Esky Helicopters Discuss the line of Esky electric helis in here including the Honey Bee, Lama, Belt CP, etc

New Honey Bee FP V2

Reply

Old 09-22-2009, 09:47 PM
  #1  
Chad9703
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Moore, OK
Posts: 41
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default New Honey Bee FP V2

I noticed the new Honey Bee FP V2 comes with a 3 cell lipo. Is there any reason why one could not use a 3 cell with the previous version?
Chad9703 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 12:43 AM
  #2  
k3nv
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

You'll probably burn out the motor on the HBv1
k3nv is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 01:16 AM
  #3  
pgroom_68
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: HornsbyNEW SOUTH WALES, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,863
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

ORIGINAL: Chad9703
I noticed the new Honey Bee FP V2 comes with a 3 cell lipo. Is there any reason why one could not use a 3 cell with the previous version?
Hey again Chad,

As you have just read the version 1 of the Honeybee was designed for 2-cell lipos (7.4V) and you would be putting the mosfets in danger of meltdown if you connect a 3-cell (11.1V) lipo and try some extreme moves! It can cope for a while with mild flight - but why risk having to replace the 4in1????

Peter[sm=shades_smile.gif]
pgroom_68 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 07:03 PM
  #4  
Chad9703
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Moore, OK
Posts: 41
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

So will the new one have more power with a 3 cell? I did notice they are using the same motor.
Chad9703 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 01:58 AM
  #5  
pgroom_68
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: HornsbyNEW SOUTH WALES, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,863
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

ORIGINAL: Chad9703
So will the new one have more power with a 3 cell? I did notice they are using the same motor.
Hey again Chad,

That is part of the plan. The 4in1 takes 5 volts of the power and anything else is available to the motors I have a [link=https://www.ushobbysupply.com/product_info.php?products_id=695]Xtreme 380 motor[/link] and [link=http://www.miracle-mart.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=110_230&products_id=3037]Xtreme Direct Drive Tail Motor Pack[/link] "standing by" for the first signs of anything dying.... (I will change them both out together so I can run them in together)

Peter[sm=shades_smile.gif]
pgroom_68 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 07:34 AM
  #6  
Chad9703
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Moore, OK
Posts: 41
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

Thanks Peter
Chad9703 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 10:14 AM
  #7  
dchin62973
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Smithtown, NY
Posts: 301
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

ORIGINAL: Chad9703

I noticed the new Honey Bee FP V2 comes with a 3 cell lipo. Is there any reason why one could not use a 3 cell with the previous version?
You can run an 11.1v LIPO on the Older E-SKY HBFP. However, you should install ATO Fast blow mini blade fuses to protect the Rx when you get into a servre crash. The fuses are a lot cheaper to replace than the Rx which is about half the cost of the heli. Using an 11.1v LIPO will give you more power escpecially if you are doing some fast flying with this heli or if you live in high altitude areas.

Below is a video of a modified E-SKY HBFP V1 usuing a totally brushless system. The main motor is brushless and the tail motor is a direct drive brushless motor system. It utilizes an 11.1 volt 1,000Mah 25c LIPO (3-cell) and is awesome. Just got the newer E-SKY HBFP V2 and its very impressive as there is very little modification needed. It comes with an 11.1v LIPO for more power and heat sinks are on both the main motor and tail motor and the airframe is vastly improved.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0CeYpyu_Z8c[/youtube]

So, if you love your E-SKY HBFP V1, then you can do the upgrades or just get the new version. The only drawback on the new version is the underpowered tail motor that fails after about 3 dozen full flights on average. That replacement part (Tail motor) will cost a lot of money over time.

[8D]
dchin62973 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 03:04 PM
  #8  
dknovick
Senior Member
 
dknovick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 2,043
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2


ORIGINAL: dchin62973

You can run an 11.1v LIPO on the Older E-SKY HBFP. However, you should install ATO Fast blow mini blade fuses to protect the Rx when you get into a servre crash. The fuses are a lot cheaper to replace than the Rx which is about half the cost of the heli. Using an 11.1v LIPO will give you more power escpecially if you are doing some fast flying with this heli or if you live in high altitude areas.
Totally agree (with both statements). I have a Falcon 40 (FP) and a HBFP which both run off of 11.1V lipo (I live at a high altitude). With the added power, you can (and many have) blow the MOSFET driving the main motor during a crash (stalling the main motor). I have some recommendations for replacement MOSFETs if that does happen.

-Dave
dknovick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 03:49 PM
  #9  
pgroom_68
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: HornsbyNEW SOUTH WALES, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,863
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

ORIGINAL: dknovick
ORIGINAL: dchin62973
You can run an 11.1v LIPO on the Older E-SKY HBFP. However, you should install ATO Fast blow mini blade fuses to protect the Rx when you get into a servre crash. The fuses are a lot cheaper to replace than the Rx which is about half the cost of the heli. Using an 11.1v LIPO will give you more power escpecially if you are doing some fast flying with this heli or if you live in high altitude areas.
Totally agree (with both statements). I have a Falcon 40 (FP) and a HBFP which both run off of 11.1V lipo (I live at a high altitude). With the added power, you can (and many have) blow the MOSFET driving the main motor during a crash (stalling the main motor). I have some recommendations for replacement MOSFETs if that does happen.
Hey Dave,

I have to learn to control my FP at all times first. Any tips for taking off straight up? When exactly do I input right aileron?

Peter[sm=shades_smile.gif]
pgroom_68 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 04:50 PM
  #10  
The Collector1
Senior Member
 
The Collector1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn,Queens, NY
Posts: 3,027
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

Sorry for the long delay, hard time at work, heres those pics of the interior
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz77609.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	115.2 KB
ID:	1284970   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rn39052.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	139.1 KB
ID:	1284971   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ze86370.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	103.8 KB
ID:	1284972  
The Collector1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 04:58 PM
  #11  
The Collector1
Senior Member
 
The Collector1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn,Queens, NY
Posts: 3,027
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

Here is my HBFP and the two together
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp44389.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	108.4 KB
ID:	1284975   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lg17049.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	103.3 KB
ID:	1284976   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ej14730.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	119.0 KB
ID:	1284977   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hb80853.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	121.7 KB
ID:	1284978  
The Collector1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 05:07 PM
  #12  
dknovick
Senior Member
 
dknovick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 2,043
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2


ORIGINAL: pgroom_68

Hey Dave,

I have to learn to control my FP at all times first. Any tips for taking off straight up? When exactly do I input right aileron?

Peter[sm=shades_smile.gif]
Hey Peter,

Well, that will certainly help!

I recommend [link=http://www.dream-models.com/eco/flying-index.html]Radds's School of Rotary Flight[/link] to learn how to hover
dknovick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 05:17 PM
  #13  
The Collector1
Senior Member
 
The Collector1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn,Queens, NY
Posts: 3,027
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

I dont know if you have noticed but even though I have the metal head and swash, I did have the metal central hub but I actually snapped the shaft in the hub twice[:@] from my inexperience and it was almost impossible to remove so I use the plastic one and snapped the plastic which made replacing easy.

I believe its the weight of the heli and the softer shaft material that has tragic results on the shaft, It even bends to where its a pain to remove from the bearings but the stock one has'nt bent the, head snapped off but the shaft was ok.
The Collector1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 06:23 PM
  #14  
pgroom_68
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: HornsbyNEW SOUTH WALES, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,863
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

ORIGINAL: The Collector1
I dont know if you have noticed but even though I have the metal head and swash, I did have the metal central hub but I actually snapped the shaft in the hub twice[:@] from my inexperience and it was almost impossible to remove so I use the plastic one and snapped the plastic which made replacing easy.
I believe its the weight of the heli and the softer shaft material that has tragic results on the shaft, It even bends to where its a pain to remove from the bearings but the stock one has'nt bent the, head snapped off but the shaft was ok.
Hey again Collector1,

So would you recommend the [link=http://www.miracle-mart.com/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=110_230&zenid=e5fa5c3de4ec78d66b0493048b865982]Xtreme Metal Head Upgrade[/link] for me (apart from the hub which doesn't fit my HBv2)?

Peter[sm=shades_smile.gif]
pgroom_68 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 07:46 PM
  #15  
The Collector1
Senior Member
 
The Collector1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn,Queens, NY
Posts: 3,027
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

I would recommend the metal head, it has not bent flexed or warped since Ive had it
The Collector1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 09:25 PM
  #16  
King2Nut
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Port Clinton, OH
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

MMis put of stock on the head. I chacked with my favorite site and they have it in stock.

https://www.ushobbysupply.com/produc...roducts_id=686

Same prrice and in the USA too.

Collector It looks to me that most ot the HB v1 parts will fit the HBv2
You seem to be the man in the know, am I correct?

King2Nut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 10:44 PM
  #17  
pgroom_68
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: HornsbyNEW SOUTH WALES, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,863
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

ORIGINAL: King2Nut
MM is put of stock on the head. I chacked with my favorite site and they have it in stock.
https://www.ushobbysupply.com/produc...roducts_id=686
Same prrice and in the USA too.
Collector It looks to me that most ot the HB v1 parts will fit the HBv2
You seem to be the man in the know, am I correct?
Hey King2Nut,

Most of the [link=http://www.miracle-mart.com/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=110_186]HBv1[/link] parts WILL fit the [link=http://www.miracle-mart.com/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=110_230]HBv2[/link], but I know that this [link=http://www.miracle-mart.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=110_186&products_id=2641]Xtreme Metal Central Hub[/link] WILL NOT (it is to short![:@])

Peter[sm=shades_smile.gif]
P.S. Am I correct in guessing that you have a King2 AND a Honeybee FP?
pgroom_68 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 08:12 AM
  #18  
King2Nut
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Port Clinton, OH
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

Yes I have both. Started with a FP and then a HBK2, lookin at getting a Belt CPv2, rather than a HBK3.
Also looking at what it will take to mod the HBFP into a v2.
I guess at this rate I will be like you and have quite a collection.


King2Nut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 04:13 PM
  #19  
pgroom_68
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: HornsbyNEW SOUTH WALES, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,863
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

ORIGINAL: King2Nut
Yes I have both. Started with a FP and then a HBK2, lookin at getting a Belt CPv2, rather than a HBK3.
Also looking at what it will take to mod the HBFP into a v2.
I guess at this rate I will be like you and have quite a collection.
Hey again King2Nut,

I can partly answer the things needed to upgrade your HBFPv1 2 a HBFPv2. They are: The frame is chunkier (so super-skids300 frame and skids set), the 4in1 is designed to take 11.1V (so you would need to either get another one of those or, if you are great at soldering, upgrade the mosfets), the flybar and paddles are from a King2 (I think) - and it has heatsinks on both motors out of the box. Have a read of what GTX_slotcar says [link=http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=9067118]here about the HBFPv2[/link]. I suggest you just buy a new HBFPv2 - to upgrade your bird would be more trouble (and perhaps $) than just re-purchasing the new verson......

Peter[sm=49_49.gif]
P.S. This is not an exhaustive list - there are also other things (but I don't have my bird with me ATM)
P.P.S. The superblades (either EZ or XP) are another great product to try with your FP..........
pgroom_68 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 01:52 AM
  #20  
schplakken
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

http://www.wowhobbies.com/batteryfor...15clipo-1.aspx
Try these 2-cell Lipos. Attach them to the bottom of the mixer, after installing super skids.
schplakken is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 02:08 AM
  #21  
schplakken
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

If you have a place to strap the batt to in a forward position on your Lama or Honey Bee, see how it reacts to the big battery.
http://www.wowhobbies.com/batteryfor...15clipo-1.aspx
schplakken is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 07:30 AM
  #22  
joeyhatch11
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burlington, NJ
Posts: 2,277
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

These are the lipos I'm running in my HBFP v2. http://cgi.ebay.com/2x-900mAh-11-1V-...item2a03a0185a

With them I get 10-12 minute flight times. They work awsome and they fit nice and snug in the frame. There nothing like the stock lipos. The Esky is thin and long, these are short and fat, but a great fit.
joeyhatch11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 07:56 AM
  #23  
pgroom_68
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: HornsbyNEW SOUTH WALES, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,863
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

ORIGINAL: joeyhatch11
These are the lipos I'm running in my HBFP v2. http://cgi.ebay.com/2x-900mAh-11-1V-...item2a03a0185a
With them I get 10-12 minute flight times. They work awsome and they fit nice and snug in the frame. There nothing like the stock lipos. The Esky is thin and long, these are short and fat, but a great fit.
Hey again Joey,

There are plenty of thin & long alternatives to the Esky 800mAh lipo (as you can see from pic) - but I reckon you've found a good alternative shape. Watch that shipping - it is a killer to here (it is US$18 to Australia)

Peter[sm=shades_smile.gif]
P.S. How did that Rhino get it that shot?! It is NOT supposed to be there (as it won't fit)
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec88017.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	118.9 KB
ID:	1344190  
pgroom_68 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 08:00 AM
  #24  
pgroom_68
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: HornsbyNEW SOUTH WALES, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,863
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

sorry - double post (what is up with rcuniverse.com at the moment)
pgroom_68 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 08:03 AM
  #25  
joeyhatch11
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burlington, NJ
Posts: 2,277
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Honey Bee FP V2

Hahaha Those GE Powers are great. I use to run 4000/5000mah with my HPI and Traxxas. LONG run times, great power. As for the 900mah's, on the inside of the frame there are two small notches that I had to Dremal out a tad to get them to slide in but once I did it was a great fit.
joeyhatch11 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service