Community
Search
Notices
Everything Diesel Discuss R/C Diesel engines here.

Club PAW

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2014, 05:07 AM
meninspex

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Remarkably similar! . The reason I am sure of the cut-off date for my engine is that my dad had to cease active aero modelling in the mid 1950s due to ill health. The only differences I can see are in the head which is less curved on my engine and the chamfer on the web behind the air inlet which has a longer flat on my engine. I've tried to take a photo at the same angle as yours for comparison but I'm a better engineer than photographer!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	P1050478.JPG
Views:	1241
Size:	1.46 MB
ID:	2054035  
Old 12-11-2014, 06:20 AM
brokenenglish

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Yes, if the two engines were side-by-side, I wouldn't mind betting that yours would be more compact, i.e. physically smaller and lighter than the production PAW.
Anyway, you have a couple of superb engines (not to mention all the others!).
What great engines these are. I started using (flying) PAWs in 1960, and I'm about to go flying this afternoon... with a PAW!
BTW, "meninspex" even sounds like Gig!
Old 12-11-2014, 09:16 AM
buzzard bait

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Interesting photos...I've never seen a PAW like that. The production ones you get now are quite long from prop drive to back plate. I'm sure that's useful in some applications, but for scale models of the old snub nosed WWI rotary types you can't fit them under the cowl without having the prop shaft stick out in an un-scale manner. Of course, that's exactly the kind of application where you want the ability to swing a large prop. The older design would be much better suited.

Jim
Old 12-11-2014, 09:35 PM
Recycled Flyer

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

The short snout would seem to benefit control line combat with their short length models that turn incredibly tight at high speed.
Old 12-12-2014, 02:44 PM
74SEVEN7