Notices
Engine Conversions Discuss all aspects of engine conversions in this forum

Stihl weedie, what size is it?

Old 04-16-2003, 02:00 AM
rc4j
My Feedback: (103)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stihl weedie, what size is it?

I just saved a used weedie my brother in law was getting ready to trash. Just curious if anyone could tell me what size it is, and if it could be converted for rc. I'm new to conversions, and I'd like to try it out. It's a Stihl FS48 trimmer. I took it apart today and cleaned it up, went ahead and trimmed off most of the extra metal that wasn't needed. I found some numbers on the side of the cylinder that may mean something to someone. M540 and H18 . It sort of resembles the head on a G23, except it's only held by 2 screws instead of 4. It has a walbro carb that also says Stihl, and some numbers WT 45A D8 .
Also, the pull start rotates the engine clockwise when viewed from the front. Is this a problem, or can it run ccw just as well?
Any advise is appreciated!

Jai
Old 04-16-2003, 02:48 AM
rc4j

Default picture

Oh, I forgot to mention it has 2 piston rings. Here's a pic.

Old 04-16-2003, 05:55 PM
jwv3
My Feedback: (1)

Stihl's website doesn't list that one, but most current models are 25 to 30cc. You can take some measurements of bore and stroke and calculate it.
Old 04-16-2003, 09:44 PM
Flypaper 2

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

My older weedwacker book doesn't show that model. the lowest it goes is FS 50 which is 16cc and Komatsu motor in a Stihl weedwacker.
Old 04-16-2003, 11:57 PM
ZAGNUT

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

what is that little black box on the end of the wire? some older transistor ignitions had a separate pickup and ignition box, if thats what this is it should be grounded. you might be able to retime and run ccw but your best bet is battery ignition. the current fs-45 is 27.2cc but there doesn't seem to be any correlation between model number and dsplacement.

dave
Old 04-17-2003, 02:09 AM
rc4j

Default It runs!