Notices
Engine Conversions Discuss all aspects of engine conversions in this forum

Clueless in J Ville

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2009, 08:59 PM
balsa brain

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clueless in J Ville

I am brand new to this conversion thing and despite reading most of the threads I have not seen how to completely take one of these engines apart. I have a Ryobi 31cc and a Poulan 32cc that I took out of trimmers that had other problems and was not worth the effort or money to make right. I have both of these engines broke down but can not figure out how to get the crankshafts out so I can do a bearing replacement after a anti freeze bath in a crock pot. I am sure this is something that is simple but is something that I have never done. I would appreciate it if anyone would chime in here and let me know how this is done. I am basically dumber than a can of rocks on this one. Thanks in advance.

Bill
Old 09-11-2009, 09:17 PM
Flathead
My Feedback: (11)

Default RE: Clueless in J Ville

Well, a press is always handy for the removal of cranks, but not everyone has a press lying around just in case. To overcome this failure on my part, I have had success with the following. Place the nut on the end or the crankshaft to keep from battering up the threads, Place the crankcase on a firm surface (I use a flat piece of heavy iron) usually I put a thin piece of hard wood between the iron and the crankcase, and using a rather heavy hammer drive the crankshaft out. Thisd has worked for me, "CAUTION" Keep your fingers out of the way. It helps to keep the neighbors from hearing your ability to cuss while the blood blisters grow. Flathead 4
Old 09-11-2009, 10:12 PM
Ralphbf
My Feedback: (27)

ORIGINAL: Flathead