobi, and a Homelite 25 in my Ultra Stik. I've got a Hanger Nine Edge with a Poulan 36cc chainsaw motor, and now have nine flights on my Texas Hurricane with the Poulan 54cc in it (GREAT COMBINATION!) Got one of the new Wildhare Edges coming for the Poulan 60.
flipflop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 09:46 PM
  #14
BalsaOvercast
 
BalsaOvercast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 229
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

Ultra Stick, Ryobi 31cc.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr50625.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	55.2 KB
ID:	69891   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up46810.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	59.7 KB
ID:	69892   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wb74679.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	60.7 KB
ID:	69893  
BalsaOvercast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 09:48 PM
  #15
BalsaOvercast
 
BalsaOvercast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 229
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

forgot one...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw69124.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	60.8 KB
ID:	69894  
BalsaOvercast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 06:14 AM
  #16
rcglert
Thread Starter
 
rcglert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mesquite, TX
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

More great airplanes with great little engines on em! Keep em coming!

Has anyone figured out I am using all of you for ideas so I can take em out on some poor unsuspecting chainsaw/weedie!

????If you were a utility engine, would you rather be flying or cutting grass????

Tom
rcglert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 07:56 AM
  #17
blue77
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 439
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???



Hello, I would like to put my Homie on Ultra Stick 120 ....how do I mount it and get gas and throttle connections? Thanks
blue77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 08:40 AM
  #18
av8tor1977
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,043
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

I think the new Hangar 9 "Ultra Lite" Stick would be awesome with a 25 to 32cc gasser on it. Just haven't been able to get off the bucks to order one yet. It lists a 26cc gasser as an option for the plane, so it should be ready for use as a gasser plane. Plenty of wing and light too. Has anyone here done one yet??

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 10:45 AM
  #19
KenLambert
 
KenLambert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Livingston, TX
Posts: 868
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

yes I have done the homelite and ultra stick lite it is a perfect combo just reinforce the firewall with pins.It floats in and has unlimited vertical Kenneth
KenLambert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 01:21 PM
  #20
blue77
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 439
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???




HELP.....The plate on the back of my Homie is about the size of the US120 firewall, with 4 mounting holes. The screw heads that mount the plate to the engine stick out about 1/4 inch..how do I mount....and do I drill holes in Al plate for throttle push rod and gas lines..............thanks wc
blue77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 01:43 PM
  #21
Mitty
 
Mitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jackson, MS
Posts: 474
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

Hey y'all.
I just wanted to drop a line or two.
As a part time job (work-on-side) I have a small engine repair shop and I never really thought about flying models with chain saw or wacker's engines untill I found an amature web page of one guys who fly big stick airplane with ryobi engine.Anyways,I decided to try and convert engine off one of my many 'eaters.
Will strip everything off but the only problem I think I will run in to is balance flywheel after I cut the fins.The filns will HAVE to be cut to avoid un-wanted airmass flows ,generated by fins.And I don't want to put no electronic ignitions of any kinds.

If anyone of you knows how to avoid disbalance of the flywheel ,please let me know.
Thanks.
Mitty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 06:03 PM
  #22
rcglert
Thread Starter
 
rcglert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mesquite, TX
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

Mitty,
Put the flywheel on a lathe and turn down the fins to the same level as the hub of the flywheel. If you are accurate, balancing should not be a huge problem. I have never considered disturbances caused by the flywheel being a problem - the reason you turn them down is due to weight saving measures.

By the way, mine works really well without "no dang electronic ignition"! It kind of defeats the purpose of conversions - keepin' em cheap! If you price an ignition system you will find they cost as much as a brand new weedy at Home Depot.

Good luck with your conversion projects. BE CAREFUL, you might become addicted!

Tom
rcglert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 06:55 PM
  #23
Rambo-RCU
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Flatwoods, KY
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

Hey Volfy I used a tube in tube assembly about like you'll find in a big bingo.I do not use any dihedral and I use a ply ribs on inboard and outboard ends of the tube sockets.The sheeting goes on next to the inboard rib only.The ribs in between the ply ones can be regular ones.If you use a 18" aluminum tube then your phenolic ones that goes it the wing panels will be 9" long each that is how long your sheeting will be.Finally use a extra balsa block in the wing just ahead of main spar under the sheeting.You will now have 2 places to attach your bolts after you drill thru the balsa block and install additional mounts in the fuse. then top it off with thin aluminum straps with holes at either end to prevent wing from spreading apart at hi G maneuvers.Good luck let me know how they turn out.
Rambo-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 11:52 PM
  #24
Volfy
 
Volfy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

Jim, thanks for the explanation. I just got a 4*120 kit NIB, which I'm hoping will be my "Winter" project (there are no winters down here ). My truck bed is only 73" long so I'm stuck with either shortening the wing, as some have suggested, or doing the two-piece mod. I'm leaning much more towards the two-piece mod, now that I know you've done it.
Volfy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2003, 04:01 PM
  #25
Rambo-RCU
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Flatwoods, KY
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What do you have your conversion in???

Anytime I can help I'll be glad to if you need more info I'll try and come up with sketches or something.Later dude.
Rambo-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:29 AM.