Esky Helicopters Discuss the line of Esky electric helis in here including the Honey Bee, Lama, Belt CP, etc

Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Old 04-09-2009, 03:40 AM
  #6001
nuttcaze
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Johnson City, NY
Posts: 1,583
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

anyone interested [sm=wink_smile.gif]

http://myrcguidesforum.forumotion.ne...y-t204.htm#891

nuttcaze is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 04:35 PM
  #6002
ArrowNaughtic
 
ArrowNaughtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,994
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

A blatant for sale ad........ reported!


__________________________________________________ ___________________________________


Of all the things I ever lost....................................... I miss my mind the most!
ArrowNaughtic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 12:09 AM
  #6003
goofyfoot
 
goofyfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 60
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Hey Rsuty,

I also apologize for the late reply and appreciate you getting back to me. I have been trying to get in some wave time as we are coming up on this year's surfing competitions.

Your offer for the radio sounds great. But, what I think I will do is put the HBK II on the shelf for a while. I am thinking that with all of the upgrades I have in it that perhaps I should wait and see what happens to the radio/receiver prices. None of my 72 birds will work any longer as there is some major interference close by. I think it may be a nearby fire station that has installed some new equipment after two recent fires, not sure.

I have a CX2, 2.4 that will fly with zero insults to the controls, very nice to get back to that situation. The challenge is of course not as great.

I will definitely be back on this thread and very much appreciate your input and offer. Hope all of you are experiencing some soft air.
Harry
goofyfoot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 11:13 AM
  #6004
reel109
 
reel109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 290
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Everyone seen this?

http://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/prerel/prhtml09/09179.html
reel109 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 01:52 PM
  #6005
sly the dogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: longueuil, QC, CANADA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

hey,
I have been advised to change the motor and speed control on my HBK2
(in the mail somewhere). I'm at nitr/planes site.
Combo: 3100rpm brushless+speed contr. 25A for 39.95 or
Volcano 25A speed contr, for the brush/motor can figure it out.
Or if you know a place other than the one mentioned.
Would be thankfull.
sly.
sly the dogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 04:01 PM
  #6006
sly the dogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: longueuil, QC, CANADA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

hi,
this is what I found: brush/motor-ESKY 3900
hobbywing speed/contr, witch of these is more adequate
Pentium-30A or 25A.

Feedback please.
sly.
sly the dogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 05:47 PM
  #6007
joizeex
 
joizeex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maple Shade, NJ
Posts: 712
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

25A is adequate for that 3900kv motor, but most folks on here like to have 30A controllers. if you can spend a few more bucks on it, then go ahead. there are other choices for good motors too, like the danlions.
joizeex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 07:53 PM
  #6008
warpnine
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 443
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop


Quote:
ORIGINAL: sly the dogman

hi,
this is what I found: brush/motor-ESKY 3900
hobbywing speed/contr, witch of these is more adequate
Pentium-30A or 25A.

Feedback please.
sly.
I agree - I run the Esky 3900kv with the HobbyWing Pentium 25A without any issues...

Cheers,
Dave
warpnine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 08:32 PM
  #6009
sly the dogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: longueuil, QC, CANADA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop


now I got 2 places I go to and their both out, both items,(esky) bummer.
any references you might have.
later...
thanks
sly.
sly the dogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 07:14 PM
  #6010
sly the dogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: longueuil, QC, CANADA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

hi,
what pinion other than a 10T might do a good job with a brushless 3900 for a HBK2,
also have a esc Pentium 25A.
Sly.
sly the dogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 08:29 PM
  #6011
sly the dogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: longueuil, QC, CANADA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Sly here, ya again,

I've been reading your threads(HBK2), started from # 1 to whatever, for about
3/4 of an hour. Man, every thing seems to break or has to be changed on these birds.
Are todays models better than a year or so, can you say they have evolved their
technology. I like this bobby a lot now, I hope I learn to love it later.
It's scary, man

good day.
Sly.
sly the dogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 08:41 PM
  #6012
osterizer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sykesville, MD
Posts: 1,734
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

The 10T is probably best for the 3900 based on the numbers.

Sure, stuff breaks on helicopters. It that's a problem, there's the door . The King is ok stock, but for the motor and ESC. Other things can be improved on (of course- the gyro for example), but whether any of them are necessary is an individual decision. Of course, because you didn't buy a $100 heli and get $600 in electronics with it. But it's a good heli just the same, and you don't have to go hog-wild replacing things.
osterizer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 05:53 AM
  #6013
sly the dogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: longueuil, QC, CANADA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

hi Osteryzer,
Now those are the words I like to hear, kool.
As for taking the door, I'm at the far side of the room,
and I don't intent to leave.
Sly.
sly the dogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 09:00 AM
  #6014
GTX SlotCar
 
GTX SlotCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gorham, ME
Posts: 2,585
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Sly, I changed the stock motor and esc to an Esky 3100 and Esky brushless esc. I used the 3100 because it has all the power I need and doesn't need frame weakening modifications to install (neither does the 3900). I also put on a telebee HH gyro. I added superskids400 landing gear ($15) and a superskids SBT400 (super battery tray - $5) because it lets me move the battery around for a better fore/aft balance. The fore/aft balance problem is common to most r/c helis.
I've never had the need to modify the tail assembly, or the belt gearing, or the frame near the motor. I never had problems in any of those areas. My HBK2 flew great when I set it up, and 1 1/2 years later, it's still flying great. I lube it a little now and then, and charge the battery. That's all. It's been a good flying, trouble free heli.
GTX SlotCar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 09:50 AM
  #6015
reel109
 
reel109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 290
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Hi,
What lube do you guys use on their heli?
Jim
reel109 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 11:29 AM
  #6016
osterizer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sykesville, MD
Posts: 1,734
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop


Hehe, well, the more the merrier .

Tri Flow oil is a good general purpose, PTFE based oil for helis. I'm on the lookout for a good dry PTFE but haven't found one that I like yet.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: sly the dogman

hi Osteryzer,
Now those are the words I like to hear, kool.
As for taking the door, I'm at the far side of the room,
and I don't intent to leave.
Sly.
osterizer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 11:52 AM
  #6017
GTX SlotCar
 
GTX SlotCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gorham, ME
Posts: 2,585
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

As I recall, slickzero.com has a lot of lube stuff and are quite knowledgeable. I'd ask what they recommend. I've been using light machine oil like 3in1 and stuff from my old slotcar racing days that I can't even remember the name of now, but there's probably better stuff. I've also used Tri Flow and One Lube.
GTX SlotCar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 12:07 PM
  #6018
osterizer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sykesville, MD
Posts: 1,734
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

That looks like a decent shop, but I only saw four lubricant products?

Dry lubes I was thinking of are the kind of thing I use on bikes, the point being to have a good lubricant but not collect dust and dirt.
osterizer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 06:31 PM
  #6019
Kelownan
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nelson, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Hi there mate, ive been using CRC silicon lube, its the spray outa the can stuff, Not sure if you have CRC over in the US but hey...
Kelownan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 08:33 PM
  #6020
sly the dogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: longueuil, QC, CANADA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

question:

can you tell me where I lube the heli ? What parts ?
sly.
Quote:
ORIGINAL: Kelownan

Hi there mate, ive been using CRC silicon lube, its the spray outa the can stuff, Not sure if you have CRC over in the US but hey...

sly the dogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 06:21 PM
  #6021
joizeex
 
joizeex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maple Shade, NJ
Posts: 712
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

the big swashplate bearing and swashplate pillow ball, the 2 mainshaft bearings, the mainshaft where the washout assembly slides up and down on, the tail box and slider bearings and tail shaft where the slider is. all those areas are always spinning at high speed. don't put too much oil and wipe any excess.

i was wondering, does anyone else have a problem with side-in hover when the nose points to the right? i can do it fairly well with nose pointing to the left, but when i have it the other way, all hell breaks loose. the 25-30mph wind these few days didn't help either. i think i naturally feel more comfortable with my helis pointing to the left. i even have all my rc's sitting in my room all pointing to the left.
joizeex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 06:26 PM
  #6022
osterizer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sykesville, MD
Posts: 1,734
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

It was a long time after I could easily do all other orientations before I could do right-side in without looking like a n00b. A lot of us have a particular orientation that seems (for whatever reason) more difficult than the others.
osterizer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 07:25 PM
  #6023
chris1379
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 463
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jasbabe

hi, i'm just curious. what type of crystal did you use on your HBK receiver (single or dual conversion; futaba brand rx crytal?) to make it work with your futaba tx? thanks.
I have the green HBK2 Rx in a Slowstick with a Futaba transmitter. Use the MFR's crystal for the Tx and GWS single conversion crystals in the Esky Rx. I think [link=http://www.bphobbies.com/view.asp?id=V243551]THESE[/link] are the ones but I'm not 100% sure. You can also buy the Esky crystals from Esky dealers or Ebay.

Chris
chris1379 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 12:10 AM
  #6024
Kelownan
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nelson, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

is it a good idea to schlap in my dx6 and ar6000 when i add a HH gyro, or can i just use the stock radio?
it would proberbly make the mixing easier right?
Kelownan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 09:38 AM
  #6025
George1234
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Kelownan

is it a good idea to schlap in my dx6 and ar6000 when i add a HH gyro, or can i just use the stock radio?
it would proberbly make the mixing easier right?

It's always good to convert to a computer radio for pitch and throttle curves, throttle hold, remote gyro adjust etc.

George
George1234 is offline  
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:43 AM.