Engine Conversions Discuss all aspects of engine conversions in this forum

Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

Reply
Old 06-26-2009, 09:05 PM
  #126
miker42
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

[img][/img]

Hi
Check it out this is a OS 160.
I have not put it on a plane yet but soon it will be on a plane.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Db84332.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	76.8 KB
ID:	1225312   Click image for larger version

Name:	Nk27900.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	75.9 KB
ID:	1225313   Click image for larger version

Name:	Oj28111.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	71.4 KB
ID:	1225314  
miker42 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 10:57 PM
  #127
av8tor1977
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 6,937
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

What is the line coming off the side of the crankcase? I am assuming it is a pressure pulse line for the fuel pump, but it doesn't seem to be hooked up properly at the carb. (Hard to tell from the pic.) Also, it appears to be a silicone line, which is a huge "No No" with gasoline. The gasoline will turn it to mush in a short time....

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 12:41 AM
  #128
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,523
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

that spark plug connector reminds me of "RF CITY" Do you have a resistor in there?
[img]{akamaiimageforum}/upfiles/449233/Nk27900.jpg[/img]
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 08:11 AM
  #129
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,873
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

If you want a shielded cover for that small spark-plug, get in touch with Ralph at rcignition.com He did have them. Nice looking OSMax. What brand of oil and what % are you running in engine? Best Regards Capt,
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 10:34 AM
  #130
miker42
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

Hi
That line goes to the carb adpter ti pump the carb.
And I will change line.
miker42 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 11:46 AM
  #131
Jezmo
 
Jezmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 2,132
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

Nice looking conversion Mike. Yes change the silicone hose for sure. My SuperTigre 90 also uses an adapter plate that has the pulse connection plumbed into it. Works very well. If you decide not to change to a fully shielded plug cap then do a VERY GOOD range check. Those little Rimfire plugs don't have a resister in them and without full shielding all the way to the plug base you can get some pretty bad RF interference as w8ye mentioned above.
Jezmo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 10:21 AM
  #132
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,873
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

Quote:
ORIGINAL: av8tor1977

What is the line coming off the side of the crankcase? I am assuming it is a pressure pulse line for the fuel pump, but it doesn't seem to be hooked up properly at the carb. (Hard to tell from the pic.) Also, it appears to be a silicone line, which is a huge ''No No'' with gasoline. The gasoline will turn it to mush in a short time....

AV8TOR
Miker, As long as gas does not run through or collect in the silicone pulse line.....it may last a long time. On test stand...how is it seem to be doing...just curious. Capt,n P.S. Would like to hear more on how the OS Max runs. Thanks
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 10:32 AM
  #133
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,873
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

Miker, here is a photo of one type of sparkplug shield....there are others also. Capt,n
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	If10831.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	73.3 KB
ID:	1226847  
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 11:18 AM
  #134
av8tor1977
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 6,937
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

Why would someone take a chance with a known improper fuel or pulse line? Good way to possibly lose an airplane if the engine quits at a bad time....

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 01:00 PM
  #135
Jezmo
 
Jezmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 2,132
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas


Quote:
ORIGINAL: av8tor1977

Why would someone take a chance with a known improper fuel or pulse line? Good way to possibly lose an airplane if the engine quits at a bad time....

AV8TOR
I'm with ya on this one. Fuel line is way too cheap to take a chance.
Jezmo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 05:24 PM
  #136
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,873
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas


Quote:
ORIGINAL: av8tor1977

Why would someone take a chance with a known improper fuel or pulse line? Good way to possibly lose an airplane if the engine quits at a bad time....

AV8TOR
AVATOR...Can you read the post??? TEST STAND...just to see what happens. OK WITH THAT?? OH my acking *****
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 07:48 PM
  #137
miker42
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

Hi Capt,n
Where can I get a shielded plug conector like that?
I went to rcignition.com but could not find anything.
Thanks Mike
miker42 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 07:48 PM
  #138
tkg
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Riverton, WY
Posts: 3,114
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

If the comments about the pump line were not made, what do you think the odds are that the engine would have installed in the plane that way.
To many people have the attitude of what is the MINIMUM I can do and still fly my plane. The correct attitude should be What are ALL the things I can do to to my plane to keep it flying.
Remember the RF signal is in MICRO volts and an engine that quits in a torque roll is breakfast food.....pancakes
DO it right, DO IT the best you can and DO IT ONCE.......
tkg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 08:05 PM
  #139
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,523
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas


Quote:
ORIGINAL: miker42

Hi Capt,n
Where can I get a shielded plug conector like that?
I went to rcignition.com but could not find anything.
Thanks Mike
http://www.ch-ignitions.com/#cat

I couldn't find the Rimfire but if you call them they can fix you up


Edited to correct the fact that I had answered a different post than I thought I was



w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 08:47 PM
  #140
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,873
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas


Quote:
ORIGINAL: tkg

If the comments about the pump line were not made, what do you think the odds are that the engine would have installed in the plane that way.
To many people have the attitude of what is the MINIMUM I can do and still fly my plane. The correct attitude should be What are ALL the things I can do to to my plane to keep it flying.
Remember the RF signal is in MICRO volts and an engine that quits in a torque roll is breakfast food.....pancakes
DO it right, DO IT the best you can and DO IT ONCE.......
I agree...do it best the first time....that is if your flying. If Miker is just testing his engine & ignition system, he can at least see what does NOT work on the ground. He may not have the proper fuel line for pulse connector on hand now. But by doing what I said he can at least continue testing on ground ...same as a test stand. Miker...take our advise an do not fly untill all the tips others gave you are taken care of. Have a helper when you fly that can land a airplane with a dead engine. I always flew every drop out of my airplanes in the old days and would glide in. It is good pratice...in case you have a dead engine. By the way, you will find out there are many things that can go bad all of a sudden...that is the odds!!! Good luck and let us know if you run into any trouble. Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 07:53 AM
  #141
miker42
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

I didn't mean to cause all that about the line, I just put that line on to try the engine out, all the lines will be new when it goes in the plane
miker42 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:34 AM
  #142
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,873
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

Miker42, you did not cause all the replys about the pluse line, Oh and the ignition. We was just helping at the moment. It looks like to me with just a few postings you have made that you are doing very well and can already post photos (something a lot of people cannot do) so to me you are above average for a new person doing some pretty good research & testing already. Keep up the good work...and you did not cause a fuss at all. It was clear who caused any fuss. Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:24 AM
  #143
av8tor1977
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 6,937
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

Sure was...

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 08:39 AM
  #144
borna
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 197
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

I can see some interesting pictures and lots of posting. I haven't worked on GMS yet since I'm busy building a model engine from scratch which is taking away my interest away from GMS engine. But that doesn't mean I'm not going to work on it.

Captin, I don't have a picture of the broken ring and I have already replaced it with the new ring. However no damage to any thing when the ring broke. As you said I guess I was lucky

Miker, are you using needle bearing for the connecting rod? Have you tested the engine yet?

Borna
borna is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 03:52 PM
  #145
miker42
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

Hi
No I did not change the bearing , I have ran the engine but I am waiting on a plane I have order.
I will post when I get it in the air with some pixs
Thanks Miker
miker42 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 03:57 PM
  #146
miker42
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

Thanks Capt,n
I called ch ignition and they sent me the cap I needed and I have instaled and it works grate
Thanks Miker
miker42 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 06:30 PM
  #147
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,873
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

miker42, when helping others, one is in turn helping yourself! I am glad the ignition is working good. The CH guys are good for exact ignition parts one may need. Best Regards Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 10:26 PM
  #148
rjfon1
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: diamond creek, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

Good Morning all from Australia.
I have been reading alot of threads regarding conversions, but wanted something smaller.
Back in 2007, Jezmo you stated that you were running a SuperTigre 51 on gas and it runs very well.
For me this would be the ideal setup, ie: small, inexpensive, hopefully easy to run. Just wondering what your setup was?
I was thinking of the following:
SuperTigre51 or ASP52 running a mix of 5:1 for breakin, and 10:1 after, and not changing the bearings initially.
the RCexcl ignition found at
http://www.dlenginesaustralia.com/dl...&productId=125

Questions:
Did you just keep the bushes?

What do you think about the walbro wt-644 carby for this, or was the standard carb OK?

If you went to pin bearings, what size, and what fuel mix did you go?

What angle did you set the ignition? (I was thinking about 28BTDC-This ignition has auto retard advance which helps with starting)

Thanks in advance for any replies
Rob Fonhof
Melbourne Australia.
rjfon1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 02:46 AM
  #149
PlaneKrazee
 
PlaneKrazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Gales Ferry, CT
Posts: 4,876
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Convert GMS 120 glow to Gas

How well does that 160 fx run on gas? RPM ?
PlaneKrazee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:42 PM.