Engine Conversions Discuss all aspects of engine conversions in this forum

GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

Reply
Old 02-04-2011, 03:26 PM
  #301
av8tor1977
Thread Starter
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,099
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

No problem. I totally understand!

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 03:10 PM
  #302
dadandlad
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

So if you wanted to you could start the engine and run it in reverse with no adverse effect with it being piston ported.

Also with the magneto/fan removed do you need a flywheel to aid tickover

Can anyone also provide me with details of a marine flywheel i:e the starter belt groove,as you may have summised my engine is going to be fitted in a boat

Cheers Mark
dadandlad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 03:45 PM
  #303
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,535
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

I don't remember what engine you have but the grooved flywheels are available for the Zenoah marine engines. You may could use one on your engine?

http://www.davesmotors.com/s.nl/c.88...t.A/id.1359/.f

These are designed to use with a Vee Belt and a Sullivan starter. The belt after starting the engine lays about the pully/shaft but remains dormant.

w8ye is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 06:38 AM
  #304
av8tor1977
Thread Starter
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,099
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

The only problem one encounters with running them reversed is that the flywheel nut is usually normal right hand thread. When we use them in an airplane with a propeller, the nut will often come loose when running reversed. The power pulses act like an air hammer, loosening the nut.

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 01:38 PM
  #305
the Wasp
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 1,989
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

av8tor1977

what about E85/,, my friend ask me about Mixing 2 Parts E85 and 1 Part straight Methanol for a Super Tartan 44cc Twin (still a lot of these Twins out there)

these Super Tartan Engines have a 11:1 Compression Ratio and I'm wondering if the Ethanol will Pre-ignite ??

Jim
the Wasp is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 05:18 PM
  #306
av8tor1977
Thread Starter
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,099
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

I tried E-85 when we started this whole Gas/Glow thing, and didn't have much luck with it. It is methanol that causes the catalytic reaction that keeps the glow plug lit, and E-85 is ethanol. Didn't work well for me.

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 09:31 PM
  #307
aero nut
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: tijuanaBaja California, MEXICO
Posts: 513
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

Hi Robert!!! but they are going to replace the gasoline with E85 and use 1/3 METHANOL I think it should work, I used straight E85 with plug always lit it worked but les RPM then Gas/Glow.
aero nut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 12:35 AM
  #308
WILLIAMSPC
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 15
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

Dose anyone know where i can get a hub replacement for the flywheel and prop adapter for a sthil 26cc. it has a tapered shaft that is keyed
Thanks
Mike
WILLIAMSPC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 01:01 AM
  #309
fujiman
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Keizer, OR
Posts: 557
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

hi mike, PM me or reach me at hyperdude64@yahoo.com i can help you out.
fujiman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 06:13 PM
  #310
WILLIAMSPC
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 15
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

Thank you fujiman I sent you an email
Mike
WILLIAMSPC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 12:16 PM
  #311
Beechbum
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: some where, CA
Posts: 254
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

I got an adapter from fujiman. Good stuff!
I'm trying to find methanol locally. The best I can do is 117 bucks for five gallons at a chemical supply house. Anyone have good luck with HEET?
Beechbum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 01:05 PM
  #312
spaceworm
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Guilford, CT
Posts: 3,931
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

I get mine form a local speed shop for $5.00 a gallon in my jug. It has a small amount of undefined oil, I guess to keep cylinders of engines from rusting. I mix it with Klotz Tecniplate syn plus castor for FAI fuel for my ASP hi comp engines. Works great.

Try speed shops or motorcycle or go kart racing shops or tracks or drag strips.

Sincerely, Richard
spaceworm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 07:05 AM
  #313
Beechbum
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: some where, CA
Posts: 254
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

Local speed shop wants 160 a barrel.
Back in the day I used to work at an automotive machine shop. I swung by and talked to the owner and he hooked me up with a local nostalgia drag racer. He is gonna spot me a few gallons to see if I can get this to work. As soon as I get a test stand built up I'll give it a go. Maybe this weekend.
Edit to add:
I forgot to ask about how much residue is in the exhaust for this mix?
Beechbum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 07:51 AM
  #314
spaceworm
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Guilford, CT
Posts: 3,931
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

The residue would be the same as for the equalivalent percent of oil you have been using. I like and use a mix of syn and castor to a total of 20% oil for my hi compression 2 stroke glow engines. All synthetic or lower oil % will reduce the castor accumulation on the airframe. To me, a wipe down after flight is worth it to keep my engines happy. [8D]

You may be able to get nitro from your nostalgia drag race contact, bur I am trying to loose the use of nitro myself.

I am going to try the speed shop methanol on a gas-glow 16 cc Echo 2 stroke gas engine to see if I can use no nito for that also. I will mix the methanol 1 part to 2 or 3 of gasoline and add Pennzoil air cooled 2 stroke oil to a 1 to 32 mix. If glow plug ON for either just for start, or full time, doesn't work, I may reveret to the tried and true gas-glow fuel or go to ECDI and just gasoline.

Good luck with your projects. Keep us informed.

Sincerely, Richard
spaceworm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 09:12 AM
  #315
av8tor1977
Thread Starter
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,099
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

Using the normal Gas/Glow mix, the oil content comes out to about 32:1. I don't see any more residue on the airplanes than I do with regular gasoline setups, which is to say almost nothing...

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 08:37 AM
  #316
Beechbum
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: some where, CA
Posts: 254
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

Thanks.
Does a normal gas fuel tank and fuel lines work, or are you using something else? It's been a while since I read thru the thread and can't remember if that was mentioned or not.
Beechbum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 10:26 AM
  #317
av8tor1977
Thread Starter
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,099
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

I use the same tank, stopper, and fuel lines I would use for a normal gasoline setup, which is to say Tygon and/or Viton.

I do use a special "Storage Fuel" however. You can look that up with a search here in the forum. I use this with BOTH my gasoline and Gas/Glow setups. I drain the normal flying fuel out, whichever type it is, and then fill the tank about half full with my Storage Fuel which is Coleman fuel mixed at 20 to 1 with Pennzoil for Air Cooled engines and a small amount of STA-BIL fuel conditioner/stabilizer. I then run the engine at varying throttle settings for a bit and then choke it to kill it. (You will probably need the glow power on for doing this.) Then leave the fuel in the tank until the next time you are ready to fly. Then remove it, fill up with Gas/Glow, and you are ready to go.

I was having serious carb problems in as little as six weeks time on my regular gasoline planes. My Storage Fuel idea virtually stopped this problem, and I now do it on all my planes, whether they are Gas/Glow or regular gasoline setups.

Note that I do not recommend flying with Coleman fuel in any case. Yes, I know that some people do so, but I still do not recommend it.

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 12:34 PM
  #318
Beechbum
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: some where, CA
Posts: 254
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

Sounds like a good idea. If I don't go out of town on Saturday I'm going to give it a whirl.
Beechbum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 12:58 PM
  #319
Flight Risk
 
Flight Risk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Rocky Flats, CO
Posts: 689
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

Don't forget that if you use a fuel pump, it needs to be compatible with gas also.

RS
Flight Risk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 08:33 PM
  #320
Beechbum
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: some where, CA
Posts: 254
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

Well I didn't get to run it, but I did get the carb to finally draw fuel. Its brand new and just wouldn't pull anything out of the tank. Spent all my free time getting it to work, and by time it did it was dark outside. I'll give it a shot Tuesday. The bad part is I don't even know what I did to get it to go!
Beechbum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 10:19 PM
  #321
fujiman
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Keizer, OR
Posts: 557
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

hi richard, the needle may have been stuck. sometimes it takes a while for the carb. to prime up and purge out the air. that's why some chain saws and other yard equip. engs./fuel systems use those primer bulbs on the carb. or in the inlet fuel line. hope that helps. let me know how the adapter i made you, worked out for you too.
fujiman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 10:33 PM
  #322
av8tor1977
Thread Starter
 
av8tor1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,099
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

Yeah, dry carbs can be a pain sometimes. When I am setting up an engine, I almost always pull the carb apart to check it, even if it is new. Besides checking to be sure the needle isn't stuck, upon reassembly, I flood each section of the carb with WD-40. Then the carb always draws fuel immediately. It is only 5 screws and a few minutes time to do this, and it can save an hour of frustration if you end up having problems.

AV8TOR
av8tor1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 10:45 PM
  #323
fujiman
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Keizer, OR
Posts: 557
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

a ''LITTLE'' prime down the throat of carb. works also. with eng running it operates the pump faster than just hand proping.
fujiman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 06:09 AM
  #324
Beechbum
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: some where, CA
Posts: 254
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

Fujiman, I really like the plug adapter. It's a nice piece of work.
Yeah to all the above. I think the problem was in the diaphragm. After I got it out and wet it up with a little fuel things began to move.
I'm like a kid at Christmas, can't wait to fire it up.
Beechbum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 09:25 AM
  #325
fujiman
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Keizer, OR
Posts: 557
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

thanks a bunch beechbum!!!!!!! you guys keep pitch'n this gas to glow thang i just mite have to turn one of these adapters and give'r a go. HHHHHHMMMMMMM!!!!!!!! no mag., no expensive ign. system, no fus'n with timing, lighter eng. weight, a tad more power!!!!!!! i'm sold, out to the lathe and i be cutt'n me own. let's see 1 part glow fuel (10/10%), 2 parts pre'mo gasoline, a touch of Heet and acetone just for luck, my, my, even the fuel should be cheaper, even with $5.00 + a gal. gas!!!!!!!
fujiman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:57 PM.