Esky Helicopters Discuss the line of Esky electric helis in here including the Honey Bee, Lama, Belt CP, etc

E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

Reply

Old 10-13-2004, 03:25 AM
  #76  
pui30576
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: HongKongHongKong, HONG KONG
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

the 3d switch is idle mode switch
function is lock the rpm of the rotor head
so it can play 3D flying

rcgroups have more information about this bird
pui30576 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2004, 05:30 PM
  #77  
radamansx12
Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Evans, GA
Posts: 96
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

I'm new to heli's and looking for my first one. I was sold on the shogun 400 until I saw the honeybee2 3d.
How does the honeybee2 handle outside? Which one should I go with? Thanks
radamansx12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2004, 07:06 PM
  #78  
mz123
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: , AFGHANISTAN
Posts: 65
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

ah, this movie is nice,
one can see that you have not gain enough expirience to know how to hold the heli stable.
it will come in time.

you should really put a training cross under the heli cause it wont take long before your landings will damage the heli and it can be prevented using the cross.

cheers!
mz123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2004, 08:35 PM
  #79  
R-Rudder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: , CA
Posts: 131
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

$35 for shipping within the US is way too much.
R-Rudder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 12:21 PM
  #80  
rcxm
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Temple cityCA - California
Posts: 88
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

i have checked www.xmseller.com $35 is from factory to U price. but they had US service center.
i think that is best deal .
rcxm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 12:02 PM
  #81  
Pops Racer
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

Guys;

I have the 'Sabre' (EXACTLY same as Honeybee) and am wondering if anyone has found a way to get a quality TX to work with the stock 4-n-1 electronics?

The stock TX is very cheesy, with "dead" spots in the sticks and I would like to use a quality transmitter for better control. I've tried my Hitec Flash-5 and an Eclipse-7 (set to + & - shifts), but neither work at all. My xtals say FM-72.790.

Really don't want to go the complete seperates route right now if at all possible.

Thanks,
Steven (Pops)
Pops Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 01:22 PM
  #82  
mori
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: linwood, NJ
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

I have a question since i'm new to this and want get a hummingbird is what model to get i've seen were they have the 3d,outdoor,and basic one. The price difference isn't a big deal, but i don't want to later say i wish i had spent the money for the other model. So if you guys could help me i'd appreciate it.
mori is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 01:54 AM
  #83  
HEDIN
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Borlänge, SWEDEN
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

Hi!
I have the HoneyBee2 CP heli and I'm having some problems with it.
After a minor crash (the mainblades struck a wall) my heli doesnt fly as it did before.
At first when I got my new mainblades it wouldnt take off. I adjusted the mainblades angle
and got it to lift better. Later I found out that my swashplate was broken.
The upper plate wasnt fixed to the lower, wich I thougt it never had...
So I fixed it with glue and now it takes off like it should. But now it
takes off to left...dont know what to do... I have adjusted evereything I can
think of and I have searched for other broken parts but there is no.
What to do!!!???


// HEDIN
HEDIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 08:46 PM
  #84  
Pops Racer
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

Is there a one-way main gear from another brand of micro heli that will fit the Honeybee FP?

Thanks,
Steven
Pops Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 08:21 AM
  #85  
RCelectrichelinut
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: , NH
Posts: 70
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

[link=http://www.helihobby.com/html/skylark_upgrades.html]On this page [/link] there are a couple options for a oneway bearing on the honey bee.
RCelectrichelinut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 12:33 PM
  #86  
Pops Racer
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

RCelectrichelinut;

I've seen that one before, but there isn't specific information as to whether it may fit my machine. I guess that I could call them to be sure.

Guys;

I contacted both Global Hobbies and Hobby Lobby about Radio (TX) compatability with these RTF heli's.

Both responded negatively that it was either unknown or not possible without changing out the 4-n-1 to seperates. There MUST be someone, somewhere out there who has access to the scanning equipment to correctly identify the signals being sent by the stock TX. A decent TX would make this heli so much more enjoyable to fly.

Thanks,
Steven
Pops Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 05:30 PM
  #87  
kevinkelsey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Falcon, CO
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

I am using my own Futaba transmitter with a stock Honey Bee with the 3 in 1 unit - no problem. Just put the transmitter crystal from the E-sky transmitter in your Futaba transmitter.
kevinkelsey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 06:41 PM
  #88  
Pops Racer
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

My heli has a 4-n-1 unit (RX, ESC's, Mixer, Gyro). I've tried 2 different TX's on both shifts with matching crystals and no luck.

The cost of seperates would be more than what I paid for the entire RTF package. []
Pops Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2004, 12:37 AM
  #89  
camra88
Senior Member
 
camra88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Roseville, MN
Posts: 485
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

What does it mean with different shifts?
camra88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2004, 11:39 AM
  #90  
Pops Racer
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rialto, CA
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

Mods that made a difference

Just wanted to post a few simple mods that really made noticable differences.

1) Free up the swashplate and linkages. I stretched the ball links on the swashballs to make them move freely. Then used some dry type lubricant ('Ez-Glide' from Home Depot) to make things even smoother.

2) Added some large fuel tubing to the skids. This keeps the heli from sliding around on smooth surfaces.

3) Installed a 1/8" piece of medium fuel tubing on the mainshaft between the swashplate and rotorhead. This takes up any vertical play and makes for a noticibly more stable hover.

4) Broke-in the motors then lubed the bushings, checked and adjusted the gear meshes. My motors barely get warm after running out a batterypack.

The experience pilots probably already know this, but the noobs to micros (like myself) need all the help we can get.

Pops
Pops Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 04:54 PM
  #91  
Greg Covey
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Greg Covey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5,710
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

Pops,

Thanks for the tips!

I finally hovered my HoneyBee indoors a few weeks ago. Right afterward, I was so elated that I hovered with too much power up to ceiling and cut power back too fast. The heli hit just as I almost recovered but I broke the tail rotor blade. The need to change power level with pitch, forward or backward, is my current stumbling point.

I've been buying an extra part each time I break one so I keep ready to go. I have also been using the 2-cell Kokam 1200mAh Lithium pack held up front under the chassis with a rubber band. It seems to fly longer than I can.
Greg Covey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 10:05 AM
  #92  
CraigN
Senior Member
 
CraigN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: athertonatherton, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

Im intrested in the 1/8th fuel pipe you have put on your huneybee2 shaft, can you please post or mail a picture or just help in being a little more specific as to where you put it? Plus any more hints on getting this helicopter better to hover, at present im having to use about 3/4 throttle to lift of the ground and i read half throttle should do it i have somthing wrong some where???? Help!!!!
CraigN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 02:41 AM
  #93  
c4ble
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: manchester, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

i had same problem .the solution was the thr and rud needed to be in rev on the transmitter i dont know why but it works
c4ble is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 02:46 AM
  #94  
c4ble
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: manchester, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

i have same problem i have it nearly working but the ranges seem to interfere with eachother ..i set mine to virtual joystick mode then go into windows control panel select game controllers and configured there this got it working but the sticks are all over the place addition help would be welcome
c4ble is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 02:52 AM
  #95  
c4ble
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: manchester, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: E-Sky "Honey Bee" from Hobby Lobby

nice hovering there .I have a honey bee 2 and upgraded to a 3cell li po 1000mah its plenty powerfull enuff now but i cant fly it for toffee i have the wooden blades urs look practice i wonder if thats why urs hovers good and mine just goes all over the show. i have good as masterd hover and a good fly around in fms but i cant seem to steady the real thing
c4ble is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service