Community
Search
Notices
Esky Helicopters Discuss the line of Esky electric helis in here including the Honey Bee, Lama, Belt CP, etc

esky lama outdoors?

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2010, 01:35 AM
btm123

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default esky lama outdoors?

I've just got myself an Esky Lama V4. I bought it second hand so haven't paid a huge amount for it. I'm a total beginner.

Its a great bit of kit. The only trouble I'm finding is that I initially bought it as an indoor chopper, which is what all the marketing seems to indicate. But I'm finding that I just dont have the room to fly it indoors, or at least not the room a beginner needs to fly it indoors. It's a bit bigger than I was expecting TBH.

So I've moved to outdoors, but am now having the problem of it being pretty unstable in even the slightest breeze. I know it isn't gonna fly in a gale, but I'm literally talking about a calm day where there is a breeze every now and again. But I do understand it wasn't really designed for outdoor use.

So going back to the first sentence where I've bought it second hand, I'm wondering whether to stick with it and hope my skills improve, or to resell it and get something more suitable for outdoor light. The Esky big lama would seem like the obvious choice, unless anyone has any better ideas.

Any thoughts or advice would be welcome.
1. Is the big lama much better outdoors?
2. Is the big lama likely to be a stop gap anyway before I'd move onto something bigger/6 channel, in which case not worth doing.
3. Should I just persevere with the Lama until my skills improve sufficiently to handle it a bit better outdoors. Trouble is, the way I'm going I might spend more on repairs than I would do on upgrading.

Thanks in advance