Esky Helicopters Discuss the line of Esky electric helis in here including the Honey Bee, Lama, Belt CP, etc

Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Reply
Old 07-11-2009, 04:01 AM
  #6176
Kelownan
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nelson, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

first stage of the mold
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Om33510.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	113.6 KB
ID:	1233746  
Kelownan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 06:20 AM
  #6177
joeyhatch11
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burlington, NJ
Posts: 2,277
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Looks good so far with that canopy build. Keep posting pics as you go a long. And good luck
joeyhatch11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 08:08 PM
  #6178
Tommyjoking
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Beebe, AR
Posts: 255
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Kelownan Nice man post some pics when you get one done, like to see it. I thought about trying that with vacuum molding some Kydex at work but I am too busy with my bike project in my spare time.

Well since I had quite a few stock esky belts I decided to try an HBK3 pulley since it was only $4. After lengthening the slot on the tail boom about 1/8" it fit right in there. Added some trex tail blades in dayglo orange per joizeex suggestion and it holds MUCH better....if I had a better/faster servo on the tail it would probably be ideal.

Joey Since I am due for new set of batts for my king I think I will give your find a try, they seem fairly light for the size. My last ebay/chinese batts far out performed both my esky and the zippys I have tried, especially in longevity. I think going with higher c ratings sure won't hurt either. thx for the link!
Tommyjoking is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 05:18 AM
  #6179
joeyhatch11
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burlington, NJ
Posts: 2,277
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Not a problem, you'll love those batteries. I just ordered 2 more hahaha
joeyhatch11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 11:45 PM
  #6180
joizeex
 
joizeex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maple Shade, NJ
Posts: 712
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

can anyone recommend an el cheapo optical tach? i usually don't tune the heli by headspeed, just by how much response i need from it, but i would like to know what speeds i'm dealing with, for when i change my tuning. i've seen a bunch of them around, but since it won't be something i'll use a lot, i don't wanna spend a lot.
this one any good? http://www.helihobby.com/gb/h/hcap04...achometer.html
joizeex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 11:15 PM
  #6181
osterizer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sykesville, MD
Posts: 1,734
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

I have this one (http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXPX81&P=ML). Same concept as the one you pointed out, but it's been working for years. I think it's still on the original set of batteries, too .

You might think about the prismatic ones, though. The one I have (and that you pointed out) are more intended for fixed wing aircraft to check the prop speed. They work for helis on the ground, but if you get into bigger ones, it's a little nerve wracking to get it in a position to measure the blades (large heli, blades at flight speed... don't want to come in contact with that). The prismatic ("optical") tachs like the Skytach are more expensive, but arguably safer.
osterizer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 06:26 PM
  #6182
joizeex
 
joizeex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maple Shade, NJ
Posts: 712
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

oh yea, i've seen the optical ones for like $100+. the concept of matching the spinning disk speed to the rpm's is pretty neat. i think i'll just have a friend stand with the hobbico one and stretch out their arm lol.

no, but in seriousness, i held my HBK in my hand before at hoverspeed, so i can do it that way. it's also pretty stable to let it hang in the air while i quickly reach out and capture the rpms. for my nitro, i think i'll just stick the tach to the tail and take off into a hover, since the power doesn't shut off for 5 mins.
joizeex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 03:36 PM
  #6183
sly the dogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: longueuil, QC, CANADA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Hey guys,
My (old) blades are balanced, trying to track them...
When spooled up, red is high, blake is low with close to 5/8 difference between
them at the tip. With half a turn of the link downward (red) the blade appears underneath the black
one. And if I turn the link upward half a turn (red) it ends up over the black one. I've turned the
hov/pitch knob, sometimes they come together as tracked. Spool down, then spool up again
and the blades aren't tracked at all, and with that space between them (5/8in). Are the blades
really gone or is there a broken part that I missed. The head turns ok, no wooble, nothing
seems out of sink.
Can't compare with other blades, they're somewhere in the mail.
What do you think ?
Sly.
sly the dogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 05:07 PM
  #6184
joeyhatch11
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burlington, NJ
Posts: 2,277
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

I've had this problem and found that turning the link to swash rather than the link on the main blade grip works well. Give the high blade a half turn up on the link going down to the swash. If that doesn't work, you may have a slighty bent feather shaft or maybe a bad bushing in the head. Have you had any crashes latey?
joeyhatch11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 06:52 PM
  #6185
joizeex
 
joizeex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maple Shade, NJ
Posts: 712
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

also, grease up the rubber dampers. especially if you're using a CNC head.
joizeex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 07:06 PM
  #6186
sly the dogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: longueuil, QC, CANADA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Its all relative, you might say I crasked but I say "it fell", the pinion (motor)
separated from the main gear at about 3, 3 1/2 feet from the ground landed
on wet and soft soil. Anyway, the heli is straped down, spooled up, no woobles
nowhere, paddles are horizontal and straight. I did not know that to track blades
turning swashplate links or upper links mattered, does it ? Everything that needs
to be oiled or greased, is and no cnc. So I'll check the feathering shaft and the
bushing (as soon as I find it).
Keep you posted,
Thanks
sly the dogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 07:26 PM
  #6187
sly the dogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: longueuil, QC, CANADA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

I looked it up in the instruction manuel in the exploded view and I truly
don't see anywhere a bushing in the head. Can you help me here Joey ?
Later
sly the dogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 07:36 PM
  #6188
joeyhatch11
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burlington, NJ
Posts: 2,277
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

When you take the feather shaft out there should be some sort of rubber bushing in the rotor head.
joeyhatch11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 08:09 PM
  #6189
joizeex
 
joizeex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maple Shade, NJ
Posts: 712
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

if it's not CNC, then the stock bushings are soft enough that they don't need any grease really. the 2 bushings/dampers that we're referring to are O shaped and sit inside the yoke (main plastic piece to which everything mounts). the feathering shaft goes through those O bushings.

if you trace those 2 long links, you'll see that they go to the mixer arms, which are connected to blade grips, that's why they matter.
joizeex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 08:31 PM
  #6190
joizeex
 
joizeex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maple Shade, NJ
Posts: 712
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

well here are some pics of my finished Dragonus. haven't maiden it yet because i don't have the micro crystal for the Berg Rx. you can see that tiny 8g Rx as a little blue box inside at the back. in the same pic i included the remote for the Scorpion commander 45A ESC and you can see the IR receiver unit used to accept the signals from the remote. the motor is scorpion 3000kV with 12T on 2200mAh 25C Outrage batteries. Got a great deal on everything with Rusty (betapilot). the last pics are to show size comparison. Dragonus is just slightly bigger than HBK. There's also my Walkera sitting on top of HBK.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Us54597.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	52.1 KB
ID:	1240895   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cx74306.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	65.5 KB
ID:	1240896   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rw58133.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	53.8 KB
ID:	1240897   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ha79323.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	68.2 KB
ID:	1240898   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pa33020.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	57.4 KB
ID:	1240899   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yp92447.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	41.2 KB
ID:	1240900  
joizeex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 05:15 AM
  #6191
joeyhatch11
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burlington, NJ
Posts: 2,277
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

hahaha Looking good Renat
joeyhatch11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 09:02 PM
  #6192
sly the dogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: longueuil, QC, CANADA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Replaced the feathering shaft and tracking is better, the blades
don't go underneath on an other when I ajust the links, still
some space between the blades maybe 3/8's. But will ajust
precisely tomorow.
The old feathering shaft did not have an apparent dent that
I could see. Even as I rolled it on a glass. I put in a
stronger feathering shaft (and they're a bit longer).
Thanks for the info. [sm=thumbs_up.gif]
Later
sly the dogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 09:43 PM
  #6193
kenhiraihnl
 
kenhiraihnl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pearl City, HI
Posts: 603
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

examine the head very carefully...the ball control arm set has a piece that often strips in a 'hard landing'...you can tell when the hex screw keeps turning...ken
kenhiraihnl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 10:54 AM
  #6194
sly the dogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: longueuil, QC, CANADA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Everything looks good to me .
Will check.
Later
sly the dogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 01:01 PM
  #6195
sly the dogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: longueuil, QC, CANADA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Hi
went to ajust the tracking a bit better. And they're doing as
they did before, getting on top or below on an other, without
never being tracked.
Ideas are welcome.
Sly
sly the dogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 01:18 PM
  #6196
betapilot
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: arcadia, OK
Posts: 624
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

If you are not using turnbuckles then you should be, the stock links and ends are adequate at best when it comes to fine tuning. Also, what throttle range are you tracking these blades at and what blades are they?
betapilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 01:27 PM
  #6197
reel109
 
reel109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 290
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

If you are using turnbuckles, make sure they are installed in the proper orentation. I once had a problem like this and discovered that one of the turnbuckles was installed upside down and when trying to track the blades I was turning the turnbuckle the wrong way[&o].

Jim
reel109 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 01:38 PM
  #6198
sly the dogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: longueuil, QC, CANADA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Throttle range.... I got a stock esky tx, esc is default on everything
I got tired stock blades 275Mm, waiting for new ones.
And I've got crazy old links, you know. As for turnbuckles didn't
know such a thing existed. [sm=drowning.gif]
Later
sly the dogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 06:42 PM
  #6199
betapilot
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: arcadia, OK
Posts: 624
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

by range I mean are you trying to track them at 30% throttle or 70%?
betapilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 07:02 PM
  #6200
sly the dogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: longueuil, QC, CANADA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Honeybee King v2 tuner shop

Sorry, don't have all the heli terms registered and if I do
they may be mixed up. Anyway.....
I track them at 1/2 stick.
Later.
sly the dogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:29 AM.