Exceed RC Support - Helicopter Discuss all Helicopter Support for items purchased or will be purchasing at Exceed RC.

Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

Reply
Old 01-12-2010, 11:08 PM
  #51
kaufmanp92eb
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: spokane, WA
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

Everyone seems to think so poorly about x-heli. I am a heli pilot for my job, but new to rc heli. I purchased a raptor g2 premium ed. from xheli and I think its a great heli. I have crashed it bad twice and had to fix many parts on it. Every time I ordered my parts from x-heli and they have been helpfull and fast in their order processing and shipping. My only complaint is that nobody told me the premium edition has a longer tail boom. Other than that it has been great. I am hopelessly addicted to this hobby. I agree the g2 was a lot to start with, but its a learning process and fun as hell.
kaufmanp92eb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 08:28 PM
  #52
yadac123
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 1,484
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

Its possible that your servo could be dead. When you by pass the gyro and connect to ch4, I want you to remove the servo arm from the servo and reposition the arm on the servo so that the arm and the servo case is 90 degree and perpendicular to each other. Does the servo still going only right? did you make sure your rudder trim is at the center?

Andy
Quote:
ORIGINAL: Dnutz

ok so i loosened the boom from the frame, pulled it back and tightened it back in....that fixed the slipping problem. But still cant get the rudder to work correctly. I have right rudder but no left. After the heli initializes and the tail rotor centers, i get no response from left rudder. I unplugged the tail rotor servo bypassing the gyro and plugged into #4 on the receiver and the same thing happens! no left! What can be going on?
yadac123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 08:33 PM
  #53
yadac123
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 1,484
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kaufmanp92eb

Everyone seems to think so poorly about x-heli. I am a heli pilot for my job, but new to rc heli. I purchased a raptor g2 premium ed. from xheli and I think its a great heli. I have crashed it bad twice and had to fix many parts on it. Every time I ordered my parts from x-heli and they have been helpfull and fast in their order processing and shipping. My only complaint is that nobody told me the premium edition has a longer tail boom. Other than that it has been great. I am hopelessly addicted to this hobby. I agree the g2 was a lot to start with, but its a learning process and fun as hell.
Thanks

Andy
yadac123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 10:54 PM
  #54
Dnutz
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vallejo, CA
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

ok thanks andy i'll try that next. Once initialized, isn't the red LED light on the gyro supposed to be on (not blinking)? Mine blinks! I have the dip switches set to 2467....right? If it's blinking then it's not in HH mode am i correct? Could this be the problem? If i replace the gyro and the servo would this be a quick fix? Im finding out a lot about this stuff and am getting addicted! Your info is much appreciated!
David
Quote:
ORIGINAL: yadac123

Its possible that your servo could be dead. When you by pass the gyro and connect to ch4, I want you to remove the servo arm from the servo and reposition the arm on the servo so that the arm and the servo case is 90 degree and perpendicular to each other. Does the servo still going only right? did you make sure your rudder trim is at the center?

Andy
Quote:
ORIGINAL: Dnutz

ok so i loosened the boom from the frame, pulled it backand tightenedit back in....that fixed the slipping problem. But still cant get the rudder to work correctly. I have right rudder but no left. After the heli initializes and the tail rotor centers, i get no response from left rudder. I unplugged the tail rotor servo bypassing the gyro and plugged into #4 on the receiver and the same thing happens! no left! What can be going on?
Dnutz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 02:48 AM
  #55
Dnutz
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vallejo, CA
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

ok so i connected the servo directly to the receiver and set the arm perpendicular...rudder trim in the middle...no luck.  Nothing seems to work but im a newbie...could be something simple idk...but i can't get it to work.  Only get right rudder working. No left...
David
Dnutz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 06:41 PM
  #56
yadac123
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 1,484
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

ok plug another servo into the same slot on the radio. How does that go? If you are able to get left and right for the new servo that means the tail servo is bad.

Andy
yadac123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 01:41 AM
  #57
Dnutz
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vallejo, CA
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

i plugged in two other servos and just get the right stick working...nothing from the left
Dnutz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 10:29 AM
  #58
kaufmanp92eb
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: spokane, WA
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

The red light on mine is not on at all. It blinks untill it initalizes then when it gives the three beeps to let you know its ready to go, the light turns off. when I fly the tail is wagging back and forth. everything I have tried does not stop it. I read that throwing dip switch 12 will mess up your settings. I unfortunately did that before I read it. is there any way to get the settings back?
[quote]ORIGINAL: Dnutz

ok thanks andy i'll try that next. Once initialized, isn't the red LED light on the gyro supposed to be on (not blinking)? Mine blinks! I have the dip switches set to 2467....right? If it's blinking then it's not in HH mode am i correct? Could this be the problem? If i replace the gyro and the servo would this be a quick fix? Im finding out a lot about this stuff and am getting addicted! Your info is much appreciated!
David
kaufmanp92eb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 10:36 AM
  #59
kaufmanp92eb
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: spokane, WA
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

I found another post about tail wagging. It said to put the dials on top of the remote to 12 o'clock, throw dip 12, turn left dial to 3 o'clock, and throw dip 12 back. I did it and when I turned the left dial to 3 o'clock the red light on my gyro came back on steady. I took it out and no more wagging. WooHoo!!!!!
kaufmanp92eb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 01:25 PM
  #60
Dnutz
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vallejo, CA
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

hey kaufmann thanks for the post...Man this Exceed Raptor is not at all Ready to Fly out of the box! Mine is all messed up but im determined to get it in the air! Im thinking now my whole problem is the TX...im not sure though. I'll try what you said.
I have messed with the settings of v1 and v2 so much now, last night i couldn't get the pitch right, so i couldn't get it off the ground to check to see if the spinning issue is still there. UUGGGG! I know it will be though cuz i can't get anyleft rudder to work...but maybe if i get gyro working properly, then it will work!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kaufmanp92eb

I found another post about tail wagging. It said to put the dials on top of the remote to 12 o'clock, throw dip 12, turn left dial to 3 o'clock, and throw dip 12 back. I did it and when I turned the left dial to 3 o'clock the red light on my gyro came back on steady. I took it out and no more wagging. WooHoo!!!!!
Dnutz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 09:10 PM
  #61
yadac123
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 1,484
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

ok I think something is not right on the radio and receiver. What's your order number? I can have you send it back and a tech will take a look.

Andy
Quote:
ORIGINAL: Dnutz

i plugged in two other servos and just get the right stick working...nothing from the left
yadac123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 09:15 PM
  #62
yadac123
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 1,484
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

One thing beginner get it mix up is that RTF means ready to fly, that doesn't mean you do not need to trim and setup the heli. RTF means you do not need to assemble anything at all. Keep in mind that starting with a 6ch is like asking for trouble. You need to be patient because you are trying to learn how to run before you even know how to walk.

Andy
Quote:
ORIGINAL: Dnutz

hey kaufmann thanks for the post...Man this Exceed Raptor is not at all Ready to Fly out of the box! Mine is all messed up but im determined to get it in the air! Im thinking now my whole problem is the TX...im not sure though. I'll try what you said.
I have messed with the settings of v1 and v2 so much now, last night i couldn't get the pitch right, so i couldn't get it off the ground to check to see if the spinning issue is still there. UUGGGG! I know it will be though cuz i can't get any left rudder to work...but maybe if i get gyro working properly, then it will work!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kaufmanp92eb

I found another post about tail wagging. It said to put the dials on top of the remote to 12 o'clock, throw dip 12, turn left dial to 3 o'clock, and throw dip 12 back. I did it and when I turned the left dial to 3 o'clock the red light on my gyro came back on steady. I took it out and no more wagging. WooHoo!!!!!
yadac123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 10:13 PM
  #63
Dnutz
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vallejo, CA
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

Andy,
I don't have my order number but i have the credit card transaction number...maybe they can look up my order number if need be...would like to have someone take a look! Tell me what i need to do...thanks!
David
Dnutz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 08:15 PM
  #64
yadac123
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 1,484
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

ok how about you Private msg me the name and address so I can look you up into our DB.

Andy
Quote:
ORIGINAL: Dnutz

Andy,
I don't have my order number but i have the credit card transaction number...maybe they can look up my order number if need be...would like to have someone take a look! Tell me what i need to do...thanks!
David
yadac123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:55 PM
  #65
gclow
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining



Please verify that the gyro has to be set to reverse.

Thank you,

gclow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 08:30 PM
  #66
yadac123
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 1,484
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

Left switch is on NOR, right switch is on REV. This is true if your tail servo is on the same side as when the servo is installed at the factory.

Andy
yadac123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 12:44 PM
  #67
gclow
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

Thank you,
gclow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 08:54 PM
  #68
yadac123
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 1,484
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining



Andy
yadac123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 10:33 AM
  #69
Dnutz
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vallejo, CA
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

hey andy just wanted to say thanks, i sent in my raptor and within 4 days i received it back from xheli.  It flies!  Seems thay they replaced the tail servo?  Im not sure if that's all they replaced, but now it's hovering!
David
Dnutz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 08:35 PM
  #70
yadac123
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 1,484
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

kool

Andy
yadac123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 12:39 PM
  #71
cq842000
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Waterown, NY
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

I'm having the same issue with mine, wish I knew what was going on.
cq842000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 05:22 PM
  #72
cq842000
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Waterown, NY
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

Okay, I found the issue with the tail rotor not centering and possibly the uncontrollable spinning issue. I swapped the AUX 1 (pit servo) with the AUX 2 (gyro), so that now the gyro is AUX 1, and the tail rotor centers perfectly. This however was the high point of an otherwise fruitless day because now it appears that either my brand new ESC is kaput or my motor and rotated it's last magnet. When I plug in the ESC, the motor makes no beeps (I've tried switching the plugs), yet the servos still move like a freshly reanimated corpse minus the torso and head.
cq842000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 07:25 PM
  #73
cq842000
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Waterown, NY
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

Alright... I figured it out. Even after reversing the gyro and confirming all settings and checks, it was still spinning like crazy. As it turns out, a little adhesive, a toothpick, and a stripped tail belt pulley made the difference. It seems that part was the cheapest, and I advise everyone having this spinning issue to glue or affix in some manner, the pulley attached to the belt, to the tail gear shaft. My tail rotor wasnt getting enough RPMs due to the slippage, but now it's ACE and no more spinning.
cq842000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 09:22 PM
  #74
hvhooch
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Belleville, IL
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining

Ok... enough of the Xheli bashing.......I have purchased 3 heli's form them and have been completely satisfied.......I own a G2 Raptor......If you buy a raptor...purchase a Detrum Gyro.....You will be glad you did...... The second purchase was Dynam 450 Heli.......Nice Heli........the 3rd bird was EXI 450 pro kit.............Used EXI servos and Detrum Gyro............Very nice Heli..........  The guys at Xheli are great....have had nothing but great products and good customer service from them.
hvhooch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 03:59 PM
  #75
Mikey53
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Exceed-RC Raptor G2 Keeps Spining



New to the game and been having lots of problems. But, to get to my question. Just changed out my whole tail section, now my gyro blinks, then nothing. Never did that before. Someone here had the same problem and had the answer about throwing Dip 12. Well on my tranmitter, I do not have a Dip 12, just 1-10?????? Or could they have ment Dip 1 and 2??????

Just a little lost here.........

Mike

Mikey53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:40 AM.