Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 11 of 11

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    29
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    With the factory RX can you add a head lock gyro to an Eagle 50?

    I have 2 eagle 50 heli's one is stock other than a cnc v1 metal head. The other is fully brushless with a cncv2 head and is fully seperate. I would like to improve my stock one. Is it possible to install a headlock gyro with the stock RX? Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    1,484
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: With the factory RX can you add a head lock gyro to an Eagle 50?

    sorry you can not add head lock gyro because the tail is powered by tail motor instead of a belt or shaft driven. All head lock gyro must be used with tail that has a variable pitch slider.

    Andy
    Andy - Official Exceed RC Support Forum Host

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    29
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: With the factory RX can you add a head lock gyro to an Eagle 50?

    I have one working pretty well on my modified eagle that has all seperate electronics. The tail motor is brushless and it seem to work well. I can switch it between rate or head lock.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    29
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: With the factory RX can you add a head lock gyro to an Eagle 50?

    Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli is a tail mtotr drvien heli that comes with a HH gyro. It is a carbon brushed direct drive tail motor heli. You can do it. My eagle stays where I put it for 20 30 seconds or morebefore I have to correct it.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    1,484
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: With the factory RX can you add a head lock gyro to an Eagle 50?

    but how do you bridge the HH gyro with the brushless motor? when the gyro can only be used with a servo that work with the tail pitch slider only. Something I'm missing?

    Andy
    Andy - Official Exceed RC Support Forum Host

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    29
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: With the factory RX can you add a head lock gyro to an Eagle 50?

    I just hooked the leads that go from the gyro to the "servo" to the input of my 10amp ESC for may tail motor. It works in both rate and HH mode. When its in rate I have to have the rudder set to 100% left stick at low stick to keep the tail still at low stick but in head hold its not a problem. In head hold and the rudder stick in the center the tail rotor spins very slowly no where near enough to move anything. and if I push the stick left at all it stops but I don't adjust it on thee TX so my HH doesnt think I'm inputting a command... I have yet to try using all point at the same negative mix or moving the center of the channel over a few clicks... It doesnt bother me at all just like it is. I will eventually play with it more... I willbe doing a similar mod with my honey bee fp v2 you can do it with the factory TX and 3 in one but you have to split it apart and do some solering inside of it. I will try to do it with the factory rx on the eagle eventually. I was just wondering if that briddge had alreay been crossed.
    Thanks,
    TeeJay

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    1,484
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: With the factory RX can you add a head lock gyro to an Eagle 50?

    oh ok this rings the bell. Yes this will work the tail brushless motors connects to a 10A ESC and the esc connects to the gyro. The gyro will treat the ESC has if it's a servo. ok to get it working in HH mode, you'll need to connect the gain wire into the gear channel on the receiver and program the gain into a dial on a radio. To initalize the ESC set the dial to 0 and after it's initialized then set the dial to about 73% gain to work it in HH mode. This is running only in my head so I haven't try this. Nice setup, great project. I have do this when I have time.

    oh yea I might use a smaller prop as direct drive instead of the stock prop with gear on the eagle 50.

    Andy
    Andy - Official Exceed RC Support Forum Host

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    29
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: With the factory RX can you add a head lock gyro to an Eagle 50?

    Yes your right about the smaller prop I havent done (hadnt thought about it either)it yet but man this thing will swing around fast... I have it setup with some exponential to slow it down when the sticks close to home but man it gets around fast good idea on the smaller prop maybe less pitch too. Right now I am using facotry props other that increasing the center hole size to almost about 3/16 inch to accomodate the way it is currently mounting.
    Thanks again.

    P.S. The one I have set right now is direct drive. I also just bought 2 used 22e's of ebay and one has a small brushless motor and ESC for the tailfrom fiaggio?? that has never been installed and a brushless main motor as well. They are both older 72mhz models but I am going to wire at least one of them up fully separate and prob drop my spare 2.4 electgronics in the other for now and add a gyro upgrade to it. I'm hoping to get my 6 year old flying one of these. He is working on the sim and playing with (on a buddy box) a honey bee fpv2. It wont be long till es a lot better at it than I am (which isnt saying much... I have an diverse mechanical, electrical and electronics background so the building wiring and setup comes easy for me the flying.... well im getting better.)

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    1,484
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: With the factory RX can you add a head lock gyro to an Eagle 50?

    kool keep me posted

    Andy
    Andy - Official Exceed RC Support Forum Host

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Grafton, OH
    Posts
    4
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: With the factory RX can you add a head lock gyro to an Eagle 50?

    Thanks for the post TeeJay about the gyro setup. So can I setup my stock E50 to use the gyro. Starting in helis with the E50 has been frustrating and I put it on the shelf for a couple of years. This thing wanders TOO much and my budget doesn't always fit the repair bill.

    I'd like to get skilled at flying helis, and you're saying the gyro will tame this thing from wandering so I can hover for more than 8 seconds before cutting the grass and busting blades?!

    What gyro should I get?

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Grafton, OH
    Posts
    4
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: With the factory RX can you add a head lock gyro to an Eagle 50?

    Hello, TeeJayShelton

    Can you send pics of your Eagle 50 gyro mods?

    I pulled this thing off the shelf after a few years and want to practice more, but I'd like to have it a bit more stable.

    Thanks in advance for your help!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:55 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.