Engine Conversions Discuss all aspects of engine conversions in this forum

Super tiger 2300- gas

Reply
Old 01-25-2013, 07:06 PM
  #101
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,874
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Super tiger 2300- gas

Ken, I am sure this is one of your engines. Capt,n
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd92990.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	76.4 KB
ID:	1844327  
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 10:43 PM
  #102
KenLambert
Thread Starter
 
KenLambert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Livingston, TX
Posts: 868
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Super tiger 2300- gas

Yes that is one of the first 2300's I did , the blue sensor sheild is a dead give away it is the v 1 rc excell Ign.
KenLambert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 04:48 AM
  #103
paosi
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oak Park, IL
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Ken,

How are you? Hope you're still busy with conversion of ST engines...

Appreciate guidance on initial settings of the high and low needle of a Super Tigre 325.

I've ran the ST 325 but engine stops running, particularly when reaching its high end rpm when fully advancing the throttle stick on the translitter. Engine runs well on its horizontal position, but chokes or seems to loose power when nose of engine /plane is pointed up. Am I running lean? I've checked the gas tank and clunk inside as well, both are ok with the clunk having enough distance from the end of the tank.

My current settings for high needle is about 3 1/2 turns. Engine has already run about 3 tanks, tank having capacity of about 600cc.

By the way, for making adjustments to lean or rich the engine, this should be done 1/8s of turn?

Appreciate your feedback. Thanks by the way for converting my 325 Super Tigre engine! I'm looking forward to many flights with this engine.
paosi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 01:15 PM
  #104
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,874
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by av8tor1977 View Post
Hmmm, if my Super Tiger 2300 turned an APC 13 x 6 at only 11,600 rpms, I would be pretty bummed....

Super Tiger .90 running on Gas/Glow 11,600.5 rpms with an APC 13 x 6.

AV8TOR
That gas/glow fuel has nitro in it, so you should have more power...but more cost for the fuel. Also more mess on airplane. Kens conversion uses a lot less oil in the fuel. Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 02:09 PM
  #105
KenLambert
Thread Starter
 
KenLambert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Livingston, TX
Posts: 868
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

sounds like a lean setting or the screen is dirty or an air leak some where. Make sure the O ring on the carb adapter is sealed.
KenLambert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:30 AM
  #106
paosi
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oak Park, IL
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Ken,

I've seen your video on the ST 325, and it sounds and runs great! did you start your initial HIGH needle setting at 4 turns from close? Your LOW needle as well, how many turns did your start from close?

Thanks for your advise, I've changed my fuel lines, cleaned the screen in the carb, and checked the O ring on the carb.

By the way, how many volts were you using to supply your engine module? 2 cell LIPO or Life/A123?
paosi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 07:19 PM
  #107
KenLambert
Thread Starter
 
KenLambert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Livingston, TX
Posts: 868
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I start with 1.5 high and 1.25 low. what carb are you using? Still sounds like air problem unless the engine is running HOT
KenLambert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 03:29 PM
  #108
Skinny Bob
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Park Falls, WI
Posts: 591
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

With glow fuel reaching 80 to 90 bucks a gallon who wouldn't switch??????

Bob
Skinny Bob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 12:57 AM
  #109
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 8,820
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinny Bob View Post
With glow fuel reaching 80 to 90 bucks a gallon who wouldn't switch??????

Bob
And I thought I was getting ripped off paying $32-$39/gallon for glow fuel. I started mixing my own a few years ago, and now glow fuel costs me about $8-10/gal (on average) to make. I'm still not a gasoline fan - the exhaust note sounds much different on gasoline. Too weedeater-ish.


edit: changed cost figure to be accurate.

Last edited by 1QwkSport2.5r; 02-28-2015 at 11:17 AM.
1QwkSport2.5r is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 06:40 AM
  #110
Skinny Bob
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Park Falls, WI
Posts: 591
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I sure would like to have your formula, would you share it?

Bob
Skinny Bob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 11:16 AM
  #111
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 8,820
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I rarely use more than 5% nitro 20% oil in most engines, which costs about $10.80 per gallon. FAI fuel is used for breaking engines in which runs about $8/gal. So my $6/gal figure is a little low. Basically, I pay $2.50-$2.75/gal for methanol, $25/gal castor oil, and $55/gal for nitromethane. This figures into roughly $.02/oz for methanol, $.24/oz castor oil and $.43/oz for nitromethane.

The up-front costs of mixing your own fuel is high, but the long term cost is much lower for me.
1QwkSport2.5r is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 12:07 PM
  #112
Skinny Bob
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Park Falls, WI
Posts: 591
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1QwkSport2.5r View Post
I rarely use more than 5% nitro 20% oil in most engines, which costs about $10.80 per gallon. FAI fuel is used for breaking engines in which runs about $8/gal. So my $6/gal figure is a little low. Basically, I pay $2.50-$2.75/gal for methanol, $25/gal castor oil, and $55/gal for nitromethane. This figures into roughly $.02/oz for methanol, $.24/oz castor oil and $.43/oz for nitromethane.

The up-front costs of mixing your own fuel is high, but the long term cost is much lower for me.
Thanks for the reply, I was given a Super Tiger S3000, a fuel guzzler, and from what I have been able to learn on the forum's the ST S3000 run's best with 12% caster, 100% alcohol and 0% nitro. So all I need is to find $25/gal caster.
Thanks
Bob
Skinny Bob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 12:32 PM
  #113
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 8,820
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I get my oil from S&W fuels - splube.com

They don't list castor by the gallon on the website, I had to call them to get that price. Friendly folks to work with.
1QwkSport2.5r is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 01:50 PM
  #114
Skinny Bob
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Park Falls, WI
Posts: 591
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the help and info.

bob
Skinny Bob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 06:29 PM
  #115
Iflyglow
 
Iflyglow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Clintonville, WI
Posts: 3,843
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

80-90 a gallon?? I live in WI and I just checked yesterday, and two of the shops had 10% wild cat and power master for $18-19. One had mega 5% for $16. Hard to believe the costs vary that much in the country. I mix my own to by the way.
Iflyglow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 06:55 PM
  #116
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 8,820
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iflyglow View Post
80-90 a gallon?? I live in WI and I just checked yesterday, and two of the shops had 10% wild cat and power master for $18-19. One had mega 5% for $16. Hard to believe the costs vary that much in the country. I mix my own to by the way.
I suspect the $80-90 was a gross exaggeration.


I have 4-5 different types of engines and each requires a different fuel mix ideally, which would be too expensive to buy a gallon of each of premix. Making my own is such a money saver. Even if fuel was $15/gal. for premix.
1QwkSport2.5r is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 07:21 AM
  #117
av8tor1977
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 6,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1QwkSport2.5r View Post
I rarely use more than 5% nitro 20% oil in most engines, which costs about $10.80 per gallon. FAI fuel is used for breaking engines in which runs about $8/gal. So my $6/gal figure is a little low. Basically, I pay $2.50-$2.75/gal for methanol, $25/gal castor oil, and $55/gal for nitromethane. This figures into roughly $.02/oz for methanol, $.24/oz castor oil and $.43/oz for nitromethane.

The up-front costs of mixing your own fuel is high, but the long term cost is much lower for me.
You probably know this, but just in case some one else is reading it, a clarification is in order I believe. You can use low, or no, nitro fuel to break in a ringed engine. However, an ABC or ABN engine must be broken in on the same fuel it will be flown with. Personally, I prefer breaking in even the ringed engines with the same fuel they will be using once broken in.

Thanks,
AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 08:35 PM
  #118
fasteststang
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Spring Creek, NV
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ken, I have an st2300 that you converted to gas several years ago. I flew it in an Escapade 60 for a few years until the plane smacked the ground. Now I have a Twist 60 fresh on its way to provide a new home for the G2300. I was wondering if you have ever experimented with mouse can muffler or just a macs header by itself? Just trying to save a little weight as the engine and cdi box are already heavier than the heaviest recommended engine. Plus I think the sound would be a lot cooler.
fasteststang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 07:15 AM
  #119
av8tor1977
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 6,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Wow, a Twist 60 with a G2300? I had one with a Super Tiger .90 converted to gasoline and it was a rocket. I can't imagine one with a 2300! But it might be fun....

Unless you are familiar, the Twist series have a weak spot in the fuselage right at the back edge of the canopy. The fuselage can crack/break, from that point down to the bottom rear of the wing cutout. Mine broke twice at that spot until I got mad and doubled that area with plywood. Maybe a little strengthening there and your engine weight would be ok??

You could also use a Tech Aero battery eliminator and save the weight of the ignition battery.

Anyway, I can vouch for the Twist 40 and the 60. Nice, fun fliers!

AV8TOR

Last edited by av8tor1977; 03-11-2015 at 07:17 AM.
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 02:52 PM
  #120
av8tor1977
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 6,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Twist 60

Here's a pic of my Twist 60 with the last repair job. If you look closely you can see where the fuselage has been doubled at that weak spot. In this pic it has the Fox .60 in it that I sold it with instead of the Super Tiger .90 converted to gas that I flew it with. (I wouldn't let go of that cool, gas, Super Tiger!)

AV8TOR
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2848.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	222.1 KB
ID:	2080710  

Last edited by av8tor1977; 03-11-2015 at 03:12 PM.
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 05:58 PM
  #121
fasteststang
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Spring Creek, NV
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Great advice aviator, thanks I'll definitely reinforce. My friend has a twist 40 that cracked right there too. The 2300 might be too much engine for the twist, if so I'll put a different engine on it. I live at 5500' asl, so I am in the habit of going big in engine deptartment. Funny you should mention the Tech Areo, that's exactly what I'm running. For battery I have a 2500 mah life.
fasteststang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 06:22 AM
  #122
KenLambert
Thread Starter
 
KenLambert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Livingston, TX
Posts: 868
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I would think the 2300 is to much weight even with good throttle management . they made a 120 size which would be a good size for it , a friend had one with the 2300 and it flew it good but he had a used card and didn't run right , I sent him a new carb and he called to let me know the engine had so much power with that carb it destroyed the airframe in the air, nothing left to fix. but he was so excited about how the engine ran he wasn't upset about the plane. lots of rambling but in short that it way to much engine for a .60 size frame.
KenLambert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 07:07 PM
  #123
fasteststang
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Spring Creek, NV
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I must be using the wrong carb, as is the engine would barely prop hang my Escapade 60 (158 apc, timing set at 28 deg.) I didn't think much of it because I live at over 5500' asl and I just expect everything to put out less power than normal. What carb should I get?
fasteststang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 11:27 PM
  #124
prigai
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If using a Walbro carb, a size 28 (28/64" = 0.4375") is the right size, it is a 11.1mm venturi which is well suited to a 23cc engine.
Venturi sizes are generally in multiples of 1/16", the one size smaller is a 24 (0.375" or 9.53mm) and a size larger is a 32 (1/2" or 12.7mm).
Size 24 should be the minimum usable and will be good for bigger props at lower RPM. Size 28 will give the best overall power and transition, a size 32 will have most power with smaller props but may have a slightly richer midrange and not the best transition.
prigai is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2015, 12:19 PM
  #125
av8tor1977
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 6,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fasteststang View Post
Great advice aviator, thanks I'll definitely reinforce. My friend has a twist 40 that cracked right there too. The 2300 might be too much engine for the twist, if so I'll put a different engine on it. I live at 5500' asl, so I am in the habit of going big in engine deptartment. Funny you should mention the Tech Areo, that's exactly what I'm running. For battery I have a 2500 mah life.
I just thought of another mod I did to that Twist. I added a much taller tail wheel assembly. As it came, the tail sat very low, with the elevator quite close to the ground. I had troubles with sudden gusts of wind picking the plane right up. I installed a taller tail wheel setup and that problem was solved.

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:40 AM.