RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Engine Conversions (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/engine-conversions-92/)
-   -   GAS/GLOW HOW TO.... (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/engine-conversions-92/8009384-gas-glow-how.html)

Joespeeder 10-06-2011 12:14 PM

RE: GAS/GLOW HOW TO....

Hey Guys,

I'm a total newbie to gas let alone Gas/Glow.

Would the DLE-20 be a good candidate for this conversion?

Any video, insights or thoughts about the DLE-20 on the Gas/Glow mix would be a great help.

Joe

av8tor1977 10-06-2011 01:41 PM

Hi,

Nobody has reported in about using DLE engines on Gas/Glow, though I am sure they would work fine.

I might suggest though, that being a total "newbie" to gas engines, that you get a little used to gasoline engines before jumping into Gas/Glow. Gas/Glow isn't difficult, but I think one should have some gas engine experience before setting up a Gas/Glow engine. They are a touch more sensitive to improper carb mixtures, they can start backwards sometimes.... go gas first.

AV8TOR

Joespeeder 10-06-2011 03:18 PM

Thanks av8tor1977,

Thanks, sound advise indeed. I have 2 new engines (one of them the DLE-20)waiting to convert current planes from electric and 2 new planes that will be getting gas engines during this winters build season. I've really enjoyed electrics but I'm REALLY geeked to get the long flight times gas will allow.

I have the support of some good engine guys at our club and will check in here in the forums as I learn.

Keep up the great work here.

Joe

spitncobra 10-06-2011 05:57 PM

AV8TOR super sound advice .I have read many of your posts and your always right on the nose.Nothing like experience
enjoy your DLE great engine.Have a great daY everyone........Ricospitncobra

av8tor1977 10-06-2011 07:23 PM

Thank you! I just try to help....

AV8TOR

philbaker 10-21-2011 06:56 PM

Is it possible to run four stroke glow engines eg. OS 120FS on this gas/glow mixture?

av8tor1977 10-21-2011 08:04 PM