Esky Helicopters Discuss the line of Esky electric helis in here including the Honey Bee, Lama, Belt CP, etc

My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Reply
Old 11-03-2004, 04:50 AM
  #1
HEDIN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Borlänge, SWEDEN
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My HoneyBee2 wont take off

I need help!!!
I have a HoneyBee2 and it wont take off. It wont leave ground.
I recently got new mainblades couse the old broke.
After that it wont fly. I have found no damage on other parts
so it should be flying but it aint.
Full throttle but it doesnt lift a bit.
Can anyone help me to set it up so it will fly again!!!!???


// HEDIN
HEDIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 05:23 AM
  #2
stupes
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: brisbanequeensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

u may find u damaged your main electric motor when you crashed if you still had power to the motor when the blades hit. i have had this problem with tail totor motors
stupes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 05:46 AM
  #3
HEDIN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Borlänge, SWEDEN
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

It have lifted with less motorspeed (less than I can get out from it now) before.

// HEDIN
HEDIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 08:44 AM
  #4
*Crash*Johnson*
 
*Crash*Johnson*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Here, NJ
Posts: 1,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Are they on upside down?
*Crash*Johnson* is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 08:47 AM
  #5
HEDIN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Borlänge, SWEDEN
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Not upside down...


// HEDIN
HEDIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 01:01 PM
  #6
JohnY2004
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 292
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

This's only my guess and explanation. The new blades may have been improperly placed causing deformation of curverture of the blades. Most likely these blades are stacking together when they're in the warehouses. There's an air gap right underneath the blade. The ones on the bottom would get crushed.
JohnY2004 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 02:09 PM
  #7
quaker1
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 287
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Are they identicle blades? my guess is they may be made for a higher headspeed heli which means they wont have enough pitch for you.
quaker1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 06:54 PM
  #8
HEDIN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Borlänge, SWEDEN
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

They are identical.


// HEDIN
HEDIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 09:38 PM
  #9
racemiata
 
racemiata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 90
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Sometimes it's hard to check pitch on these small FP blades. If the new blades are identical to the old ones, and if possible, swap in one of the old blades (the one still intact) to run with one new blade. Check the blade tracking (with colored tapes on blades). You can see if the new one is indeed generating less lift that way.
racemiata is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 09:44 PM
  #10
racemiata
 
racemiata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 90
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Oh! Just noticed you mentioned honeybee2. Are you talking about the CP one? If so, sounds like your pitch curve could be ruined. I don't have experience with the CP honey bee so you'll have to find a way to check the actual pitch.
racemiata is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 01:39 AM
  #11
HEDIN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Borlänge, SWEDEN
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Ok. Does anyone know how to find out the actual pitch?
Im new with helis...can someone please explain pitchcurve and how it could
be ruined..? And what to do if its ruined.


// HEDIN
HEDIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 02:41 AM
  #12
HEDIN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Borlänge, SWEDEN
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

I think the max rpm might be slighty lower than it used to be but I'm not sure...but like I said
in an earlier post: it has taken off with less motor rpm than what I've tried with now.
With the throttle about 80% the red light turns on and after that it doesn't spin any faster
even though I give it 100%.
Going nuts...I want to fly!!!
Can it be the motor?... or the battery? or the TX? or just som adjustment with
angles or something...?


// HEDIN
HEDIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 03:33 AM
  #13
matteo_bz
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: bz, ITALY
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Quote:
ORIGINAL: HEDIN

I think the max rpm might be slighty lower than it used to be but I'm not sure...but like I said
in an earlier post: it has taken off with less motor rpm than what I've tried with now.
With the throttle about 80% the red light turns on and after that it doesn't spin any faster
even though I give it 100%.
Going nuts...I want to fly!!!
Can it be the motor?... or the battery? or the TX? or just som adjustment with
angles or something...?


// HEDIN
I have the same problem as you with the same heli. But mine is new and has never taken off.
I suppose is the battery so i have ordered a new one and a new charger and i'm waiting of
them.

Please if you solve the problem let me know.

Bye,

Matteo
matteo_bz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 09:34 AM
  #14
HEDIN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Borlänge, SWEDEN
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Not sure its your battery.
Mine is almost new too. The first fligth I had to try turn the mainblades a couple of times
before it lifted. I turned the mainblades in what I thougt was the right angle
and then I tried. It flew. Next time I tried I had to do the same thing.
If you give it about 60% (so you can move it from left to right) throttle and then move it from
left to right on the ground you can get air under the blades and have a liftoff.
But be careful so you dont turn too much to the sides 'cause it will not respond directly.
I mean so you dont "turn" left or right fully on you tx and then after a few seconds it
will respond and go off to the side very fast.
When I managed to do so and got some air under the blades and it lifted I put it down and started "flying" normally (didnt have to
go from side to side to make it lift, just give it throttle and it flew).
But when I tried the next day I had to do the same thing over again.


// HEDIN
HEDIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 09:42 AM
  #15
matteo_bz
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: bz, ITALY
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Thanks HEDIN,
Umm.. tonight i try to make the same things, i hope to see a take off of my heli...

But it's really strange, it must be a reason... [>:]


Matteo
matteo_bz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 07:33 PM
  #16
Raznek
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 15
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Hi i dont know if this will help but mine did the same thing at first it would leave the ground at about 75% throttle and the next day i got it out with bat fully charged and it wouldnt leave the ground i was like ok ***. lol anyways i pushed down on the rotor head and it would spring back when i would push it down and then i tried it and it took off as normal. So i dont know if something was bound up in the rotor head assembly. I am new to this hobby so if this doesnt help then you will know why. lol later all
Raznek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 05:39 AM
  #17
HEDIN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Borlänge, SWEDEN
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

HI!
I tried to adjust the pitch and now it takes off. But Im not sure that it its enough...I havent tried to take it up so high and I dont know if it would if I tried. Im in the hoovering stadium... . And now it not that stabil as it was before....will try to adjust other parts
and see if it flies like I want it to fly.
More tips would be apreciated.

// HEDIN
HEDIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 02:40 PM
  #18
Ozydego
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Westerville, OH
Posts: 172
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Some things I do when my heli doesn't respond right is to take the main rotor head back apart... all the way and put it back together again referring to the manual. I have had things happen where a piece of tubing acting as a shock absorber for the pitch screws were put on backwards, taking it apart again, I fixed it just going through again. Plus if u can't fly, u might as well tinker... hehe
Ozydego is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 04:24 PM
  #19
HEDIN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Borlänge, SWEDEN
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Ozydego--> Do you have the HoneyBee2?
I bought it ready to fly so I dont have a manual that tells me how to put it together...
does anyone have...? I would love to have it...
Anyone?

// HEDIN
HEDIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 04:28 PM
  #20
HEDIN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Borlänge, SWEDEN
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Matteo_bz--> I think I know one more thing you should take a look at.
The upper swashplate on my heli had loosen from the lower swashplate.
I've been told that the upper one should stick with the lower... I think my
upper swash always been loose from the lower but I'm not sure.
I'm trying to fix it myself but if I fail I will buy a new swashplate.

// HEDIN
HEDIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 10:13 AM
  #21
Ozydego
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Westerville, OH
Posts: 172
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

I don't own a honeybee, mines a piccolo Pro, I was looking for a manual for your heli, can't find one, but if I come across a digital one, I'll let u know...
Ozydego is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 01:19 AM
  #22
HEDIN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Borlänge, SWEDEN
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Thanx!

// HEDIN
HEDIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2004, 11:30 AM
  #23
pileit
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: ocala, FL
Posts: 72
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

Same prob on my hb2. found swashplate separated (its supposed to be a press fit together) a drop of ca on the inner race of bearing and press together fixed. Remeber all 3 servos have to pull plate down together when throttle up gives positive pitch, To much play when separated.
pileit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2004, 11:30 PM
  #24
richar18
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: flint, MI
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

I had the same swashplate problem with my HB 2. I have not glued it as of yet, because I wasnt sure that I should. That swashplate design is horrible, though... the fit was so loose that a layer of bearing oil has developed on the boss that was supposed to be press fit; this boss slips in and out of the bearing like it is riding in a bushing! ***? the engineers really missed something with the tolerancing on this one.

One more thing - has anyone had a problem with the esc light not turning green a few seconds after the battery is connected? I just started having that problem. The light just turns solid red, and neither motor has power - even though the battery is fully charged. Anyone?

-Brandon-
richar18 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2004, 12:18 AM
  #25
pileit
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: ocala, FL
Posts: 72
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My HoneyBee2 wont take off

make sure throttle AND throttle trim are full off,sometmes u change the trim and dont notice.wonder if any of dim fancy cnc alum swash plates would fit hb2 anyone?
pileit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:19 AM.