Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 20 of 20

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    st.paul, MN
    Posts
    73
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    eagle 50 no lift

    i have a new eagle 50 and cannot get it to lift off blade pitch seems to be fine and it spins up fine but only gets light on its skids at full throttle also when i input any cyclic movement or rudder movement it seems to divert alot of power from the main motor and is nowhere near having enough power to lift off,i had 1 minor "crash" i was hovering just barely to trim and a blade came into contact with my toolbox however there was minimal damage to 1 of the blades and i tried it after that and it was still working fine however the next time i tried to use it it would not lift any ideas or help is much appreciated if u need to know anything else just ask

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    1,484
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    I'm sure that during the crash the pitch of the blade is off so you need to set the pitch back to default. The default for the pitc angle is 0 for lower throttle. 5 to 6 degree for center throttle and 10 degree for max throttle.

    You'll need a pitch gauge to help you on this and if you don't have it you'll need to eye ball it. Degree in pitch is when the the main blade and main blade holder is flat relative to the horizon.

    To adjust your pitch you have to turn off dip switch #8 in off position. and use v2 to dial to the correct pitch. You might want to do this by disconnecting the main motor so you don't hurt yourself.

    Andy
    Andy - Official Exceed RC Support Forum Host

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    st.paul, MN
    Posts
    73
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    the dip switch settings on my manual dont match how they are in my radio and thats how it came is there a diff between the dip switches on the 2.4ghz and the other radios?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    1,484
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    The order of the switch might be changed because it's the 2.4Ghz radio but however the setting are still the same. You need to find the dip switch labeled pitch adjustment.

    here's the same heli with a better manual http://www.walkera.com/en1/particula...pn=Z322E240104

    Andy
    Andy - Official Exceed RC Support Forum Host

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    st.paul, MN
    Posts
    73
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    i turned off the 8 switch and change the v2 dial and it doesnt change anything.heres how my switches are and were when i got them this isnt how the manual says they should be


    1 on
    2 off
    3 off
    4 on
    5 off
    6 off
    7 off
    8 on
    9 on
    10 off
    11 off
    12 off

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    st.paul, MN
    Posts
    73
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    that manual says its the 6 switch however it doesnt seem to change anything however my settings were not set how that manual says they should be either it says only 4 and 9 should be on,should i try that?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    1,484
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    the older model with the older radio the switch is #8 and looks like the switch is 11 now.

    Andy
    Andy - Official Exceed RC Support Forum Host

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    st.paul, MN
    Posts
    73
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    well i tried it and still no lift,the pitch changes when i use that switch but even if i turn it all the way to the right it still does not lift offit seems normal till about mid-stick then the change from mid to full is very smallcould there be something else that would prevent it from working,its definitely not blade pitch.the aerodynamics of the blade rly ddnt change from the crash,could the main motor be losing power?maybe servo gears stripped stopping it from holding positive pitch at high rpms? idk much but im just throwing out ideas any help would be nice cuz if its a part thats not working id like to maybe see if i can replace it under warranty or sumthing cuz i just got the heli this week

  9. #9
    FILE IFR 's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Clinton, MA
    Posts
    2,134
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    I'm willing to bet your battery is junk.

    Do you run the battery down to 'empty' or 'slow rotor speed' at the end of your hover session??
    Mike * Intercepting The Localizer* AMA# 365566
    Bud Nosen C-310 Club #32 * J.P.O. Member 2302

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    st.paul, MN
    Posts
    73
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    the battery has been through maybe 3 sessions and i run it all the way empty

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    9
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    Hey,
    Got The Eagle 50 a few months back and I really haven't got to practice with it because something was always going wrong with it. But I would certainly try another batt and never run a lipo down. On this machine, shut down when the rotor speed decreases. My other thought is the so called "T" holder (mine is blue) is loose on the mast (shaft). The internal hex screw is Loc Tite in the block and I had to use a reverse drill bit to remove. On mine, the block came loose enough to move up the shaft and cause less pitch action IN FLIGHT. You can set it all up real nice but if that T holder block is loose, you're not going to get pitch. Also, check your P/C link lengths on the blade grip.

    Hope this helps.

    Now, has anybody really done any 3D with this machine??? Anybody? How 'bout just a simple inverted hover?? What about forward flight?

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    st.paul, MN
    Posts
    73
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    i had that prblm with the "T" almost right away but i noticed and fixed it so its something else,i guess ill have to order a new battery and give that a shot...

  13. #13
    FILE IFR 's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Clinton, MA
    Posts
    2,134
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    ORIGINAL: unableelephant

    the battery has been through maybe 3 sessions and i run it all the way empty
    Ran it all the way to empty?.... That battery is junk and will never charge properly. I'll bet the battery is "puffy" looking.

    That explains why there is not enough power to hover.

    NEVER run your battery low... go 6 minutes MAX time, then wait 30 minutes to re-charge.
    Mike * Intercepting The Localizer* AMA# 365566
    Bud Nosen C-310 Club #32 * J.P.O. Member 2302

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Antioch, IL
    Posts
    2
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    I just got an eagle 50 and can't get it to lift. The main rotor doesn't spin fast enough to lift while the rear blades spin much faster. I charged the battery until it was green but it took less than 1/2 hr. any ideas?

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    st.paul, MN
    Posts
    73
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    yeah prbly the battery my mistake...i knew not to fully discharge but i made a stupid mistake

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    9
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    When I got another batt, I went to the hobby shop and got a decent quality, don't remember what brand but it does perform. Glad I spent a couple of extra bucks.

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    1,484
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    You never want to run a lipo battery all the way down because this will damage the battery. A lipo battery doesn't develop memory like the nicad batteries. As you fly the heli and when the main motor slow downs that means voltage is near low and it's time to recharge the battery.

    Andy
    Andy - Official Exceed RC Support Forum Host

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    1,484
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    At this time it's very hard for me to see what's wrong with the heli unless I got it in front of me. What's your order number? I can have you send it back and our tech can take a look. Let me know.

    Andy

    ORIGINAL: unableelephant

    yeah prbly the battery my mistake...i knew not to fully discharge but i made a stupid mistake
    Andy - Official Exceed RC Support Forum Host

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    st.paul, MN
    Posts
    73
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    i ordered a new battery gonna see in a few days if that the prblm if not ill send it back to ya,if the batt was the prblm any chance u could send me a new one?

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    1,484
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: eagle 50 no lift

    if the battery is the problem I'll issue RMA for exchange.

    Andy
    Andy - Official Exceed RC Support Forum Host


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.