Esky Helicopters Discuss the line of Esky electric helis in here including the Honey Bee, Lama, Belt CP, etc

DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

Reply

Old 05-06-2008, 06:42 PM
  #51  
Zimatosa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 616
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

Most excellent Nutt....You are correct!

When I set-up the reversing for servos on the DX6i, I just copied the Esky radio configuration and figured it would/should be correct. Well, for the most part it is, except for the elevator reverse. In my case anyway....

Thanks a mil...

Z
Zimatosa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 06:45 PM
  #52  
Zimatosa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 616
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

Am I crazy in setting the Aileron, elevator, rudder and pitch controls to their maximum travel before buzzing and bottoming out? LOL, it seems like they have twice the travel as before.....Gonna be interesting...

I bet rolls and loops will be super duper fast now.....[X(]

Z
Zimatosa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 08:13 PM
  #53  
nuttcaze
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Johnson City, NY
Posts: 1,583
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

sweet, it took me a while to remember what I did, cause I had the same problem when setting up my E-Smart.
nuttcaze is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 11:46 PM
  #54  
Zimatosa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 616
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

Sheesh, I hope I figure out all the bells and whistles to this stupid radio soon.....I have set-up and reset-up 50 times now. My heli is hovering hands off for about 5 seconds but it is one twitchy bastage if I breathe on the sticks(and I am using some sub-trim to get it there). I guess my next venture is figuring out and setting up Expo until I have the muscle memory to fly it str8-up without Expo...

M-kay so who has a reliable noob setting for all the expo? No, not kidding!! []

Thanks,

Z
Zimatosa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 12:09 AM
  #55  
brac1960
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fernie, BC, CANADA
Posts: 236
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread


ORIGINAL: Zimatosa

Sheesh, I hope I figure out all the bells and whistles to this stupid radio soon.....I have set-up and reset-up 50 times now. My heli is hovering hands off for about 5 seconds but it is one twitchy bastage if I breathe on the sticks(and I am using some sub-trim to get it there). I guess my next venture is figuring out and setting up Expo until I have the muscle memory to fly it str8-up without Expo...

M-kay so who has a reliable noob setting for all the expo? No, not kidding!! []

Thanks,

Z
You can turn the sensitvity of the stick down by adjusting the second set of values in the expo programming. The negative numbers mean the sticks are more sensitive around the center and the positive will make the sticks less sensative around center. With my throttle curve and pitch curve linear I have my aileron @ -40 and my elev @-50. I found that if I decreased the throttle curve or increased the pitch curve, which would slow the head speed down, I needed to increase the expo sensativity
brac1960 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 12:24 AM
  #56  
Zimatosa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 616
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

Thanks for the input....

I had to decrease the Throttle curve and increase the pitch as well, but my heli is way too sensitive for me... My head speed was so fast after setting up for the first time(I followed Jermo's on Helifreak) that I thought my blades were going to explode( curve was something like 0-50-70-90-100, now it's 0-30-50-70-90)!! I might put the 10T back on and try the previous curve later....If i was to guess-timate, I would say I was running darn close to 3000RPM. I am running the Hyperion 3700 with an 11 T pinion.
Anyway, I got the throttle and pitch to a comfy place, now i just have to give my sticks a little bit of play. I can fly it like it is but my nerves can't take it for long....I will take your advice and go opposite of what you did. I will keep going to the plus side until I feel it's more my speed....Then as I learn it, I will move her down.

Thanks again ehe!

Z
Zimatosa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 07:41 AM
  #57  
tvarvais
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: enterprise, KS
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

Does anyone have the actual values they used in their DX6i posted anywhere for the HBK2? I am looking to try to get it setup without all the hassle. Being a newb, it gets alittle frustrating when not all things are understood. My current setup is a DX6i with a AR6000. Thank yo guys(gals) in advance for anything.
Tom
tvarvais is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 07:45 AM
  #58  
tvarvais
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: enterprise, KS
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

I guess I should have specified. The values I mean is all the pitch/throttle curves, any expo used yada, yada. Geesh this is frustrating. I thought I had it set, then spool up the heli, and...let's just say NO its not set right!!! Thank gooodness I have the spares needed.
Tom
tvarvais is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 08:13 AM
  #59  
brac1960
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fernie, BC, CANADA
Posts: 236
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread


ORIGINAL: tvarvais

Does anyone have the actual values they used in their DX6i posted anywhere for the HBK2? I am looking to try to get it setup without all the hassle. Being a newb, it gets alittle frustrating when not all things are understood. My current setup is a DX6i with a AR6000. Thank yo guys(gals) in advance for anything.
Tom
I have e-mailed you my set-up, should help and be a good place to start
brac1960 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 11:11 AM
  #60  
tvarvais
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: enterprise, KS
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

Thank you Brac. Sent you a reply.
Tom
tvarvais is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 12:39 PM
  #61  
brac1960
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fernie, BC, CANADA
Posts: 236
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread


ORIGINAL: tvarvais

Thank you Brac. Sent you a reply.
Tom
You bet, no problem. I recieved your reply.
brac1960 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 02:08 PM
  #62  
DumbDawg
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
DumbDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Osoyoos, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,349
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread


Maybe someone can post their DX6i settings to give those just getting their Tx's a starting place to follow. It would probably help when following one of the vids to have the settings there to compare and lock into the brain.

Problem with this type of postings is that it contains lots of great info but it tends to get scattered thru and ever increasingly large post.
But having a 'settings' post near the beginning, a sticky, or something would sure go a long way as a start point.

My 2 cents worth.
DumbDawg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 07:38 PM
  #63  
Empty Wallet
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hackettstown, NJ
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

Sorry guys. Dont mean to jump in here but maybe somone can help me. Just got a new belt cp and a DX6I radio today.!!
Question, page 18 shows how to bind the receiver with a switch and cable set up that is not included.(IDIOTS!) Where can I get one, how can I make one, or how can I do it without one? Thanks!
Empty Wallet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 08:08 PM
  #64  
brac1960
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fernie, BC, CANADA
Posts: 236
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

You don't need that plug as it shows on the picture. I was thinking the exact thing when I got mine. Lol!! All you have to do is plug your servo's, Gyro and esc to the appropriate spot on the rx, put the bind plug in the bind/batt plug, then plug in your esc to the batt with the tx off. Then turn the tx on holding the trainer switch untill the led light on the receiver glows steady.
brac1960 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 08:19 PM
  #65  
Zimatosa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 616
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

ORIGINAL: DumbDawg


Maybe someone can post their DX6i settings to give those just getting their Tx's a starting place to follow. It would probably help when following one of the vids to have the settings there to compare and lock into the brain.
The below settings are a combination between Zimatosa's and Brac's setting for DX6i. Zim's settings are for HBK2 and Brac's are for Belt CP....We had very similar settings except for expo:

Servo-Normal/REVERSE:
THRO -N AILE -R
ELEV -N RUDD - R
GYRO-N PITCH - N

SWASH TYPE 120*

THROTTLE CUT- ACT

D/R COMBI - INH

IN THE ADJUST LIST;

D/R EXPO: This will adjust the sensitivity of the sticks around center,
negative being more sensitive, positive being less sensitive. You will have
to play around with it and set it to your preference, but leave the first
set of values @ 100%-
Bracs settings:
AILE 0 100% -60%
ELEV 0 100% -60%
RUDD 0 100% -90%

Zimatosa's settings:My heli was very twitchy on the sticks so I went to the positive side of Expo to give me a softer control...BEST for NOOB!!-
AILE 0 100% 15%
ELEV 0 100% 15%
RUDD 0 100% INH ( I like a quick rudder)


TRAVEL ADJUST: This is to lessen the travel of the servo''s if they are
bottoming out when you apply any full stick you can adjust these down to
stop it from bottoming out.

SUB TRIM: This is to fine tune and center the servo's if they are not exactly centered when
the sticks are in the nuetral position.

Gyro Menu

Bracs settings:He is running Rate gyro only.I am running Telebee HH
GYRO:
RATE SW-GYRO
0: 95%
1: same

Zimatosa's settings:
RATE F-Mode
0: 80% 0(I set both of these 0 because I run HH mode all the time)
1: same 0("" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" ")

Note: In Gyro mode, any value that is above 50% will automatically run Gyro in HH Mode to a 1:1.5 ratio(don't know how this works if you have Rate Gyro only)
ExampleIf I set my Gyro value at 100, my real time gain will be 75% gain (Finless stated that most gyros set over the level of 32% real life gain or 72.5 in your DX6i, can fry the servos!!! ). I use a Telebee and the value of 80 or 45% real life gain seems to be fine....Caution!! Please use only enough gain to hold the tail...any extra could possibly toast servos!!!!


THROTTLE CURVE: Remember this is in normal mode and will also be a matter of
preference, as a slower head speed make the heli move slower and be less
responsive with the stick input, a higher head speed makes the heli move
quicker and more sensitive.

Brac's Settings:
L = 0%
2 = 16.5%
3 = 35%
4 = 54.5%
H = 81%

Zimatosa's settings:
L = 0%
2 = 30%
3 = 50%
4 = 75%
H = 85%


PITCH CURVE:

Brac's settings:
All Linear

Zimatosa's settings:
L 48 (-1 degrees pitch)
2 55
3 70
4 85
H 100(+9 degrees positive pitch)


SWASH MIX:
Brac's settings:
All @ 95%

Zimatosa's settings:

Aileron- 70%(higher the value the more travel these controls will have)
Elevator-70%
Pitch- 100%

NOTE: make sure before you fly with these values, none of the settings cause your cyclic to bottom out, rub or hit anything!


Warning: With the above settings, it is not recommended going into idle-up mode until you have closely matched Throttle curve and Pitch curve settings in NORMAL MODE at point 3, 4 and 5. Failing to do this can cause catastrophic results when flipping the Idle-up switch....Your heli could gain/lose altitude very fast and smash the ground or worse??

Hope this helps...I also recommend watching the DX7 set-up that Jermo did in the Finless video section at Helifreak....The settings, for the most part translate to the DX6i...Just remember that he is putting values in for a Trex not King 2.

Peace,

Z
Zimatosa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 08:22 PM
  #66  
Empty Wallet
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hackettstown, NJ
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

OOOOHH.....k........ soooo where do I plug in the ESC on the receiver??
Empty Wallet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 08:27 PM
  #67  
brac1960
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fernie, BC, CANADA
Posts: 236
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread


ORIGINAL: Empty Wallet

OOOOHH.....k........ soooo where do I plug in the ESC on the receiver??
Plug the esc into the throttle on the rx.
brac1960 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 08:30 PM
  #68  
brac1960
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fernie, BC, CANADA
Posts: 236
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

Mine is a belt cp. Z,
thats probably why the settings are so different.
I also started a new thread " my setup for Dx6i" on this forum.
brac1960 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 08:35 PM
  #69  
Zimatosa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 616
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

I went back and edited that fact...thank you Brotha![sm=wink_smile.gif]

Z
Zimatosa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 08:38 PM
  #70  
brac1960
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fernie, BC, CANADA
Posts: 236
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

Perfect, Z, now people have a good starting point for both the belt and HBK2
brac1960 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 08:39 PM
  #71  
Rosebud6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auburn Hills, MI
Posts: 354
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread


ORIGINAL: Zimatosa

ORIGINAL: DumbDawg


Maybe someone can post their DX6i settings to give those just getting their Tx's a starting place to follow. It would probably help when following one of the vids to have the settings there to compare and lock into the brain.
The below settings are a combination between Zimatosa's and Brac's setting for DX6i. Zim's settings are for HBK2 and Brac's are for Belt CP....We had very similar settings except for expo:

Servo-Normal/REVERSE:
THRO -N AILE -R
ELEV -N RUDD - R
GYRO-N PITCH - N

SWASH TYPE 120*

THROTTLE CUT- ACT

D/R COMBI - INH

IN THE ADJUST LIST;

D/R EXPO: This will adjust the sensitivity of the sticks around center,
negative being more sensitive, positive being less sensitive. You will have
to play around with it and set it to your preference, but leave the first
set of values @ 100%-
Bracs settings:
AILE 0 100% -60%
ELEV 0 100% -60%
RUDD 0 100% -90%

Zimatosa's settings:My heli was very twitchy on the sticks so I went to the positive side of Expo to give me a softer control...BEST for NOOB!!-
AILE 0 100% 15%
ELEV 0 100% 15%
RUDD 0 100% INH ( I like a quick rudder)


TRAVEL ADJUST: This is to lessen the travel of the servo''s if they are
bottoming out when you apply any full stick you can adjust these down to
stop it from bottoming out.

SUB TRIM: This is to fine tune and center the servo's if they are not exactly centered when
the sticks are in the nuetral position.

Gyro Menu

Bracs settings:He is running Rate gyro only.I am running Telebee HH
GYRO:
RATE SW-GYRO
0: 95%
1: same

Zimatosa's settings:
RATE F-Mode
0: 80% 0(I set both of these 0 because I run HH mode all the time)
1: same 0("" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" ")

Note: In Gyro mode, any value that is above 50% will automatically run Gyro in HH Mode to a 1:1.5 ratio(don't know how this works if you have Rate Gyro only)
ExampleIf I set my Gyro value at 100, my real time gain will be 75% gain (Finless stated that most gyros set over the level of 32% real life gain or 72.5 in your DX6i, can fry the servos!!! ). I use a Telebee and the value of 80 or 45% real life gain seems to be fine....Caution!! Please use only enough gain to hold the tail...any extra could possibly toast servos!!!!


THROTTLE CURVE: Remember this is in normal mode and will also be a matter of
preference, as a slower head speed make the heli move slower and be less
responsive with the stick input, a higher head speed makes the heli move
quicker and more sensitive.

Brac's Settings:
L = 0%
2 = 16.5%
3 = 35%
4 = 54.5%
H = 81%

Zimatosa's settings:
L = 0%
2 = 30%
3 = 50%
4 = 75%
H = 85%


PITCH CURVE:

Brac's settings:
All Linear

Zimatosa's settings:
L 48 (-1 degrees pitch)
2 55
3 70
4 85
H 100(+9 degrees positive pitch)


SWASH MIX:
Brac's settings:
All @ 95%

Zimatosa's settings:

Aileron- 70%(higher the value the more travel these controls will have)
Elevator-70%
Pitch- 100%

NOTE: make sure before you fly with these values, none of the settings cause your cyclic to bottom out, rub or hit anything!


Hope this helps...I also recommend watching the DX7 set-up that Jermo did in the Finless video section at Helifreak....The settings, for the most part translate to the DX6i...Just remember that he is putting values in for a Trex not King 2.

Peace,

Z
Ahh, I forgot his settings were for the Trex. Maybe thats why my HBK2 respondes so fast. I got used to it and left itt hat way and now I can fly the heck out of it.
Rosebud6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 01:05 AM
  #72  
Empty Wallet
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hackettstown, NJ
Posts: 306
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

DUH! Thanks brac. Would have gotten back sooner but the wife was gettin jeolous over my new girl friend Started getting twitchy. Gotta keep mamma happy if ya know what I mean
It didnt dawn on me that the throttle channel (output) would also be the power feed (input) as well.
Empty Wallet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 01:34 AM
  #73  
brac1960
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fernie, BC, CANADA
Posts: 236
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread


ORIGINAL: Empty Wallet

DUH! Thanks brac. Would have gotten back sooner but the wife was gettin jeolous over my new girl friend Started getting twitchy. Gotta keep mamma happy if ya know what I mean
It didnt dawn on me that the throttle channel (output) would also be the power feed (input) as well.

Thats funny!!!LOL. My wife is worried also, she says my heli seems to be more important than her. LOL!!!
brac1960 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 01:35 AM
  #74  
Zimatosa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 616
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

Ahh, I forgot his settings were for the Trex. Maybe thats why my HBK2 respondes so fast. I got used to it and left itt hat way and now I can fly the heck out of it.
Seriously, I fired my King up with Jermo's settings and I thought my head was going to explode! I must have had close to 3000 RPM on my woodies and plastic head!!![X(] I had to tame her down to a dull roar.....I am running a 3700 Hyperion. Don't know how that stacks toward your motor but my 1350 battery would have been dead in 4 minutes at that speed...

Z
Zimatosa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 11:20 PM
  #75  
mrjerry42
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: COEUR D ALENE, ID
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DX6, DX6i, DX7 thread

I want to use the spektrum DX6i /AR6200 in my parkzone typhoon2 3D airplane. Can someone give me tips and program settings for the plane. Would like program settings that wil be close to the stock parkzone transmitter settings that comes with the plane. Include Hi and LO settings. This will be the first flight with the DX6i and not sure what the correct settings should be for a successful maiden flight. Thanks!
mrjerry42 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service