Engine Conversions Discuss all aspects of engine conversions in this forum

Craftsman 55cc

Reply
Old 11-10-2006, 11:40 PM
  #26
snap it
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wonder Lake, IL
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

Rev, I'v seen Billair's motor run today[sm=thumbup.gif]all I can say is WOOOOOOOOW that thing moves alot of air. I can't wait to convert mine. What kind of muffler are ya running? Have you tried different one's to see if you get an increase in RPM?
snap it is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 08:34 PM
  #27
rev
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: altoona, PA
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

I make my own mufflers with 2 3/8 I.D. outlet tubes. I"m also using the stock coil and flywheel, that may be the difference.
rev is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 10:28 PM
  #28
billzair
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: algonquin, IL
Posts: 179
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

I wonder how many rpm you gain(if any) by running electric ignition?Also maybe mine revs quicker because I dont have the extra mass of the flywheel? anyway, if snapit will let me use his tech this week ill post some rpms with that 22-8 im running.
billzair is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 09:45 AM
  #29
zx32tt
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Locust, NC
Posts: 679
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

You likley will not gain any rpm from an electronic ingition, unless you play with the timing, which should be about 28 deg. BTDC. Also, 3/8" ID tubes might be a little restrictive. Dont get too hung up on static RPM. All engines have a "sweet spot" where they develop the most power & torque. The trick is to find a prop that lets the engine operate in that range, and still power the plane with the performance it needs.
Z
zx32tt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 10:51 AM
  #30
snap it
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wonder Lake, IL
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

3/8 ID is kinda small for that motor to flow. I would try to bump them up to 1/2 or 9/16 ID. 9/16 ID worked well on my past stump pullers. I'm willing to bet that you'll get an increase in RPM and throttle response. Just my .02
snap it is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 06:57 PM
  #31
rev
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: altoona, PA
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

I use 3/8 to keep the noise down, to keep the peace.
rev is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 10:16 PM
  #32
snap it
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wonder Lake, IL
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

I know how that is. Its to bad that people can't understand that we are just trying to have fun............
snap it is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2006, 05:22 PM
  #33
flipflop
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Naples, TX
Posts: 424
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

This is a new record for me! I got back from Sears at noon, this picture was taken just before 3. Less than 3 hours work, that included turning the fins down on the flywheel. Since the crank threads were 5/16x24, I borrowed a prop hub I had on a Poulan 25. The only prop I've run so far is the MA 18x10 and the carb seemed to be set perfectly for it. I'll make a new prop hub sometime this week (3/8x24 on the bolt end) so I can run my 20 and 22" props. What stood out from the brief test run was how smoothly it runs, very nice for a mag motor (bunches smoother then my Poulan 46 on the stock ignition)
Almost forgot, what prompted me to buy this thing today is Sear has them on sale right now for $189 if you are a member of the Craftsman club.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj22522.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	84.1 KB
ID:	567076  
flipflop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2006, 07:46 PM
  #34
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,889
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

flipflop: Nice job! In record time for sure. Is that a MAC or ? brand of engine? That smooth running part sure sounds good. Airplanes hold together better that way! Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2006, 10:18 PM
  #35
cdale03
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: W-S, NC
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

NIce pic you can even read the prop name..
cdale03 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 07:27 PM
  #36
rev
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: altoona, PA
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

billzair, flipflop, Any more run time on the motors?
rev is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 05:11 PM
  #37
flipflop
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Naples, TX
Posts: 424
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

Got off work a little early today. Redrilled and tapped the prop hub for 3/8-24. MA 20x10 turns a solid 7320rpm with the motor still completely stock (as pictured above) and the needles still untouched (still a little rich). Going to be a "gutsy" little motor. I'll start on the carb adaptor tomorrow.
flipflop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 05:41 PM
  #38
flipflop
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Naples, TX
Posts: 424
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

Here's the new carb mount.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca82806.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	81.3 KB
ID:	570539  
flipflop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 08:06 PM
  #39
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,889
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

flipflop: Nice work! Did you ever put a timing lite on the 55cc engine. I was wondering if the nice looking ignition modual has a advane buitlt in. What brand is the modual? Thanks Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 07:28 AM
  #40
flipflop
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Naples, TX
Posts: 424
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

The bulbs are blown in both of my timing lights and no one in this neck of the woods has replacements. The module has JF on it which would stand for Jen Feng as BN120 posted earlier as they are the makers of the motor.
flipflop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 01:18 PM
  #41
Eagle Flyer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ida Grove, IA
Posts: 681
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

Curious, what is all up weight just as it is on the stand?
Eagle Flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 03:37 PM
  #42
flipflop
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Naples, TX
Posts: 424
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

Took it off the stand and weighed it just for you Eagle Flyer. As pictured here, 5lbs, 10oz.RTF.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt58710.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	59.2 KB
ID:	571158  
flipflop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 11:29 PM
  #43
billzair
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: algonquin, IL
Posts: 179
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

electronic ignition really sheads some weight........mine weighs in a just a bit over 3lbs, RTF... not to shabby.
I havent run mine lately...its hard to get motovated when its 10 degrees outside!
billzair is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 07:06 PM
  #44
flipflop
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Naples, TX
Posts: 424
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

Is that with muffler, mounts, ignition, battery, and ignition switch? If so, that's pretty light. I may go ahead and set mine up for C-H igniton this weekend. With that big flywheel on the front, I think the only plane I could put this in would be a Yak with the big round cowl. Hate doing it though, here lately, I've gotten where I kind of like the simplicity of the magneto ignition.
flipflop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 07:19 PM
  #45
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,889
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

flipflop: How is that 55cc engine for hand starting with the standard mag? Seems like the bigger engines could be harder to hand start. Thanks Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 07:25 PM
  #46
flipflop
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Naples, TX
Posts: 424
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

No luck on the hand starting the first time I tried it. But then, I don't have but about a half a tank of gas run through the motor. So I'm not saying you can't hand start it yet.
flipflop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 10:48 PM
  #47
cu. in.
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Birchwood, MN
Posts: 289
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

bilzair,

How did you remove 2 lb. 10 oz. by adding an electronic ignition? An electronic ignition weighs about 4 oz., and a nicad battery pack weighs about 4 oz. In total there is roughly 3 lb. 2 oz. to remove to compare with flipflop's 55 as pictured.

Bruce
cu. in. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 04:43 AM
  #48
hamman
 
hamman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Baltic, OH
Posts: 155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

I just weighed my 55cc, bare engine, carb. carb adaptor, prop adaptor, gutted stock muffler, and BCMA ignition with nicad and it was 4lb 10oz, that did not include spark plug and engine mount which was down at my shop and I was too lazy to bring up to the house to weigh.
hamman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 01:39 PM
  #49
cu. in.
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Birchwood, MN
Posts: 289
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

Thanks hamman,

That sounds like a realistic weight. When you get a chance, take some tach readings for us, if you haven't done so already.

Thanks again,

Bruce
cu. in. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2006, 09:18 PM
  #50
flipflop
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Naples, TX
Posts: 424
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Craftsman 55cc

Worth the trouble??? Here's the prop hub I made when setting up for the C-H ignition, 119.2 grams. After about three hours of setup, layout, and machining it's now 102.8 grams. That's a lot of work for a little over half an ounce. Looks cool though...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn36476.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	57.5 KB
ID:	577370   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bw70866.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	577371  
flipflop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:27 AM.