RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Exceed RC Support - Helicopter (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/exceed-rc-support-helicopter-473/)
-   -   Falcon 40 setup??? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/exceed-rc-support-helicopter-473/7949729-falcon-40-setup.html)

jpetri 09-13-2008 09:03 AM

Falcon 40 setup???

I am new to rc helis and have a falcon 40. I have looked for info on setup and tuning and can not find what I think I am looking for. I see people talking about truing the flybar and that, but do not know what that means. If anyone can point me in the right direction for set up and common problems. I have training gear on now and it seems unstable. I know part of this is my inexperience but i try to practice a lot and on a sim. i still can not get it to hover in one place and it seems ridiculously easy on the sim. Let me know your true opinions if it is me or it may be the heli. Thanks in advance.

soul 09-13-2008 08:55 PM

RE: Falcon 40 setup???

I suggest first ensure your swash plate is level, by eyeballing from front and sides and check exact 90deg between shaft and the top surface of the swash. This needs to be done after servo initialization, through trimming control on the radio. The second check needs to be aligning flybar paddles with the seasaw frame, they need to be in line and at parallel to each other. Then measure distance between flybar paddesl to the seasaw frame, both need to be equal.

The last tricky part is the main blade tightness, Falcon 40 is very finicky about this. They should be slightly tight. Also as the blades are not symmetrical, aligning them exact 180 deg to each other is a problem. So play around, and spool up to check vibrations. Then adjust the alignment till the heli spools smooth. Put some alignment mark, best is to draw lines across both blades and the center hub by a permenant marker.